We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience for an average price/quality ratio”
Review of Enoiteca Mascareta

Enoiteca Mascareta
Ranked #226 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice experience for an average price/quality ratio”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Friendly and efficient service, fresh servings of great quality. Good atmosphere if somewhat thight seating. Price quality ratio not so favourable though for wine and cichèti. They had a structural problem, which they claimed on their wifi, with their credit card reader that (unexpectedly) required a cash settlement of the bill.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaVaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    261
    72
    29
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous wine and great food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

You can get any wine here by the glass. 2003 amorone and the 2002 barbarolo where the big hits. Came 2 night in a row. Great: caprese salad, octopus salad, fish in parchment, guancale, agnello, and soup de mare. Not so good eggplant parmigiana. Good service and yummy bread!

Helpful?
Thank TraceyLS777
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Mr Lorenzon maybe is a character,or at least he has a certain level of style to behave as one. but his right hand men who desperatly try to mimic his attitude are simply mannerless and dreadfull.
i dont mind local language and informal service, but i do not accept rudeness and vulgarity. the staff keeps running all over, but you never get served. where do they run, is a mistery to me. however the service, the food was less than average it was actually, slopy baccala and unberably salty claims spaghetti, which both shpould be a Venetian signature. nevermind the food, we asked for a wine list, the manager laughed at me and brought a bottle of Slovenian red wine, didnt want it, he then brougth a Sardinian red, didnt want it either, he then swearing, brought me a bottle of Campanian red, which i also didnt want as i was in Venice for Prosecco! but hey, had anyone asked me what i wanted or what i felt like having? hell no.
bill, 200€ for 5, 3 plates of spaghetti one baccala and one salad, and three bottles of unwanted, not ordered , unthouched bottles of red wine. but how could i argue about getting them off the bill, if there wasnt any printed bill?
Never again, and quit embarassing for my guests. will they care to improve? of course not, there was a queue outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stupendous my favourite place in the world”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stumbled upon this little place on the way back to our hotel late at night, when I had forgotten to feed my insatiably hungry wife. She can become very irascible if left to fester for too long, so i was relieved to find the Mascareta was open at 11.30pm, and still glad to provide us with a vast platter of fish, and another of meats and cheeses. We had assumed it would be a typical Venice restaurant, with average food at slightly above average price, but instead we had found an absolute gem of a restaurant, to which we have returned many times. I am salivating now as I recall the chunks of sword fish, the tender squid, the exquisite sardines. The platters are enough for two as a meal with bread, and are washed down with a range of wines recommended by the barman, who is a wine-loving connoisseur who happily provides tasters and long discussions about the qualities of the unbelievably vast range of wines.

We visit Venice annually, and go back to the Mascareta at least twice each time. We have eaten most of the menu choices, all of which are delicious; laughed and had many drinks with the staff and owner, and very much enjoyed their generosity. They will open wines for you to try, and not charge for the bottles if you do not want them, and they will bring the exact wine appropriate for the flavours of their dishes. The cellar is magnificent, and although I have not been in it myself, friends I recommended to visit the place were invited down and spent the evening getting plastered with the owner.

If you are open, friendly and out to have lots of fun, delicious food and wine until all hours of the night, this place is for you. If you are a sour-faced, boring tourist type, overly concerned about time and 'service' (rather than an interest in human contact with Venetians), then don't bother going - I don't want to risk sitting next to you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We selected this restaurant because of its good reviews on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, our experience was not a positive one. We did not have a reservation, so we tried our luck. Much to our surpirse, we were told it would only be a 10-15 minute wait; so, we chose to wait. It turned out to be a 40-minute wait. The only reason we didn't give up and go to the next restaurant on our list was that it was raining very heavily. Although we kept seeing groups of people leaving, we still did not get seated. When we finaly got a table, it was another 10-15 minutes before our waiter took our order. Our waiter was inattentive; he was more interested in the rowdy young men at a nearby table, with whom he was drinking every time he brought them another bottle. We are certain that our waiter was intoxicated as his speech was slurred as he dealt with us. Our food took a long time to arrive... and, when it did, it was just okay - not exceptionally good. The wine recommendation was just okay, not good. The dessert selection was very limited. We will not be recommending this restaurant to our friends and family and we do not plan to return there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher_elan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoiteca Mascareta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Enoiteca Mascareta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing