We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of UNA Hotel Venezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
UNA Hotel Venezia
Ranked #34 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely quiet Hotel from the 4th October 2013 until the 7th October 2013. Being set back from the busy Strada Nouva, it was truly quiet and we had a very good stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was good and supplied anything for everybody.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Werner O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    255
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
190
702
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm so glad we chose this place. We followed the directions as set out on the hotels website to get there, which was all fine. Hotel is located in a brilliant location, near the waterbus stop from the railway station, and there is another water bus station not too far if you were going or coming from the airport. This is the same stop (area) for water busses to Murano and Burano. All travel apart from the waterbus to and back from the airport is included in the travel card should you decide to buy it. The cards are brilliant and a great saw to see Venice.

The hotel is clean, staff are friendly helpful and speak English well, I also heard one of the reception staff speak fluent French, they provide everything we just had a standard room but it was perfectly fine, decent size and the bathroom was decent size too, room 503. Slippers, and toilettetries all provided, there was a note saying that if we required toothbrushes, bathrobes, and any other additional small toiletries we could ask. Hotel is clean

As mentioned by others, they provide nibbles as of 2pm and wine as well as processo as well. Thanks to the nibbles, juices, water and wine we didn't bother with lunch. We just had the great breakfast they provided, came back for nibbles and went out for dinner. The area towards the waterbus to Murano there are a few places to eat, which were standard price, not expensive like St Marco. You can easily walk to Rialto and St Marco from the hotel, and its quite a fun walk, if you go early in the morning or later in the evenings it's less crowded and quite pleasant.

I would stay in this hotel again easily.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mppalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I made my reservations and prepaid with the hotel directly 6 months before arrival receiving a confimation email from them 2 days before arrival. On arrival I was told that my reservation was for the next month (Oct) and that they were fully booked and would call a "sister" hotel to accomodate us. After showing them the e mail confirmation that was sent to me by them they said that their system had us in for October. Really? They sent us by private water taxi to the "sister" hotel. The hotel was further away from this one and had the most hideous decor I have ever seen. The towels smelled like vinegar and were paper thin. After coming home I did some research and found that the hotel they sent us to was way less money than the Una, so I didn't get any compensation for the difference in price! I did extensive research on Una hotels before selecting them as our destination for our 25th Wedding Anniversay. How can they blatantly lie to someone and take their money for six months and then deny them accomodation? Beware!! Stay elsewhere. In all my years off travelling this is the 1st time this has ever happened to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 526Deni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear 526Deni,

We are deeply sorry for what happened. Regretfully, we realised the mistake only at the moment of your arrival. This coincided with a period when Venice was fully booked and was very difficult to find a place all of sudden. If we could have discovered it a little bit in advance we would , possibly, have found a better solution. We tried to honour your reservation in the best way possible although the list of eligible hotels were very limited. We chose the best hotel, among the ones available , with the same standard of ours. We are very sorry this hotel did not meet your expectations

Hoping that in the future you will give us the oppurtunity to show the truly professional care of our services, please remember that we would be glad to welcome you as our guest in any of our hotels.

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Looking for a hotel in Venice to stay at while celebrating our 25th anniversary, I was overwhelmed by the number of options. Having visited once before, I did have an idea of the area we wanted, as well as some things to look for in a property there. I found UNA Hotel Venezia through the tripadvisor site, and was encouraged by all the positive reviews.
From the moment we arrived, I knew we'd found a wonderful spot. It was not impossible to find, but far enough away from the main thoroughfare to be quiet. We were greeted by courteous front desk staff, and after checking us in, he personally walked us to our room and showed us everything. Our room was spacious and elegant, the bathroom was just as beautiful as the room! We loved the afternoon/evening reception available every day with wine, juices, espresso, snacks - all complimentary. Breakfast is included as well. There was a beautiful common lounge in the lobby area as well as on each floor, giving options for relaxing outside our room. The bed was fairly comfortable, and the option to choose from a variety of pillows from their pillow service was another luxury. I did note that others had experienced problems with the wifi being included, and found that if you book directly through the hotel rather than a 3rd party, it is included in the rate, otherwise you pay extra. I was glad we didn't pay extra for it, as the coverage was spotty at best. However, that was just an opportunity to "unplug" from electronics and soak in the beauty of such a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was an anniversary break and ticked all of the boxes.
Venice is both amazing and a maze. Initially arrived on the Water bus at Ca'd'Ora which is halfway between the train station in the north of Venice and San Marco in the south. The hotel is a five minute walk from this stop. On arrival, we were met by very courteous staff and our bags were taken to our room. The room was a very good size however, that was this particular room. On looking at the fire escape plan by the lifts, you could see that the room sizes varied enormously. The bathroom was well appointed and very clean. One downside to the hotel was the lack of any real communal areas. No bar and a very small breakfast room that required one person to "Hold the table" whilst the other visited the buffet. If you failed to do this, staff would clear your table and someone else would be sat there. That being said, the breakfast was of good quality and plentiful. In the afternoon, complementary refreshments are provided including fruit juices, tea, coffee, cakes, white wine and Prosecco.
The hotel is well positioned for travel by foot and Vaporetto (water bus). The main shopping street from the north of Venice to San Marco, Strada Nova, is only a couple of minutes walk away.
Would I go back to this hotel again? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to email you a copy of the fire escape plan. This will show you the architects layout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherriwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sherriwill,

We deeply appreciate your opinions . It's important to receive either positive or negative feedback in order to improve our standard. This allow us get more and more customer oriented.

Being our Hotel a noble Palazzo Veneziano , all the public spaces resemble the living area of this ancient residence with moderate spaces. From your feedback it seems that your stay took place in September a month where we were fully booked almost everyday. We are sorry if you found the breakfast room crowded due to the unexpected number of people having breakfast at the same time.


Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you at our Hotel once again, please have our

Best regards

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We chose this hotel based on a previous UNA hotel stay in Rome. As expected, the service was top-notch. We were upgraded on arrival to a superior room, which was spacious and had a nice bathroom. The light breakfast every morning was great. The only issue we experienced was with the Wifi connection, which only seems to work in the hallways and lobby. The signal seemed to be very weak in the rooms. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood, a few minutes walk to Strada Nuova. If you have never been to Venice, be prepared for crowds--I can usually only take 3 days of being trampled in the streets before I have had enough, but I really do enjoy visiting this city and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early September. We probably picked more of a room than we needed, desiring a canal view. The room was incredibly large (or I should say 2 rooms), and it was a job just to open curtains so you could SEE the view. Lovely large bathroom, and the room was very clean. The staff is highly professional. The only negative is that when we checked in the wifi was not explained to us (we later learned the drill which is common in Italy - having to obtain a voucher for each device that will give you a different password) but nothing was mentioned when we checked in. We had some business we had to do while away and burned up a day and $$$$ using our european data plan until we realized we needed a password. The front desk clerk was a BIT snippy when I suggested they explain that at check in saying "we are used to people asking us for it". Other than that they will arrange anything you need. It felt like it was confusing to find our way at first but truly it is 2 minutes to the Main Street. There is a gondola shuttle very close by that will take you across, and also a water ferry dock very close by that used to take the ferry to the train station. The breakfast was quite nice and well supplied, and evening snacks a very nice touch also. We did not adore Venice, but we certainly liked our hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#14 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#20 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,212 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#13 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,457 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
#43 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Venezia

Property: UNA Hotel Venezia
Address: Ruga Dei do Pozzi Cannaregio 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#25 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#31 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNA Hotel Venezia, precious pearl in the Lagoon, is a luxurious hotel located in the historical and lively Cannaregio district, close to the most important tourist sites. The prestigious building has been restored to the ancient grandeur in the classic Venetian style and features 37 gorgeous rooms and a rich American Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your UNA Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing