We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Loft casa aurora

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Il soggiorno
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Living Room
Il soggiorno
Living Room
La facciata di Casa Aurora
Living Room
ingresso
Living Room
camera da letto
Living Room
Il divano letto
Living Room
il bagno
Kitchen
corridoio
Kitchen
Il grande specchio
The Master Bedroom
camera da letto e scrittoio
The Master Bedroom
angolo cottura
The Master Bedroom
particolare della cucina
The Master Bedroom
la vasca da bagno
The Master Bedroom
il tavolo per il pranzo
Street
The Master Bedroom
Street
la fondamenta Gasparo Contarini con il Rio
Bathroom
Palazzo Mastelli detto del Cammello
Bathroom
Il ponte della Madonna dell'
Orto
Hallways
La splendida chiesa della Madonna dell'
Orto
Hallways
Il Tramonto su Casa Aurora
Living Room
Il rio della Madonna dell'Orto
Living Room
Il comodo mobile da bagno
Street
Living Room
La consolle del bagno
Living Room
Lo scrittoio
Entrance
Il Leone di San Marco
Entrance
L'ingresso
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
ScotchTon...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed June 4, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location, 5 minutes from main tourist route through Venice and from vaparetto stop. Lots of nearby restaurants, bars and shops but none close enough to disturb the peace.
The apartment was ideal for self catering with full cooking facilities, fridge and washing machine.
Great bed, comfortable and large enough to spead out in.
Nice bathroom with bath and shower.
Giovanna was very welcoming and helpful giving us great information about the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
thank you very much!!!
Casa Aurora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joek2372
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of real Venice”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If its a tase of real Venice that you want then this is the ideal spot for you.
The Della Orto Vapporetta stop is just 5 minutes walk from the apartment which is situated next to the historical Madonna Della Orto church.
Our apartment was on the second floor overlooking the canal. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Giovanna the owner who also lives in the block greeted us when we arrived, briefing us on the workings of the apartment and giving hints and tips such as supermarkets, restaurants and bars etc. Having stayed in Venice on numerous ocasions we found this to be a real peaceful area to relax at the end of the day after experiencing the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas.
We shall definitely return to Loft casa aurora when we next visit Venice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you, I am happy that your stay was pleasant and comfortable ... Casa Aurora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenfromth...
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful quiet place”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were given a very warm welcome by our host and despite our combined language limitations we were given clear instructions for everything in the apartment including useful information about shops , bars and restaurants nearby.
The apartment is comfortable and homely and has a well appointed kitchen. It's location is ideal. Just a 2 min walk from the Madonna De' Orto water taxi stop so perfect for getting from the train station or direct to the airport.
I think what made our stay so lovely was the warmth of our host when we first arrived. The city then enhanced that and the peace and quiet of the location made us feel like real Venetians . Perfect location , close enough to the sights but away from the crowds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you very much!!!
Soon to celebrate .... a romantic and quiet stay.
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatDownes
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in both comfort and location.”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just arrived home from wonderful stay at Loft Casa Aurora.It was a real, cosy comfortable home from home on what has been quite a wet week in Venice.Almost next door to the fabulous church of Madonna Del Orto in a quiet residential area the boat from the airport took about half a hour,27 euros return, and the lovely friendly owner Giovanna, who lives in the apartment under Loft Casa, met us from the waterbus,( even though it was 10pm when we arrived.) She has thought of everything anyone might need, particularly in the kitchen. In years of self catering we have never had so much crockery and cutlery and even bags to take for food shopping.The views from the living room windows are beautiful and it was such a joy to watch all the boats going past.The photos above really don't do it justice, it is much more spacious than it appears in this Trip advisor post.The area has some good restaurants and trattoria within 5 minutes walk too.We will definitely stay with Giovanna when we return to beautiful Venice. Can't wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thanks for the nice words!!!
I look forward to another holiday in the beautiful Venice !!!
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbarry...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional”
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Perfect location from which to explore the city. Surrounding area quiet but with lots of small places to eat drink and shop. Short walk to main sights, boat to and from Marco Polo airport, and water-bus, so all of Venice is at your doorstep. The apartment itself is clean bright secure and well stocked. Giovanna and her husband were most helpful and kind, there when needed but not obtrusive in any way (most appreciated). So this all leads to a really enjoyable trip, and a definite " we will always stay at Casa Aurora when in Venice".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thanks for the nice words, nice to be available for my guests.
A presto
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom10
Leamington Spa, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Giovanna is a gem”
Reviewed January 16, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
5
people found this review helpful

When we arrived at Orto vaporetto stop from the airport, Giovanna (as is her custom) was there to meet us. She was a bit surprised at how light we were traveling. We told her that whilst we had had an uneventful flight from Gatwick to Marco Polo, our luggage had apparently had a more exciting journey to Rome, flying under the name of Smith. We had lodged a claim and had hopes that it would show up eventually.

Giovanna was immediately on the case. She took a picture of our claim form and immediately started chasing the issue in a way in which we never could. She tracked down the relevant telephone numbers and started harassing the officialdom until they delivered the bags (by boat, of course) to our door two days after we arrived. The boatmen were initially supposed to ring her bell (her flat is in the same building); but she had to go out so she ensured that we would be in the flat when the bags arrived and that our bell would be rung. (Actually we were so keen that we just looked out the window until we saw them, along with someone else's bag, in the bottom of a boat and started shouting to the boatmen.)

This was really above and beyond the normal expectations, and we were (and are) very grateful. Giovanna is a lovely woman with a lovely husband (Guido) and a lovely daughter (Elisa).

Other than that, everything was perfect. The location is off the beaten track in a proper quiet Venetian residential area near the edge of Cannaregio but the beaten track is only about ten minutes away and there are a lot of really good restaurants that are even closer (including Anice Stellato, Osteria L'Orto dei Mori and La Colombina). The Tescos/Morrisons level supermarket (Prix Discount) is very close whilst there is a more M&S/Waitrose type place (Despar) down on the main drag from the station (at Calle del Pistor).

Transport links are very good, with the Orto stop being the first one (at least during the day) on the Linea Arancia of Alilalaguna from the airport and the Grand Canal lines being relatively close at Ca D'Oro and San Marcuola.

The flat itself is lovely, with cooking facilities (and a starter supply of staples), good lighting, excellent wifi, DVD player, CD player, washing machine (but no drier), good storage and a really well-chosen set of pictures. Giovanna also owns Casa Gioeli on the ground floor, which is larger and better equipped, with a small terrace/garden with a view of Madonna dell'Orto.

For garden lovers there are a series of hidden gardens (including a fabulous one at the Boscoli hotel and a couple of smaller ones connected with the Casino dei Spiriti (now a rest home) and the institution next door. There are a lot of these hidden gardens about. You might consider investing in a book called Secret Venice if you want to delve a bit into the arcana.

You really can't go wrong staying with Giovanna.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Dearest, among so many beautiful reviews, yours is the one that excited me the most!!!
I'm glad for all I have done, for me it is a pleasure to always be available for my guests.
Thank you very much for the nice words .... I hope to see you soon!!!
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
East Garston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located in a quiet residential area but alongside a busy canal so lots to see by just staring out the window over the canal. The nearby Madonna dell'Orto church is beautiful and there are lots of local shops and supermarkets nearby. Giovanna the owner met us at the vaporetto stop and took us to the apartment which is a few minutes walk away. Giovanna was very welcoming and full of practical suggestions about shopping, restaurants and trips. We thought ithe apartment was better than the pictures we had seen and it had everything we needed for our 5 night stay - even wellie boots if needed for the heavy rain or high tides! It was nicely furnished and beautifully clean. Lots of DVDs, books, CDs available should you need them, comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. The kitchen was well appointed and we were able to cook some nice meals with ease. At night it was quiet and peaceful. All in all a perfect choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you very much!!!
I'm happy when my guests were satisfied with the stay and hospitality.
A presto
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing