We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay.”
Review of B&B Il Ghiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Ghiro
Ranked #82 of 428 Verona B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent three really lovely nights in Il Ghiro, where we were welcomed warmly made to feel at home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B as it was our only night in Verona. Our flight arrived at 7 pm to the airport, but we very much wanted to go to the opera at the arena. A few days before we arrived, I emailed Stella to ask if she could suggest someone who could pick up our opera tix since we might not make it in time to pick them up at the ticket window an hour before the opera started (9:15 pm). She offered to pick up our tix for us and drive us to the opera once we arrived to the B&B. We made it in plenty of time and had a wonderful time at the opera, a truly unique and memorable experience. All thanks to Stella.

The B&B itself is her home, filled with books, brightly colored walls and unique artwork. It's very clean and comfortable. But what really makes this place special is the owner. We talked about our travels and made a friend in the process. When we came back from our day of wandering the city, Stella greeted us with a warm welcome, some refreshing cold iced tea, and wanted to hear all about our day. After our stay, she sent us a kind email and we really felt like we had made a wonderful friend during our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stella was the most helpful host in every respect. Our room (the red one)was spacious ,clean,and very quiet at night.The breakfasts were very good ,with plenty of coffee,and fruit.
We travelled to Garda,Venice and Mantua over a very busy 4night stay,and Stella was most helpful in assisting with the range of public transport we used,including running us to the station,and getting bus tickets for us when she thought we might have had a language problem.
If you enjoy personal service and help,which in our experience is some hotels is not forthcoming this is the place for you. Excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was great,didn't see the other one (there are only two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The owner, Stella, is incomparible in helpfulness, attitude, and concern for her tenants happiness and satisfaction. She goes the extra extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home. She spends time offering tons of information, not only on Verona, but on other destinations you may be going, if she's been there! This is way beyond the call of duty. She is always asking if you need anything, keeping the rooms immaculate, surprising you with a little dish of candies, or a plug in tea pot with lovely little porcelain dishes. Her breakfast is a nice continental breakfast with lovely jams and jellies, some from her trips to other countries. She's very well read, speaks many languages and is just an amazing person. Add that touch of compassion and genuineness and you've got more than just a place to stay in Verona. You've got a friend. Genuinely.

This is why her rating is so high and what will keep it high. Of course, it's clean and the rooms are full of colorful artwork, but it is her that brings in the sparkling reviews. For the extra few blocks you have to go to be in the old town center, you'll likely never find a more enjoyable and memorable place to stay. I highly recommend this Bed & Breakfast. i am a world traveler. I've seen it all. She's at the top for service, attitude and personality, which is what makes or breaks a Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morningstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Il Ghiro for two nights last summer. On the way to the B&B, somewhere in Verona, our car broke down and we called the landlady, Stella, to tell her that we would be late. She kindly offered to pick us up and wait for the tow truck to come. In general Stella was very helpful not only with car, but also with everything else. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was great and and we really enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had a great 2 night stay in Il Ghiro, Maria was so welcoming and even collected us from the train station as she was already in town. The rooms are really spacious and beautifully designed and the apartment a 10 minute walk from the train station and a leisurely 15 min walk into town. The breakfast was lovely and typically italian with great coffee and Maria was very kind and helpful throughout our stay. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B which we thought was a bargain.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucycran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is a very small B&B (2 rooms, shared bathroom) but very nice. The landlady Stella was very helpful to us and even gave us some advice on where to visit on the rest of our trip.
The place is an easy walk into the 'old city' part of Verona and we were provided with a map and some guidance on where to go.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.6 mi away
B&B Il Lori di Alessandra
B&B Il Lori di Alessandra
#216 of 428 in Verona
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#214 of 428 in Verona
22 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#26 of 428 in Verona
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Colifata B&B
Colifata B&B
#106 of 428 in Verona
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
B&B Casimira
B&B Casimira
#166 of 428 in Verona
29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ad Centrum B&B
Ad Centrum B&B
#112 of 428 in Verona
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Ghiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Ghiro

Address: Via Luigi Negrelli 21, 37138, Verona, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 428 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range: $69 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL GHIRO B&B is a lovely flat in a quiet residential area, between the Railway station and the historical center of Verona, everything interesting in a walking distance. Very easy to reach from the highways with lot of free parking available. A warm welcome from Stella and Francesco, who will do their best to make you feel at home and help you to enjoy your stay in Verona. We speak English and German. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing