We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel is is ideal if your a boat person!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venice Certosa Hotel
Ranked #232 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“hotel is is ideal if your a boat person!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Ok lets cut to the chase, the Hotel itself is fine,(be it thats its in the middle of boat building yards) its clean, friendly, in a nice location away from the main part of Venice, but thats where the big problem for me begins.
On paper that seems apealing, especialy when you read some of the terrible reviews some of the equivalent rated hotels in the city get.
And the after hours hotel boat service is quick and reliable, but what they fail to tell you is the prices of Vaporato tickets for the rest of the time, im sorry but 18 euro per person for 24 hrs is unforgivable in any time period in any country in any currency, and thats just the tip of the ice berg!
With prices so extorcianate in Venice itself (I mean 40 euro for a tiny pasta dish and a bottle of water, do me a favor??) you would think that this little oasis would offer your pocket a reprieve, but sadly it does'nt.
We had 2 large beers in the bar on our arrival and it cost us 10 euro, if we wanted the usual continental breakfast of croisants,croisants and more croisants that fetched us back 6 euro each, per day!
The capuucino that you may request with the said breakfast was a cup of foam lacking in anything that resembled liquid, I think their coffee machine needs a service!
Im being picky I know but im just a simple traveller who wants his moneys worth and not to be spotted coming 3000 miles off!!
Perhaps im being even more picky to complain that theres no CNN or Sky news on the tv in the room, im sorry but even the dreggs of Egypt had those small comforts.
On the plus side the bathroom was huge and had a good spec with jacuzzi bath e.t.c. and the room was made clean and tidy for our return each day.
And we would have loved to have dined in the hotel at night but for the fact that they wanted 60 euro for what in local terms was a basic menu, it just doesnt make sense why they charge so much, why would I want to pay about £30 for a sea bass that I can get for £4 from my local fish monger?? The size may be different and offcourse its fresh but it still tastes the same!
On the whole the the hotel is ok if you have plenty of money to spend, not just because of the hotel prices itself but for the costs of getting to and from there each day.
Id always wanted to go to Venice having seen its beauty on numerous movies over the years I imagined the romance and colours of the place, I knew it was expensive from what id read, but with most expensive places theres usually some secretly hidden bistro in a backstreet that offers excellent food at reasonable prices, sadly we never found it there, every restaurant has almost the same menus with the same hidden taxes and charges, even the Venetian menus.
We were on our honeymoon and were looking forward to our gondola ride, we did it but it cost 70 euros he originally wanted 120!!
Im sorry but Venice has left a bad taste in our mouths, not to mention our walletts!!
From UK

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekay_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    61
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
81
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

We managed to get to the hotel by vaporetto no. 42 from Piazalle Roma without much of a problem, but we did have to change from one 42 to another. On arrival the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful and spoke very good english. She told us exactly what vaporettos to use and gave us the number to call for their own boat if we wanted to come back after the vaporetto stopped in the evenings. Despite it only being around 11am our room was ready and we were checked in no rpoblem. The room was very clean and spacious, fairly basic but just as described on the hotel website. We used the hotel boat service to return that evening and it was very efficient too, arriving around 10 minutes after we phoned. Breakfast was perfectly adequate - just a normal continental breakfast selection. The dinner menu looked very nice but was very fish orientated which isn't to my personal taste so we decided to opt for a toastie in the bar area instead.
I would definitely recommend the Certosa if you're looking for somewhere to give you a bit of a respite from the hustle and bustle of Venice whilst still being within very easy reach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandDiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

We just got back from a long weekend in Venice. What a find Vento di Venezia was! It's on its own private island. If you follow the instructions they send, you should have no trouble. The island is surrounded with moored sailboats and is very quiet. The hotel is brand new and the staff could not have been nicer and more helpful.

The news is that a few months ago, a young couple, Laura and Luca, was brought to help run the hotel. She helps at the front desk and the restaurant (and is absolutely darling) and he is an excellent chef. They haven't really started advertising yet and it is a bit off the beaten path (which we liked) so it was almost like having our own personal chef. We ate there all three nights: salmon in wine and honey sauce, pheasant breast in mustard sauce, hake with capers, homemade gnocchi with rabbit ragu, or something a little more adventurous like warm octopus, basil and celery salad. It was all scrumptious. And for dessert molten chocolate cake with raspberrry sauce or panna cotta with passionfruit glaze. All at very reasonable prices.

We had no trouble catching the vaporetto. It came exactly on time and at this time of year was virtually empty. And coming back we only had to say once that we were going to Certosa and they stopped and even came back to make sure we knew it was time to get off. We had an early flight out on Sunday and the reception desk gave us a wake-up call at 4:00 am and the boatman got up and took us to the boat dock at the Lido - no charge. The bed was very comfortable with a warm comforter and there was a flat screen TV. They gave us a good map when we arrived with the number of the hotel on the back in case we wanted to stay in Venice late at night. We absolutely loved Vento di Venezia. It was like having the excitement of Venice and the peace and tranquility of a personal island paradise to come home to.

  • Liked — The tranquility and friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank antoniaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
371 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

Vento di Venezia is an excellent choice especially in the summer.
It's a quite relaxing place with a beautifoul garden just a few minutes away from the crowd of Venice (Certosa Island is in front of Sant'Elena).
You can reach the hotel with public boats (n. 41-42 stop upon request) and in the evening a free private service is available.
The Hotel staff is very nice and especially Sabrina, the manager.
You may have lunch there and occasionally dinner (it depends from the number of reservations) at a good price compared to the quality of food.

I would not suggest this place to people that consider Venice as a disneyland or a meal in a fast food (visiting the town with all its beauty in two days one night).

  • Liked — the quiet relaxing athmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Francescomare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

Having never been to Venice, but having traveled extensively in Europe, I carefully read other reviews here and on alternative websites. We spent 7 days in Venice, with the first three in the city, and then moved to this hotel. Venice is different from ANY other city. You will either walk, take the Vaporetto, or pay dearly for a water taxi. There are no other choices. Understanding that fact will keep you from unrealistic expectations.

We originally chose a hotel in the city near the Piazzale Roma, for its convenience. It was acceptable and served its purpose, but know that the city is very crowded and very expensive. After three days there we chose to move to Certosa. The vaporetto will stop at Certosa, but only on demand. We never had a problem coming or going, and every driver was helpful and reasonably polite. Leaving the island requires you to push a button on the dock to indicate that you'd like the vaporetto to stop. The "bus" runs every twenty minutes, and is always pretty close to schedule. The light only remains illuminated for about 3-4 minutes, so if you push it too soon, it will extinguish before the bus comes. You can see the vaporetto approach, so you can either push the button repeatedly or just time the selection. If you take the vaporetto during "rush hour" it will be crowded. At other times, it can be almost empty, and a boat ride around the island or down the Grand Canal is a pleasant experience. The 41 and 42 lines, which stop at Certosa, are not usually too crowded. You can avoid the worst crowds by taking the lines around the island and avoiding the Grand Canal during mid-day.

We were a group of two adults and three teenagers. We moved with all of our luggage both on and off the island with little problem. Any hotel in Venice will require a walk, so pack for and expect that. The hotel itself was new, clean, airconditioned, and offerred much more personal space than can be found in the city. Wireless Internet was available on the first two floors, but not the third. Lunch was superb (and about half the cost found in the city), but dinner is by reservation only. You can, however, eat sandwiches or other snacks in the bar for the evening meal, and one of the staff always offerred to make something else for us if we needed more.

The Vento di Venezia is also a marina, and a school for boat design and maintenance. There are a few students there as well as owners of the yachts, most appear to be young and affluent. All of the people I encountered, including the other guests, were pleasant. The staff was excellent, and on par with the hotel staff to be found anywhere. I am an airline captain, and spend 10-12 nights a month in hotels around the world. Travel requires a reasonably open mind, and Venice is NOT Disney. Trying to make the place become some generic, bland location would destroy the thrilling beauty and true magic of the experience. My three typical American teenagers were absolutely captivated by the visit, and loved Certosa.

Overall, I MUCH prefferred this hotel to my three star accomodations in the city. It was clean, cool, quiet, and affordable. If you want a fast-paced visit to Venice and only have 48 hours, you might be better served staying at one of the outrageously priced places on the main island. If you have some time to spare, and want to relax, this is the place.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, and space.
  • Disliked — Lack of a full dinner service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dmjonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

The travel to the island on vaparetto 41 was very crowded and after standing in line 45 minutes to buy a ticket was quite a surprise. The vaparetto are just like any other over-crowded city bus. The receptionist was no where to be found, so we waited 10-15 minutes to even check in. Then we found out we were on the 3rd floor and there wasn't an elevator or lift. I couldn't manage my bags up the three flights up stairs...luckily my daughter was able to help me. The room had no television or internet (wi-fi or ethernet) as advertised. There is a television and wi-fi in the lobby.The bathroom was a very pleasant surprise with its sunken jacuzzi tub. There is some kind of school for young adults on the island, so unless you are 20 something, you'll feel left out. Being from a country other than Venice, I found this hotel to have more rude people there than kind. The housekeeper even got angry at me when at the end of the day and returning to our room, we found there were no fresh towels. We had taken our towels to the beach at Lido island and she scolded me for taking them out of the hotel.
Would I recommend this hotel? I would have to see what else there is for the same amount of money. ONE OTHER THING...IF YOU STAY HERE, MAKE SURE YOU TAKE THE BOAT SHUTTLE PHONE NUMBER WITH YOU FOR AFTER HOURS. NO ONE HAS THE PHONE NUMBER! YOU WILL BE STRANDED ON ANOTHER ISLAND UNTIL THE REGULAR VAPARETTO SERVICE RESUMES IN THE MORNING.

  • Liked — the bathroom
  • Disliked — having no elevator/lift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hvlgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

DON'T DO IT!!

This "hotel" is the only sleeping facility on Certosa, an undeveloped island near the main island of Venice. It has one water taxi (vaporetto) stop, and the stop is a wooden dock that has no cover against the rain or elements. Vaporetto's normally don't stop at Certosa, but will (grudgingly) do so if you explicitly and repeatedly ask them to. Once you get to Certosa and you want to leave the island, you must stand on the platform and press a button, and at some point a Vaporetto will come and pick you up. This is the ONLY "hotel" on Certosa Island. The hotel says they have a water taxi service, but I did not use it or try it.

The "hotel" is part of a facility that used to belong to the state (city?) and has now been privatized as a development project, that includes a boat workshop and a marina of sorts (oh yeah - and an art or architecture institute).

We arrived in the rain, dragged our luggage 100+ yards down the wooden ramp from the water taxi platform, and encountered packed gravel/rock for the remaining 100 yards, which was through a boatyard. If you have ever dragged a roller suitcase over gravel through the rain, you can get a mental image. Oh, yes. Don't forget the boatyard workers grinding, sanding, painting, etc.

After navigating (no pun intended) through from the dock and through the boatyard, we opened the first door we found. Not the hotel, we were told. Keep going.

We kept dragging our luggage (now on cement pavement, thank God) and made it past the Art Institute (that is somehow part of this development project), and to the "hotel" at the back of this boatyard/art institute/hotel compound. It was a 2 or 3 story cement building, that had been painted cheery colors for the photo.

To greet us, we found one very hard working, pleasant and helpful clerk, who did her best to make us at home. In the bar/lounge to the left, we arrived just in time for the after-work happy hour of the boat-yard workers. As we made our way up to our room, my wife may have been flattered by all the inebriated attention she got from this exuberant crew, but I have my doubts.

We were surprised on the second floor by a modern, stylishly appoited room (clearly re-modeled and upgraded). It had a 13" LCD TV bolted to the wall, and a very nice Italina shower.

AFter we cleaned up, we went downstairs to the one Internet terminal to plan our escape from Certosa, and then had a very cafeteria-feeling dinner in the 'restaurant' (served by the same dedicated and very hard-working clerk who had checked us in).

To make a long story a little less long, we got up early, hit the Vaporetto early (under an intermittent but substantial rain) and made our escape the the beautiful island of Venice, where we stayed at nice 3-star hotel on a charming canal.

Don't stay at Vento di Venezia on Certosa! You will regret it if you do! You will have wasted your trip to Venice and will kick yourself if you go there. There is no free lunch, you get what you pay for, and I don't have words for how really bad this experience was.

  • Liked — The room itself was not all that bad
  • Disliked — Completely misleading website/advertising, horrible access and support service, simply astounding poor surroundings.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelPowerPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#220 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#197 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#159 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Flestariam
#239 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Certosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Certosa Hotel

Property: Venice Certosa Hotel
Address: Certosa Island, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Venice Certosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venice Certosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing