We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly excellent one of the best stays we have ever had!”
Review of B&B Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Ghiro
Ranked #76 of 421 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazingly excellent one of the best stays we have ever had!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed with Stella for 7 nights and could write a small book on how good our stay was. People would normally stay 2/3 nights so we are in good position to give real feedback.
Stella could not have been more helpful and accomodating especially as this is her home.
She went out of her way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible some of which you just would not normally get in a 5 star hotel let alone a bed and breakfast! Everything was great about the accommodation, the cleaniness, the helpfulness, the breakfast, and the information and support given about our travels outside Verona. Stella is very personable and friendly. Really what more can one ask? Karen and Mark England

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    30
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
104
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed two nights at Stella's B&B and had a great time! We felt absolutely welcome and almost at home. Breakfast is devine and the room lovely decorated. You are not right in the heart of the city center, but if you don't mind walking a couple of minutes and want private / secure parking, it's the best. A big thank you to Stella and her husband for making our visit to beautiful Verona such a pleasant experience!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Il Ghiro and would definitelyh stay again if we were to revisit Verona. It's an easy 15 minute walk from the train station, a 20 minute stroll to the Arena and - if you're hot and bothered - an €8 taxi ride home!

Although the guest rooms form part of the owners' apartment (on the middle floor of a small apartment block), you wouldn't know it as they are self-contained, closed off by a sliding door. The 2 rooms are large and airy, nicely decorated, fans are provided, along with a flask of cold soda water, the bed linen and towels are crisp and spotless, the beds very comfortable, the shower in the spotless shared bathroom is very good, breakfast is plentiful and tasty, and the coffee is excellent! We are all over 6' 2" (1.88m) tall, and the proportions of these accommodations suited us very well.

We knew that we would arrive 4 hours before the check-in time of 12:00, but there was no problem with leaving our luggage at the B&B until the rooms were ready, and Stella was even very apologetic that she couldn't offer us breakfast! However, she suggested a cafe just at the end of the street which was perfect.

Stella is very welcoming, entertaining, and obliging. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent three really lovely nights in Il Ghiro, where we were welcomed warmly made to feel at home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B as it was our only night in Verona. Our flight arrived at 7 pm to the airport, but we very much wanted to go to the opera at the arena. A few days before we arrived, I emailed Stella to ask if she could suggest someone who could pick up our opera tix since we might not make it in time to pick them up at the ticket window an hour before the opera started (9:15 pm). She offered to pick up our tix for us and drive us to the opera once we arrived to the B&B. We made it in plenty of time and had a wonderful time at the opera, a truly unique and memorable experience. All thanks to Stella.

The B&B itself is her home, filled with books, brightly colored walls and unique artwork. It's very clean and comfortable. But what really makes this place special is the owner. We talked about our travels and made a friend in the process. When we came back from our day of wandering the city, Stella greeted us with a warm welcome, some refreshing cold iced tea, and wanted to hear all about our day. After our stay, she sent us a kind email and we really felt like we had made a wonderful friend during our visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stella was the most helpful host in every respect. Our room (the red one)was spacious ,clean,and very quiet at night.The breakfasts were very good ,with plenty of coffee,and fruit.
We travelled to Garda,Venice and Mantua over a very busy 4night stay,and Stella was most helpful in assisting with the range of public transport we used,including running us to the station,and getting bus tickets for us when she thought we might have had a language problem.
If you enjoy personal service and help,which in our experience is some hotels is not forthcoming this is the place for you. Excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was great,didn't see the other one (there are only two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The owner, Stella, is incomparible in helpfulness, attitude, and concern for her tenants happiness and satisfaction. She goes the extra extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home. She spends time offering tons of information, not only on Verona, but on other destinations you may be going, if she's been there! This is way beyond the call of duty. She is always asking if you need anything, keeping the rooms immaculate, surprising you with a little dish of candies, or a plug in tea pot with lovely little porcelain dishes. Her breakfast is a nice continental breakfast with lovely jams and jellies, some from her trips to other countries. She's very well read, speaks many languages and is just an amazing person. Add that touch of compassion and genuineness and you've got more than just a place to stay in Verona. You've got a friend. Genuinely.

This is why her rating is so high and what will keep it high. Of course, it's clean and the rooms are full of colorful artwork, but it is her that brings in the sparkling reviews. For the extra few blocks you have to go to be in the old town center, you'll likely never find a more enjoyable and memorable place to stay. I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. i am a world traveler. I've seen it all. She's at the top for service, attitude and personality, which is what makes or breaks a Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morningstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#213 of 421 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#18 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.7 mi away
Colifata B&B
Colifata B&B
#96 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Marconi
B&B Marconi
#16 of 421 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Verona Maison
B&B Verona Maison
#180 of 421 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Simoni
B&B Simoni
#344 of 421 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Ghiro

Property: B&B Il Ghiro
Address: Via Luigi Negrelli 21, 37138, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL GHIRO B&B is a lovely flat in a quiet residential area, between the Railway station and the historical center of Verona, everything interesting in a walking distance. Very easy to reach from the highways with lot of free parking available. A warm welcome from Stella and Francesco, who will do their best to make you feel at home and help you to enjoy your stay in Verona. We speak English and German. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing