We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
186
291
105
37
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
291
105
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsan angelono elevatorgood sizebritish airwayslarge bathroomrialto bridgewater taxipastrieslong weekendbreakfast roomexcellent locationlovely hotelcentral locationfantastic stayrestaurants and shopstop floor
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 655 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel, we booked a room for 3 persons, for 5 nights. It was a spacious room. My daughter (14) had a proper bed. Nice bathroom (one day there was no hot water). Breakfast was average, Don't expect a drink or food if you check in after 22.00 hrs or a breakfast box if you leave at 05.30 am. Within their possibilities the staff was friendly and cooperative.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just back from a 4 day trip staying at the Ca' Alvise and had a lovely time!
Staff very helpful. Hotel location very central. Rooms very comfortable. Beautiful City!
The breakfast was good. The property surrounded a nice courtyard, which I imagine to be quite beautiful during the summer. One of the best things about the property is its location. It is just a few minutes walk to Plaza San Marcos. If you know where the Gucci store is just off the plaza by a side canal, then you are standing at the street where the entrance to the hotel is. So, needless to say, amazing shopping and restaurants are just outside your door.
Would love to go back again!

AJC

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ali c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My fiancee and I have just spent three nights here after booking a deal with travel zoo and we got moved here instead of the original hotel we had booked. I was a little bit sceptical after reading some reviews but have to say I did not encounter any of the problems people seemed to be talking about.
There were a couple of minor niggles that stop me rating this hotel excellent, one or two minor repairs needed here and there around the place, but nothing major or off putting.
The staff were all very pleasant and polite and could not of been more helpful.
The breakfast was a continental breakfast with croissant, breads, jam selection, ham, cheese, cereal the works. There is no sausage, egg and beans but that is not important. There was plenty there and it was all good quality and once again I cannot understand why people were knocking it.
The room was big with a massive bed (yes it was 2 singles pushed together) that was very comfortable. There was sky tv, easy chairs and coffee table, mini bar and a big spacious bathroom with a massive spare bath and shower.
We found the hotel at night without any trouble at all. I bought the DK EYE WITNESS TRAVEL, pocket map and guide, looked up the hotel on google maps and marked it on the map. We got on the water bus and changed at Rialto to another then got of at San Angelo and it was less than a five minute walk using the map. Once there it is a brilliant location for discovering Venice. It was a ten minute leisurely walk (including window brousing) to Piazza San Marco with the Basilica and Doge's Palace. Also 10 minutes walk (and very straight forward) to the Rialto bridge which was the way we chose to go when returning rather than changing buses.
Over all it is a very good hotel with very nice staff and perfectly locate to just wonder around and discover San Marco in the centre of Venice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary3007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just back from staying here for a week. Everywhere is hard to find in Venice, but getting to this hotel is a doddle from the San Angelo varetto stop. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms, unless you're used to swanky joints, are a good size and the separate bathroom is a great size. Its location is both central and quiet - we thought it was fab. We found the staff helpful in four different languages, patient and really put themselves out. Everything was also scrupulously clean. The one downside is the mad, mad breakfast arrangements in the well-named Black Room! All tables like a bomb had dropped by 8.30, nothing cleared, no food replenished. The one day the woman in so called charge was off was bliss - tables cleared, food and coffee replenished. Please, Ca' Alvise, sort this out and you'll zoom up the ratings.

Stayed: January 2013
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yes, the location was a bit difficult to find, but once we asked for directions, we were good to go. We stayed in their sister property a short walk away, since they were booked, and we must have been upgraded because the room was directly on the canal with singing gondoliers passing by constantly. It was lovely. The room was huge for European standards with a large bed, ample closet space, a chaise lounge and cable tv. The bathroom had a tub (YES TUB) with shower, single sink, towel warmer, toilet and bidet. The breakfast was good and served downstairs. The property surrounded a nice courtyard, which I imagine to be quite beautiful during the summer. One of the best things about the property is its location. It is just a few minutes walk to Plaza San Marcos. If you know where the Gucci store is just off the plaza by a side canal, then you are standing at the street where the entrance to the hotel is. So, needless to say, amazing shopping and restaurants are just outside your door. Request a room on the canal, and you'll be very pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a canal room in their sister property
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieBrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews