We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
186
291
105
37
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
291
105
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsan angelono elevatorgood sizebritish airwayslarge bathroomrialto bridgewater taxipastrieslong weekendbreakfast roomexcellent locationlovely hotelcentral locationfantastic stayrestaurants and shopstop floor
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 655 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just back from staying here for a week. Everywhere is hard to find in Venice, but getting to this hotel is a doddle from the San Angelo varetto stop. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms, unless you're used to swanky joints, are a good size and the separate bathroom is a great size. Its location is both central and quiet - we thought it was fab. We found the staff helpful in four different languages, patient and really put themselves out. Everything was also scrupulously clean. The one downside is the mad, mad breakfast arrangements in the well-named Black Room! All tables like a bomb had dropped by 8.30, nothing cleared, no food replenished. The one day the woman in so called charge was off was bliss - tables cleared, food and coffee replenished. Please, Ca' Alvise, sort this out and you'll zoom up the ratings.

Stayed: January 2013
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yes, the location was a bit difficult to find, but once we asked for directions, we were good to go. We stayed in their sister property a short walk away, since they were booked, and we must have been upgraded because the room was directly on the canal with singing gondoliers passing by constantly. It was lovely. The room was huge for European standards with a large bed, ample closet space, a chaise lounge and cable tv. The bathroom had a tub (YES TUB) with shower, single sink, towel warmer, toilet and bidet. The breakfast was good and served downstairs. The property surrounded a nice courtyard, which I imagine to be quite beautiful during the summer. One of the best things about the property is its location. It is just a few minutes walk to Plaza San Marcos. If you know where the Gucci store is just off the plaza by a side canal, then you are standing at the street where the entrance to the hotel is. So, needless to say, amazing shopping and restaurants are just outside your door. Request a room on the canal, and you'll be very pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a canal room in their sister property
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieBrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed several nights in August/2012.

It was hard to find at first because of the road structure in Venice. But once we settled in, we found the location to be centrally located for our trip. It is just a short walk to San Marco Square. We were fortunate our room was only on the second floor and not the fourth since there were no elevators. The room was big and very comfortable for 3 people. The bathroom was a good size with a bidet as well. The breakfast buffet had a good selection to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower floors if you have difficulties walking up stairs. There are no elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We called the hotel as we were lost and it was 2am and we hadn't checked in. It was hopeless, couldn't tell us that we were only 100 meters away. Got there bath was filthy, hair, dirt and a large dirty rim around the inside.

Breakfast needs to be replenished as there isn't much choice and if you're not there by 8 there is hardly anything left.

Only thing going for it is the location!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Booked a last minute trip to Venice and chose this hotel based on reviews. This was a really nice hotel, very good service when we arrived. Not the easiest to find but unless your good with a map I don't think anywhere is in Venice. We were shown to our room which was really good. Deep red colours, chandelier light, spa bath, shower etc. The bed was fairly hard but comfortable and the room was impeccably clean when we arrived. Our view would have been of a courtyard had we of opened the shutters but it was pouring with rain virtually the whole time we were there. Either way there is ao much to see and explore the hotel was for sleeping only. The breakfast was very nice. Only had a continental but there was fried available.

Main problem was the time of year I chose. Didn't research it enough and Venice floods badly during these times. That made no difference to us though, still had a fantastic time, it was very quiet still got the do the gondola rides although limited because of high waters. Will definitely go back in the summer sometime and for what we paid to go it was cheaper than a night out in London

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews