We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem hidden in one of Venice alleys”
Review of Ai Barbacani

Ai Barbacani
Ranked #55 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing gem hidden in one of Venice alleys”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I found this restaurant by chance, when I was in Venice in November. We were walking around trying to find a restaurant to have our last dinner in Venice. I wanted something typical and unique. When we decided to go down this dark alley, I never thought I would find this beautiful gem, with everything I was looking for, just perfect!

There was a wood fire fireplace, that gave the restaurant just a beautiful and romantic ambiance, it was so cold outside, to having the fireplace, and hearing the sound of wood burning, was such a cozy and warm feeling!

They served complimentary prosecco, which was a very nice touch! Also their bread and butter, was probably one of the best I had while in Venice. I had the gnocchi with Gorgonzola sauce, and it was really delicious. Very rich and comforting and the gnocchi tasted freshly made!
The dessert selection was not the best, and I'm not sure if the desserts were homemade, but they tasted good. I had an expresso, it came with these homemade cookies, that were really delicious.
Also, to add to the romantic ambiance, there was a some live jazz music, that was just fantastic!
At the end, they served us also, a complimentary house limoncello, that was really delicious and refreshing!
The service was fantastic, the girl that served was very nice, and the older man, was just so sweet!
Overall a perfect Venetian experience, on a typical and unique restaurant in Venice. They should keep the old traditions, and have more restaurants like this one!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCDesign29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    290
    69
    36
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterksel
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy but bad food!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Decided to eat at this restaurant because of the atmosphere and the good reviews. But it was very disappointing! As a starter shrimps with oil and lemon. And that was all there was. Tasteless shrimps with oil and a piece of lemon. Very overprized at 10 euro's! As next course we ate overcooked gnocchi and overcooked pasta without seasoning. Housewine wasn't too good either. Glad we didn't order a main course! The only good thing was that it is a cozy place to sit and you get a warm welcome with a prosecco a wellfilled breadbasket and a limoncello or grappa when you pay your bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“basandmo”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is a little jewel and that's pretty difficult with so much competition around! Very friendly and welcoming with nice touches like pre-dinner prosecco and post-dinner limoncello or grappa.
We shall go back soon just to eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank basandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter and I came across this lovely little restaurant after a long day of walking in wellies and were enticed in by the reviews outside and it just looked so good inside. Lovely warm log fire after a day of high water.
The welcome glass of prossecco was lovely, wine was good and reasonably priced.
Our pasta dishes were delicious, although The steak main course could have been better, the cuttlefish Venetian style was delicious so we went halves each!
We were enjoying ourselves so much we also had dessert which was good.
We were in the restaurant for over 2 hours, the atmosphere was great, food was good and not too expensive. It was our last night and a great end to our stay. Jazz played throughout the evening with a live session which was great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for our final evening in Venice”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a meal with two other couples at this place on our last night in Venice (a night when a high tide meant we arrived equipped to wade back to our hotel with wellington boots.) Despite the extreme weather conditions we had a marvellous evening in just about every way imaginable.

The restaurant is cosy in a very positive way. Small, intimate – only a limited number of tables are available and the food is cooked to order. We booked in advance and were glad we did. There is a real fire burning in an open grate and the warm-hearted staff were attentive but not fussy, relaxed and encouraging. The experience felt authentically Italian in a way that some experiences of Venice feel Venetian/Cosmopolitan/European but not necessarily Italian. The table was laid in an attractive way with rustic and beautiful crockery and glassware.

The food was delicious – we shared three hors d’ouvres, had starters, main courses, puddings, wine and coffee. The risotto was light and creamy, the steaks tender and cooked to perfection (three of us who ordered steaks asked for variations in cooking and were all very happy with the results.) The fish was fresh and delicate, the vegetables plentiful and tasty. A few extra treats were thrown our way which I won’t mention in case it doesn’t happen every time – it was clear we were celebrating a special occasion, but I get the feeling every guest will feel special if they approach the whole experience with an open heart. If we’re ever lucky enough to return to Venice, we will make a meal at this restaurant a priority.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ai Barbacani also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Barbacani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing