We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice Disaster”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #156 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed June 3, 2013

In the summer of 2010 I booked a stay at the Hotel Ca' Alvise, San Marco 3673, Venice, Venezia 30124. The hotel purports to be a 4 star, upscale hotel, but I have never been in any 4 star hotel that did not have a lift. The 3 of us were on a 6 week trip through Europe and had a fair amount of luggage with us. My wife has hip issues and struggles climbing stairs. Our room was on the 3rd floor or the 4th level of the hotel. Finally a bellman struggled to carry our luggage upstairs in the afternoon heat. After a big argument with a very uncooperative front desk manager, we were promised to be moved to a lower floor THE NEXT DAY! The AC in the room we were assigned to worked very poorly and was positioned behind a wall so that the room couldn't get cool. The room was not in great shape, having many cracks in the walls and ceiling. The trim was coming off the wall. In their website promo the only exterior view is of a beautiful canal. The view we actually received was of a dingy, small, closed and unattractive courtyard or air shaft. The breakfast room was a disaster in that there wasn't enough room to accommodate the number of guests at the hotel and only 2 staff were on duty to set out food and utensils as well as clear the tables. The selection was not too great either. This hotel was a DISASTER and the management totally uncooperative!!!!

Room Tip: I doubt there is anyway to get a good room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Ca' Alvise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 588 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Having booked this hotel and then read a lot of the reviews below I was worried about staying in this hotel. we arrived very late at night and yes it is quite difficult to find but that is the same for everything in venice. On arrival staff were friendly and helpful as throughout our stay and we were taken to our top floor room. The room was decorated in a typical Venetian style, it was nice and clean with a huge bed and clean bathroom. All the buildings in venice are traditional and this is a nice touch to keeping venice unique. We had breakfast every morning and whilst it was not amazing it was certainly not terrible and filled us for the day.
The location of this hotel is perfect- minutes away from Rialto and San Marco and from our room we had a view of passing singing gondolas!
We flew Ryanair to treviso and got the bus from the airport and then a water taxi to San angelo which was initially daunting but people do help.
The city is only small and once we got to know it we even walked back to the bus station without getting any further water taxis throughout our stay. Overall value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurjs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I spent there a week end with my husband. Lovely town and hotel is amazing.
We really spent there a nice time.
staff is friendly and helped us a lot with details on sighting tours. breakfast was ok...
Not needed to take any motorboat. we were really close by San Marco square.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

That's one of a group of hotels in Venice. They change us from the hotel we had booked because it didn't had hot water! Our first choice was right in Rialto, but we had to go to this Cá Alvise, closer to St Mark's Square, but complicated to get there. Terrible rooms, no working TV they never fixed! Very bad smell. Rooms loks with poor security. Not bad breakfast, but just one person to attend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorge-valentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

No doubt, this hotel is in a great place. You couldn't be better situated for all the main attractions of Venice like Piazza St Marco and Rialto bridge. Also there are lots of good restaurants and takeaways nearby without mad prices. The room was pretty well tiny but maybe that is normal for Venice. It wouldn't be a four star hotel anywhere else, I don't think. The air conditioning didn't work so it was hot for sleeping at night. This was late April so that can only get worse as the weather gets hotter. We were told that they aren't allowed to use the air conditioning until later in the year. Perhaps that is true but we are now in Verona a day later with the aircon blasting away nicely. Also we couldn't figure out how to use the TV. On the other hand it was so hot in the room we didn't want to spend too long in it anyway. There seemed to be an additional charge if you wanted Sky TV and maybe this applied to the use of the tv in general. We didn't bother to find out. The bathroom must have had the cheapest soap in Italy but the bed was reasonably comfortable.

Some reviewers have complained about the staff but we found them to be very nice and helpful. In general thanks for a nice stay. Venice itself is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have never been to a hotel that showed such disregard to its customers and lacked customer service. We booked a room for two people not knowing a third would come. When we had arrived with a third person, knowing that we had already prepaid for a room, the hotel's owner caused a substantial increase to the rate knowing that she can take advantage of us, which she did. We paid substantially more than the price for the same exact room as stated on their website for the same night. After we explained to the owner our situation (after a cancelled flight Delta lost all our luggage, we arrived in San Marco hours after planned, we only had less than 24 hours in the city) she did not express any level of concern. The hotel is a small hotel, not a chain. I would never expect such horrible treatment from a small intimate hotel. Overall, the hotel is not that nice, location impossible to find, and service far below any standard hotel. Not a four class hotel!!!!!! Buyers and travelers beware.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Restaurantqueen312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hubert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#193 of 384 in Venice
656 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#136 of 384 in Venice
612 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 384 in Venice
897 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#210 of 384 in Venice
376 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#139 of 384 in Venice
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $154 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing