We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“careful with prices”

Ristorante Do Forni
Ranked #575 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $65 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: The restaurant " Do Forni " was founded in 1973 and is managing with passion by Mr.Eligio Paties. " Do Forni " is distributed in two adjacent rooms: a rustic elegant room setting with the imagery of the ancient Venetian restaurant and the other one called Orient Express, whose luxurious furnishings reproduce accurately the setting and the soul of the famous wagon train that connects Venice to Istanbul and Paris. The restaurant features traditional Venetian cuisine, mainly seafood, which offers fish and shellfish of the Adriatic according to recipes handed down by the Venice of the past centuries and embellished with seasonal vegetables and delicate sauces; but also the restaurant is known for a refined interpretation of the Venetian and Italian cooking that mixes the use of meats and local vegetables with the influence of international gastronomy. Very large and qualified is also the restaurant's wine cellar, that offers the best labels from all the Italian regions, the most prestigious French wines and champagnes as well as a wide selection of international products.
Zebbug, Malta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“careful with prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

very good restaurant with superficial foreign waiting staff. The food was good. I had liver and pasta together with a couple of glasses of wine. Well aint the cheapest for 84 euros but everybody needs to pay the bills. The food was god, place was clean, staff speak many languages also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    318
    191
    187
    255
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Traditional Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Traditional Restaurant, very close to St. Mark's Square. Positive Points: Delicious Food and Great Wine List. Negative Points: Old Interior Decoration, Price and Slow Service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcosG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in Venice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited this restaurant as it was a princess cruise recommendation. It was the worst restaurant we had in Venice. It was overpriced and the food was mediocre! Add in the service, which was just plain bad. I will never visit this one again. Avoid this place unless you have euros to waste. Don't be fooled by all the accreditation stickers on the door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by staff at the Hotel Concordia. We actually went and had a look at the restaurant to see if it was what we were looking for. Yes, the restaurant is rather lovely inside and because we were going to a concert at 8.00 pm that evening, we chose to reserve a table for 6.00pm, letting them know it was a special occasion.

As we arrived, we were treated rather sourly and the barman was rather testy! The young man we had spoken to earlier had booked a "special room" for us, which looked rather like an old fashioned railway carriage, but very select in its decor. The barman did not seem pleased that we had requested this special room, but begrudgingly sat us down. The waiter then came to take our drinks order and also to give us the menus. We knew it was an expensive restaurant (had viewed the menu earlier) but because of the occasion, were quite happy to go ahead. However, we feel the food was mediocre and the service poor. We were rushed through our meal and to be honest, we had far better service at the Hotel Concordia, when we ate there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourves, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant resto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It's a bit touristy, but frankly it's one of the best restos in Venice. A warren of rooms, great waiters who really look after you, food is fabulous. Starters, lamb, sole, tiramasu - it easily mounts up to 200 euros for 2 people, but you'll have really enjoyed your evening...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julietyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Do Forni also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Do Forni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing