We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money”

Scuola Grande di San Teodoro
Ranked #94 of 708 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We categorically disagree with the avalanche of the negative reviews. First and foremost, we don't understand the ubiquitous complain mentioned by our fellow reviewers, 'It is a tourist trap.' Well, we are all tourists, why to pretend that we are locals when we aren't. Venetians do not attend concerts, unless it is a La Fenice performance with the tickets priced over 150 euro and up. Venice is known for not offering many attractions after hours, it is a city that does not boast diverse night life, if any. So, why not to experience the divine music of Antonio Vivaldi in the setting of the authentic period concert hall, even if not the most impressive one? The musicians in our opinion worked well for the money. The entrance fee was ridiculously low, we purchased our advance tickets of the best category via Classictic.com, and it was about 39 euro per person. The show's start time is 8:30 PM. The information provided by Classictic.com tells you to arrive at 8 PM, and it is quite true; perhaps if you want the best seats available in your category, it is even a better idea to show up at 7:45 PM.
The only valid complain is the fact that after the intermission there is no admittance to the restrooms. Having said that, the entire Venice distances and routes are such that it should not present a serious problem; most hotels even located in the distant part of Dorsoduro can be reached in 15 or 20 minutes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    50
    17
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great performance, shady management, lack of toilet space”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I am a spontaneous last-minute traveler, so I could not buy tickets to their main Opera House La Fenice or even Musica A Palazzo. So I accidentally stumbled across this theatre in Campo San Salvador not far from Rialto Bridge, and bought my orchestra tickets for La Traviata. It struck me as odd that a theater did not accept credit cards, although the building seemed legit. He told me they opened doors at 8:00pm, and started the show at 8:30pm. Seats are on first come, first serve basis (another strange thing). I came around 8:10pm, and they were letting people in in small chunks. I did not understand that. Why not just let people in as they came? The flow of people was managed by a cashier with a ziplock wallet full of cash. Later on she helped move furniture on a stage. All staff were a few hats like that. The building is truly old, with high ceiling and old portraits, but clearly not a real theatre. It is probably just rented by various migrating performers, and quickly refurbished to act as a theatre.
The toilet only has two stalls: one for the ladies and one for gents. Hardly enough for about 200 people theatre. There is little privacy. A few dozen visitors stand right outside your stall door. So, don’t drink much before this performance. I don’t recall any bar, and that is probably good.
The performance and the orchestra were wonderful. There were 16 people in the cast, and what seemed to be a full orchestra. Don’t pick a seat too close to the stage, because the stage is rather low, and the orchestra is on the same level as audience, not in an orchestra pit. The seats, like some other reviewer said, are just garden chairs linked together.
Overall, I had a lovely experience, and I am now an opera fan. Provided you know what you will see or listen to, and don’t come with a full bladder, you will have a good experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just for tourists”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent 1h 15 mins at the Scuola Grande di San Teodoro to listen to some of the best made Venetian music. The tickets were bought on the street from some musical students in baroque costumes. They played Vivaldi's "Le Quattro Stagioni" and Albinoni's famous Adagio. The concert was taking place in a nice room with great paintings on the wall. However the students lacked quite a bit of instrumental perfection. Then suddenly they were joined by a very good new 1st violinist who really saved our evening. Wandering home, we found out that the surroundings were better, but the music poorer than in our hometown, Oslo.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Norwegian_couple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“enjoyed the opera”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I thought it was a nice night, the three main singers did a really good job, we enjoyed it(most of us) my husband was bored to death, but by the end he started to enjoy it as well.only a few minutes walk from Rialto Bridge. Program lasts about an hour and a half including intermission.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alinajimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Parents night out”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I had a night out alone so we went to sit and listen to opera at this beautiful place. I highly recommend it as it gives you the complete vibe!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniseka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicaeMusica, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Scuola Grande di San Teodoro, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Google Translation
Gentili Ospiti,
Vi ringraziamo per la valutazione del nostro spettacolo e siamo contenti che Vi sia piaciuto. Purtroppo questo giudizio è stato pubblicato sulla pagina della struttura che ospita i nostri spettacoli (SCUOLA GRANDE DI SAN TEODORO) e non sulla nostra pagina personale I MUSICI VENEZIANI. Ci sarebbe di grande aiuto se poteste riscrivere o trasferire il commento direttamente sulla nostra pagina I MUSICI VENEZIANI!!
GRAZIE!! Cordiali saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuola Grande di San Teodoro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Scuola Grande di San Teodoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing