We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location in San Marco”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #158 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Decent location in San Marco”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Close to Teatro Fenice as well as the Rialto & piazza San Marco, hotel room are large but old & dark, bathroom is huge which is very nice & the breakfast served is more than adequate without being memorable in any way
TV has a good selection & wifi in the rooms is on
Biggest advantage is location with all major sights within easy walking distance & some nice food choices close by

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njhammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    256
    97
    34
    33
See reviews for
158
302
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I have returned from a trip travelling Europe and we spent two nights at the Ca Alvise, we got a water taxi as we thought it would be easier to find, and it was in fairness when they dropped us off they told us to turn left at the end of the path and it would be there, it was however, not so simple returning to it from wherever we had walked - restaurants and shops etc, i suggest dropping breadcrumbs! The staff were friendly enough, although one member seemed uninterested that the wifi was not working. The worst part were the stairs, the slog to our room - which was the furthest away was just vile, no escalator, we dreaded coming back to the room to have a lie down because we knew we had the hike to do. The room itself was fine, traditional, big murano chandelier etc, nothing to really shout about. When we return to Venice we will be staying somewhere that has its own jetty for ease, and certainly somewhere with a lift.

Room Tip: Low Level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1979ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

In the summer of 2010 I booked a stay at the Hotel Ca' Alvise, San Marco 3673, Venice, Venezia 30124. The hotel purports to be a 4 star, upscale hotel, but I have never been in any 4 star hotel that did not have a lift. The 3 of us were on a 6 week trip through Europe and had a fair amount of luggage with us. My wife has hip issues and struggles climbing stairs. Our room was on the 3rd floor or the 4th level of the hotel. Finally a bellman struggled to carry our luggage upstairs in the afternoon heat. After a big argument with a very uncooperative front desk manager, we were promised to be moved to a lower floor THE NEXT DAY! The AC in the room we were assigned to worked very poorly and was positioned behind a wall so that the room couldn't get cool. The room was not in great shape, having many cracks in the walls and ceiling. The trim was coming off the wall. In their website promo the only exterior view is of a beautiful canal. The view we actually received was of a dingy, small, closed and unattractive courtyard or air shaft. The breakfast room was a disaster in that there wasn't enough room to accommodate the number of guests at the hotel and only 2 staff were on duty to set out food and utensils as well as clear the tables. The selection was not too great either. This hotel was a DISASTER and the management totally uncooperative!!!!

Room Tip: I doubt there is anyway to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having booked this hotel and then read a lot of the reviews below I was worried about staying in this hotel. we arrived very late at night and yes it is quite difficult to find but that is the same for everything in venice. On arrival staff were friendly and helpful as throughout our stay and we were taken to our top floor room. The room was decorated in a typical Venetian style, it was nice and clean with a huge bed and clean bathroom. All the buildings in venice are traditional and this is a nice touch to keeping venice unique. We had breakfast every morning and whilst it was not amazing it was certainly not terrible and filled us for the day.
The location of this hotel is perfect- minutes away from Rialto and San Marco and from our room we had a view of passing singing gondolas!
We flew Ryanair to treviso and got the bus from the airport and then a water taxi to San angelo which was initially daunting but people do help.
The city is only small and once we got to know it we even walked back to the bus station without getting any further water taxis throughout our stay. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurjs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent there a week end with my husband. Lovely town and hotel is amazing.
We really spent there a nice time.
staff is friendly and helped us a lot with details on sighting tours. breakfast was ok...
Not needed to take any motorboat. we were really close by San Marco square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

That's one of a group of hotels in Venice. They change us from the hotel we had booked because it didn't had hot water! Our first choice was right in Rialto, but we had to go to this Cá Alvise, closer to St Mark's Square, but complicated to get there. Terrible rooms, no working TV they never fixed! Very bad smell. Rooms loks with poor security. Not bad breakfast, but just one person to attend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge-valentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

No doubt, this hotel is in a great place. You couldn't be better situated for all the main attractions of Venice like Piazza St Marco and Rialto bridge. Also there are lots of good restaurants and takeaways nearby without mad prices. The room was pretty well tiny but maybe that is normal for Venice. It wouldn't be a four star hotel anywhere else, I don't think. The air conditioning didn't work so it was hot for sleeping at night. This was late April so that can only get worse as the weather gets hotter. We were told that they aren't allowed to use the air conditioning until later in the year. Perhaps that is true but we are now in Verona a day later with the aircon blasting away nicely. Also we couldn't figure out how to use the TV. On the other hand it was so hot in the room we didn't want to spend too long in it anyway. There seemed to be an additional charge if you wanted Sky TV and maybe this applied to the use of the tv in general. We didn't bother to find out. The bathroom must have had the cheapest soap in Italy but the bed was reasonably comfortable.

Some reviewers have complained about the staff but we found them to be very nice and helpful. In general thanks for a nice stay. Venice itself is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#190 of 386 in Venice
645 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#209 of 386 in Venice
372 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#137 of 386 in Venice
1,085 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#141 of 386 in Venice
595 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#186 of 386 in Venice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Property: Albergo Ca' Alvise
Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing