We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only location was good”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #159 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed May 9, 2012

not sure why most of the reviews have been 3+ stars, my husband got a double bed but the double bed were two twins pushed together. the beds were bad, bad as in i can feel the springs when i sleep. it was impossible to take a shower without getting water over the floor because it was only half a shower window door. the breakfast was lower then mediocre. if you got to breakfast late (9am), you would only get salami or turkey deli. otherwise, nothing special about the breakfast. only good thing about the hotel is location. i recommend paying a little more money and staying at a nicer place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 611 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very nice hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, and good, full breakfast. We reserved a family room for four since our children are grown. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large and comfortable. The hotel is located conveniently on a quieter side street, but still within easy walking distance to everything. We would stay here again should we visit Venice in the future.

WGH

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We were a family of 4 and the single family room was fairly spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff in the hotel were courteous and helpful and the breakfast was surprisingly better than what we had experienced in several other hotels in Italy.
The only issue was that it was a struggle to locate the hotel, especially as the directions in the hotel webpage were a bit erroneous.
However we did enjoy our stay and will consider coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ramdas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

when i first checked-in, the reception was hard-core mean! They were in a bad mood, no cozy welcome as you would normally expect from a 4-star hotel etc.) And, the internet costed 10 EUROS (14 USD)!! However, the internet didnt work at all, and a red-haired receptionist (woman) was the worst. In the morning when i woke up, they didnt show me the way to the breakfast room, cuz i couldnt fine it. They didnt bother. The same (red haired woman) simply pointed towards a certain direction. And last but not least, the beds were rock-hard

never returning!

Room Tip: The Higher floor you choose, the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The room was simple but providing enough for a city trip. For a Italian hotel 4 starts means: regular, proper and suficient. Nevertheless the staff was was not very supportive. No suggestions, no effort to make your stay extra pleasant. The breakfast was american style and simple, but your in Italy so run off to the first small barrida around the corner! The location is perfect, in the middle of the San Marco region, although it is a little hard to find and a small walk from the local bus-boat stops. Clean bathrooms, good housekeeping and during our stay perfectly quiet.

the staff was was not very supportive. (no answer to our request of information for transport to the airport, information about opera shows etc.) simple breakfast (not a big deal)

Room Tip: go for breakfast in a nearby barrida
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joost Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and liked it. We were away from the hustle of all the tourists (I recommend going during the week because the tourist population exploded on Saturday!). We were about 5 minutes from San Marco Square and about 8 minutes from the Rialto Bridge. The hotel was clean and tidy with very nice staff. Breakfast was a typical European sort - hard boiled eggs, bread, croissants, coffee/tee, cereal, little sausages, and some mornings there were scrambled eggs (but not American style, obviously).

This hotel is also close to a few good restaurants that aren't too expensive. The Zaparato is a great pizza/pasta place and accommodated our daughter's smaller appetite - just ask for a smaller portion and they gave a cheaper price.

We will stay at this hotel when we go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Marys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Just got back from a fab weekend with my mum. Location was good, just 10 minutes to Piazza San Marco. And the most important thing with the hotel was that it was very clean and breakfast was excellent ! Staff were really really nice !! Room was big with a very nice big bathroom always warm since central heating was on every time! Would really recommend it since I'll visit some other day for sure :) The only draw back was the mattress since it probably was worn out but can't really complain! And no lift but no big deal since we only went up once a day ... and you kinda get used to it with all the steps and walks we had all through Venice and it's islands !

Room Tip: We had room 305. Twas on the 3rd floor but a really nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emikaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#141 of 387 in Venice
642 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#76 of 387 in Venice
1,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#185 of 387 in Venice
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#124 of 387 in Venice
1,214 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#135 of 387 in Venice
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $103 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing