We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the best hotel in Venice!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of UNA Hotel Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
UNA Hotel Venezia
Ranked #33 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel in Venice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

First about us - we are a couple in our 40s and this is our third stay in Venice. We decided to visit again - this time with our 8 year old son who loves to travel. We stayed at the Una for three nights and wish it was more.

This hotel is located in the Canareggio area of Venice. This is a largely residential area of Venice slightly off the usual tourist trail. The hotel is easily located about 5 minutes walk away from the Ca'd'Oro vaparretto stop over one small bridge. The hotel is located close to the Strada Nuova (shopping street) and about 10 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and 20 minutes from St Mark's Square (it is difficult to walk quickly in Venice due to the number of people). Vaparetto from Ca'd'Oro to St Mark's takes about 20 minutes and run every 10 minutes at peak times.

The exterior of the hotel appears quite run down (as does most of Venice) but don't let this put you off. when you step through the sliding glass door you are in another world. The interior of the hotel is very modern but is also sypathetic to the origins of the hoel (a 14th century palace).

The immediate first impressions are good and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly providing maps and information without being overly pushy. There are three rooms on the ground floor where residents can relax aand chat. Complimentary wine, coffee, tea and juice are available from about 2.00 pm until 11.00 pm in the breakfast room along with biscuits, cakes and other snacks, which leads to a very sociable hotel. Residents appeared to mainly from the UK and USA and we had very interesting chats with other guests from as far apart Wisconsin to Texas in the USA and lots of fellow Brits. The complimentary drinks and snacks were not abused by guests and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.

We booked a junior suite which comprised of a large sofa bed and a very large bathroom on the grouns floor and a staircase to a mezanine floor which had a huge bed and another large bathroom. Each floor had a large flatscreen TV linked to sky, however, except for al jeziera and BBC World news all channels were in Italian (but you are in Venice why do you want to watch TV?). The room and indeed the hotel ingeneral were spotlessly clean. All fittings and decor were to a very high standard. The room was hugh by Venitian standards, included a small balcony overlooking a wide paved footpath with a view of a canal to the side. I would definitely recomend the upgrade to the junior suite if you can manage it within your budget (rooms in Venice generallyconsist of space for a bed and a small wardrobe and little else)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waitinforthebigone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for having included most of the aspects on which we are working daily for our guests and to let them have the same positive experience you had in our Hotel. Reading your review, we are pleased to give some space to the language options available on the TV in the rooms. The flat screens are all linked to SKY and the channels in English over to Al Jazeera and BBC are SKY Cinema 1, SKY Cinema Classic and SKY Cinema Max which transmit their movies in the original language, most of the time in English. Moreover, in our reading room close to the reception area, is available a TV offering the full bouquet of the Sky channels. .

With my best regards

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    274
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
208
755
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
afmomx3
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent hotel! Accessible and easy to find. Excellent staff and nice rooms. The Engish-speaking staff were first-class! Very nice hotel in a wonderful location. I highly recommend it. The breakfast was excellent! We loved it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Several of our art history group stayed here in March 2013 and loved the little touches that make the Una such a great hotel in Venice. The rooms are lovely and the service is outstanding. Thank you again - we look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurabo, null, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Rooms are spacious and well kept. Bathroom is modern and adequate size, but shower is so smal any person would have trouble in it. Breakfast is diverse and good. Hotel is located about 15 to 20 minute walk to San Marco Plazza and route can be tricky. Vaporetto ride from train station to Ca D Oro stop is perfect, but when returning you may encounter difficulties with ticket machine as it does not work properly and there is no one to provide assistance.
The problem with this hotel is that the attitude of reception area staff is very poor and impersonal.The same can be said about the person attending the breakfast section. They lack customer service skills and show no real interest in helping you resolve any situation you would encounter. This is why I can not recommend this hotel. Its a shame as the facilities are good, but the staff lacks the attitude to provide good customer service. Arrivederci UNA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Mr GerryN,

thank you very much for your feed back. All our Clients opinions, either positive or negative, are essential for getting more and more guest oriented.

We were quite surprised in reading your negative comment concerning all our staff. . It is difficult for us to understand your discomfort as from your review all the personnel is involved and there is not a specific mention of the situations in which we were not able to help you. We are deeply sorry if we did not meet your specific need. On the other hand, the key factor in the majority of the postive reviews has always been the role of staff , it's efficiency (not too pushy) and the ability to let the Client feel at home.

We really hope to welcoming you at our Hotel once again to give you all the attention you deserve and let you feel at home.

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. We easily found the hotel from the directions provided and were greeted by very friendly English speaking staff. We were shown to our room, which was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated. The hotel was in a nice quiet area, although about 5 mins walk from Rialto and 15 mins walk from St Mark's square, in fact nothing was too far away. Breakfast was cooked or continental, and there was plenty of it. The hotel also offers free snacks/drinks every afternoon/evening which is really welcome after a long day! It was my partner's birthday during our trip and they left a lovely card and some biscuits which was a lovely gesture. Overall friendly, helpful staff, a great location and a wonderful experience. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skirkham86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is not only in a good location in terms of the sights - Rialto Bridge approx. 5 mins., St Mark's Square approx. 10 mins, island of Murano 1 stop on water transport, shops and restaurants (Strada Nova) 2/3 mins., water transport stops 5 mins. but also in a good location in terms of getting to and from the airport. It did not occur to us to think about that so much when we booked but the number of stops via water transport can make quite a difference. Our flight back was 11.35 which meant we needed to be at the breakfast room for opening at 07.30, a very quick bite to eat and away. If we'd been any further around the system, this could have been a problem. The hotel itself doesn't look much from the outside but is in keeping with Venitian buildings and is very nicely decorated on the inside. Room was comfy and clean, staff polite. They have a pillow menu (recommend the goose down). A big plus with this hotel are the complimentary tea/ coffee/ biscuits/ crisps/ nuts / prosecco in the breakfast room from around 14.00 onwards. This doesn't sound like much until you see how much a cup of coffee can cost outside - generally outrageous - and there are standing up as well as sitting down prices!!! This hotel does not have much in the way of facilities but they are not needed as you will be out all day and there are endless (expensive) restaurants and shops just around the corner and within Venice generally. Would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try the pillows out as soon as you arrive. Those provided were so hard I couldn't sleep on them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a special offer break via Voyage Privee and having had a dreadful hotel in Venice on a previous visit, were somewhat apprehensive; there was no need, this place is great! It is spotlessly clean, with top quality bedlinen and furnishings and the breakfast was great. The other nice touch is that the breakfast room is left open for guests to use during the afternoon and early evening for coffee/tea and there is even wine available. This was good as it enabled you to chat to other guests and we even invited one to join us for dinner as her travelling companion was ill and they only had one night in Venice.
Our package was supposed to include prosecco but to be honest, with the standard of everything else and the charming hotel staff, it would have been churlish in the extreme to complain. There is no restaurant, so the only downside is if you were travelling alone, you would have to go out in the dark down some rather spooky alleyways in the winter months to eat in the evening.
It is centrally located but far enough off the main drag to be quiet. We will return!

Room Tip: We were supposed to have an upgrade, which I think we probably did, as our room had a sofa but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MrsFoodie,

we deeply appreciate your opinions . It's important to receive either positive or negative feedback in order to improve our standard. This allow us to get more and more customer oriented.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We checked in details the voucher concerning your package. There was the aperitif with Prosecco and fingerfood in one of our common space. As already explained at the check out at the mentioning of the shortage of Prosecco, we were very sorry and apologized for a problem due to the delivery time of the company furnishing Prosecco. Anyway we provided good local white wine instead.

Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you once again at UNA Hotel Venezia please have our

Best regards

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#20 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Venezia

Property: UNA Hotel Venezia
Address: Ruga Do Pozzi 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#31 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNA Hotel Venezia, precious pearl in the Lagoon, is a luxurious hotel located in the historical and lively Cannaregio district, close to the most important tourist sites. The prestigious building has been restored to the ancient grandeur in the classic Venetian style and features 37 gorgeous rooms and a rich American Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your UNA Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing