We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“bad quality-price relation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ca La Bricola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Ca La Bricola
Ranked #164 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“bad quality-price relation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location was fantastic, as said in all previous reviews. The reception people were rather cold but efficient as far as service is concerned. Poor breakfast variety but good quality of products. Many steep stairs leeding up to the rooms. Room was tastefully decorated but too small. Matress was very hard. It is more of a pension rather than a hotel. Overall, a good option, but too expensive for what it is, we paid 150 euros for a double room per night, when it should have been 100 euros at the most, mostly because of its location, otherwise it should have been even cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenos_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
13
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We arrived at Venice from Florence quite late at night.We took a vaporetto from the station and reached Realto stop at around 11.30 in the night.This hotel can be reached either from Realto or from San Marco square and its about 5 min walk. However, since there were no directions in the roads and the hotel has no sign board we had to roam around the deserted lanes for more than half an hour and when ultimately we could spot the hotel,the door was shut and no one was there to answer our repeated phone calls.We dialed the landline number as well as the cell but no one picked up the phone.However, one of the boarder could hear our doorbell and was kind enough to let us enter the hotel.The Reception was empty and we had a horrible night.The next morning we were shown our room which was quite nice. The toillette was clean.They served a nice breakfast.The staff barely speaks English however, they tried to help us.The location of the hotel is good as it is just minutes away from San Marco square and about 5 minutes from Realto bridge.However, if you are arriving late at night, you may find it difficult to locate the hotel as there is no sign board.You can look for Trattoria La Bricola, which is the restaurant in the ground floor as it is impossible to find the entrance to the hotel.Also, it has very steep stairs.If you are carrying big suitcases, you are likely to have a tough time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReshmeeBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Locanda La Bricola is a bit hard to find, even with a Google map print-out, but once you locate it you realise you are in the heart of St. Marco's square. Our room (101) overlooked a small alley, so the only thing we could hear was the noise waiters made in the mornings, when opening up the nearby restaurants.

The room was great, sizable and warm, with baroque elements in the interior. No complaints whatsoever. Spotless clean, with towels being changed daily.

Downsides: Breakfast, although tasty, very basic. Cheese, ham, bread, butter and some marmalade. And the same every morning. We stayed for 4 nights so needless to say how fed up we were with the "selection" by day 4. TV had only Italian channels. Furthermore, nobody seems to speak any English in the hotel, so if your Italian is rusty, good luck. Also, i didn't like the fact that there were no maps of the city in the hotel, which is a standard practice really, so we had to buy one. Internet was a puzzle, they said there is no wi-fi, and indeed there wasn't any for 3 days, but then all of a sudden it appeared out of nowhere.

Add 2,5 EUR per day/per person to the room price for a tourist charge.

Final word of advice: beware of the La Bricola restaurant (trattoria) downstairs - OVERPRICED piece of .... In fact, avoid trattoria's and restaurants altogether. Opt for ostaria's instead, that's where locals go for chiccetas and wine. In my opinion, Cannaregio is the sestiere (borough) with the best food for lowest prices. Bad taste in my mouth from 3 days of horrific food was washed away by visiting Alla Vedova restaurant on Strada Nuova, strongly recommend it.

Loved Venice, liked the hotel, loved Murano & Burano, but not the kind of place i would go back again to, felt like a fool everyone tried to squeeze money from. I liked Sicily far better for it's homey atmosphere, Venice seems a bit like a film studio with no character. Famous past is unattainable i guess.

Oh – and if you don’t mind walking, avoid the water buses, they are a rip-off for 6,5 EUR per single ticket. Walking is really fun, and the city is not that big really. Plus getting lost is part of the Venice experience. And try the black pasta made out of cuttlefish boiled in its ink - delicious!

Room Tip: 101 was quiet and large enough for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anica9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed here during July 2011 whilst here for a family wedding, the hotel could be hard to find but we were given directions so wasn't too bad. The hotel is in a perfect location and great if you want to have a little explore. So many restaurants and gift shops, the water buses are also near if you want to explore further. The rooms in the b&b were very nice and breakfast was good also, there are quite a lot of stairs up to the room so might not be suitable for older guests otherwise we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyb_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed at La Bricola for 4 nights during August as part of a trip around Europe. The hotel at first was a tad hard to find, but was far superior to anything we'd imagined. The room we'd booked was a superior double which was of a decent size, & from what I saw through the open doors of rooms being cleaned the normal rooms weren't that much smaller.

The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were spotlessly clean, and the location was second to none being a stones throw away from Piazza San Marco. Breakfast served in the morning was very good with fresh coffee served by the hotel owner.

As for negatives I can't say there was much to mention, apart from the intial difficulty of finding the hotel which for myself added to the experience. Just ask for directions if your totally lost!

Overall a great stay & a hotel which deserves to be recognized. As for any negatives people have mentioned such as the language barriers.. Your in Italy ?! Usual ignorance... Stick to Butlins!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cross90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We visited Venice in April and stayed at Locanda La Bricola. Just as another reviewer said, you have to look for Trattoria La Bricola as it very close to impossible to find it for the first time. The room we had was a bit small for my tastes however beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable bed and had no problems with hot water. Since it was April, we did not use heating nor air conditioning, we just opened the window which was overlooking a very narrow alley way but it was fine with us - not interested in views!! Breakfast was very Italian of course so only continental breakfast was available. Not a vast selection but was enough for us as it was always fresh and inviting. I would definately recommend this hotel due to its superb location ( only 2 minutes walk from St. Mark's Square ) and the great accommodation price. Having said that .... I would definately visit again too :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNF0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

It was a very pleasant surprise to have a beautiful and clean room right in st mark square, for a very convenient price. The staff were also very kind and made us feel at home. 100 % recommended. This is real 4 star quality and yet very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#156 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
San Marco
Casa Dolce Venezia
Casa Dolce Venezia
#251 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo San Marco
Albergo San Marco
#212 of 387 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Castello
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
Hotel Antigo Trovatore
#111 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
San Marco
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
#90 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca La Bricola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca La Bricola

Property: Locanda Ca La Bricola
Address: First Entrance San Marco 489, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Ca La Bricola is located in a peaceful and convenient position in the centre of Venice, close to Piazza San Marco and the famous "Ponte di Rialto" bridge. Fully renovated, the inn offers refined and comfortable surroundings with high quality facilities, perfectly combined with great attention to detail and professional and attentive staff. Ideal for discovering the wonderful city of Venice, it has double rooms distributed over two floors and a fabulous suite. Guests are offered special conditions with local restaurants serving typical Venetian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Ca La Bricola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca La Bricola Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing