We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brek

Brek
Ranked #275 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Cannaregio
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We discovered Brek in Verona, where we needed something to eat but which was not very expensive. We then discovered it in Venice, further in from the train station. Brek is a self-service eatery, where you choose what you want to eat, drink, and even dessert, pay and then sit and eat. Prices were very reasonable, with a meal for two (including a beer, half a bottle of wine and 1 dessert) totalling €16.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aqua37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    377
    139
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Clean and relaxed environment for food and free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Brek is very conveniently located near the train station on the main drag of the area. It's also very close to our hotel so we went there for a quick bite as well as for free WiFi access. The WiFi password is printed on the receipt, but it doesn't look like they change the password every day. This is a very good alternative to paying $$$ to use the hotel's WiFi.

The front area is a cafe that is usually crowded. Go to the self-service area in the back. There's plenty of sitting area and the atmosphere is very relaxed. Grab some freshly made pasta or check out the salad bar which has many varieties of choices. It's also a good place to stock up your drinks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callgary
Level Contributor
169 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Convenient and god value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Another couple and ourselves after a morning touring decided to stop at Brek's for an early lunch. We had scouted it out the previous day. It was always busy serving take out food. We had read about going into the back area to have the freshly made pasta and a garden, well that was small and for cigarette smokers mainly. Anyway the salads were large and of good value and the lasagne. salad and a bottle of water was 17 euros. The lasagne could have been much hotter , cut out of a pan and microwaved unfortunately. There is a large variety of food, salads, drinks, and even some groceries and plenty of pre-made sandwiches and other take out foods which are favourites with Venetians. Good value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank springbanktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“quite a cheap place especially in Venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a typical italian "mensa" (canteen) style place, so it's a self-service. Nothing posh, simple, but quite cheap and you can have a good lunch in Venice not paying a lot. And it's also close to the train station and easy to find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take Away lunch served with a smile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Our first lunchtime in Venice and we bought a take away! Service was good, the baguette was filling; we'd go there again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paultroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brek also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Brek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing