We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and ornate”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #162 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We did not select the hotel ourselves as we were on a tour of Italy and the tour company made the arrangements. The decor of our room (202) was dark and ornate, partly because the two windows had drapes and shutters and faced another building a few feet away, which is probably typical for Venice. We stayed two nights. The bathroom was large and modern. Never did figure out the TV but that's no big deal to us. The breakfast provided to our tour group (assume it is the same for all but not sure) was fine, eggs, sausages, cheeses, pastries, fruits. Given how close everything is in Venice, it was reasonably quiet. Location was good with many restaurants and shops nearby, close to the tourist sites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Booklover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 595 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having just gotten off the plane we were tired and hot and informed by the hotel we booked that the "air conditioner" was not working and we would be transferred to the Ca Alvise (the sister hotel) for a night before going to our booked hotel. The water taxi dropped us off and told us to follow the path and we would find it. It wasn't quite that simple but after dragging our luggage a ways a kind lady saw me sweating and swearing and led us to Ca alivise. We were pleasantly surprised that it was quite lovely and the 4 stars on the front door gave us hope. The fact there was no elevator was alarming as I was certain I couldn't manage my bag at that point but the hotel staff was quick to get our bags up to the room which was larger than expected, nicely cooled by air conditioner, and the bathroom was huge! This was a nice boost as most European hotels have small rooms and smaller bathrooms as compared with the U.S. After a great shower with excellent water pressure we went to the front desk for directions and DEBORAH came to the rescue. She was amazing! so very helpful with maps, directions, hints and tips. The entire staff was just great. The breakfast was more than adequate and again, the staff was on the mark! We again consulted DEBORAH at the front desk and she gave us perfect directions to all the sights we wanted to see and advised us on all things VENICE. The following day we dreaded the hotel change (dragging the luggage) but DEBORAH assured us we could just go and check in and our bags would be transferred and waiting for us. She was right! The bags arrived before we did and our stay at Ca Alvise could not have been better! She was an angel!! The location was a bit tricky at first but the landmarks Deborah gave us to follow made it much easier. Located near the Fenice (opera house) and Piazza San Marco was just perfect!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were quiet as the location is out of the major area, but close enough to walk. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Ca' Alvise was a Hotwire pic we were very happy with. The location is good with plenty of good restaurants and close to Rialto Bridge. There is a water taxi stop just a few feet from the door. As with most places in Venice there is no elevator so if your on the 3rd floor be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FZukerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel August 15-17 2013. We found the location and price of this hotel unbeatable. We had a Priceline deal and it was very reasonably priced for this time of year in this prime location. The hotel clerk at night (not sure his name) was very accommodating in helping us with directions as we headed out later at night. The hotel was hard to find at first but finding it was half the fun. The room we got was quite large and the bathroom was down a separate hallway and it was large as well. The room was quite a hike to get to but didnt bother us as stairs were not an issue. The breakfast the next morning was more than enough to satisfy our appetites. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Remember the higher floor your room is the more stairs you will have to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank october2010traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stumbled across this hotel while looking for somewhere to stay for 2 nights. The location is perfect. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a top floor room which was very clean and comfortable with a whirlpool bath. The only downside is the stairs which are steep and narrow, the hand rail outside our room was broken off the was which made going down a little scary. We got the room for a very good price, 200 euros per night. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sharon_coote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After a maul through the hot, narrow streets crammed with tourists, and several wrong turns, we eventually stumbled upon the hotel. It is situated on the corner of a canal bridge, tucked away in a typical side street, and within easy walking distance to all the city's major attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. Our room was pleasant and traditional Venician style, though quite dark - it certainly needed the Murano chandelier, the decor was kitch, with old worn furniture etc, but clean and tidy and it had a spacious ensuite tiled bathroom. The view, which I anticipated to be overlooking a canal, in fact turned out to be the courtyard and shuttered windows of adjacent and opposite rooms. Below were rubbish bins and an area that presumably had some on-going construction work, disappointing, but not enough to spoil our stay. Besides, the breath-taking views that greet you everywhere in Venice more than make up for this. Breakfast was self service, a good selection and adequate, with a choice of hot food, cereals, cakes, fruit and drinks. The staff, especially Deborah, were all very friendly, helpful and courteous, and made our short stay warm and welcome. We passed several hotels whilst walking, some poor and dingy, others richly splendid and set in magnificent locations, - you obviously get what you pay for here, so the Ca Alvise seemed very good value to us. Please note, however, my wife and I travelled light and consider ourselves to be quite fit, so the fact that this hotel has narrow stairs, tight landings and no lift may be a concern to those with heavier luggage, pushchairs and any fitness problems. It's part of the charm of this beautiful city to get lost now and then, so be patient trying to find your way round and back to the hotel - you'll soon get the hang of it.

Room Tip: Try to stay below the third floor, in a room overlooking the small canal, bridge and alley at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Close to Teatro Fenice as well as the Rialto & piazza San Marco, hotel room are large but old & dark, bathroom is huge which is very nice & the breakfast served is more than adequate without being memorable in any way
TV has a good selection & wifi in the rooms is on
Biggest advantage is location with all major sights within easy walking distance & some nice food choices close by

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#198 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 385 in Venice
625 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#180 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,551 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#212 of 385 in Venice
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $84 - $1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Splitty, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing