We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab find in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Fontanea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' Fontanea
Ranked #159 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fab find in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in one of their apartments in the 2nd week of June. The location is in a far less touristy and hectic part of Venice where better food and quality of service is easier to find. It was lovely to retreat to our quieter part of Venice away from the mad crowds yet not far from the vaparetto at all. Lucio is a great host who really looks after his guests and the breakfast prepared by Mary is great value. Thank you for our coffees! We both love Venice but a lot of the time you do feel that you are being ripped off but definitely not here. Highly recommend the restaurant Tre Archi located nearby too. Would gladly recommend staying here and hope to return again soon. We both appreciated your kindness and it was a great part of our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    100
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
47
168
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this small hotel (only 6 rooms) and the location is perfect if you don’t want to be in the middle of the main tourist areas. The room and the bathroom were clean also nice. The neighborhood is very quiet and the nearby restaurants are very good, and also used by many of the local people. At one of the nearby café’s there is live music Thursday and jazz Sunday morning.

I can recommend making a small picnic along the canal side and just sitting there and enjoy all the traffic coming down the canal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebbwlev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed at Ca' Fontanea for one night. Located nicely outside the hustle and bustle of the centre of Venice yet still close enough to get there in about 15 mins. Spacious bathroom! Quiet area; pity that the mini bar fridge was humming so loudly all through the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMAVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Couldn't recommend this place enough. We spent 3 nights there. The location is far from the madding crowd but yet very handy for the vaporetto and walkable into the heat of things. There are also some delightful and non-touristy restaurants within walking distance from the guest house. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We lost our passports at the airport. The lady behind the reception called the airport for us, got the ticket number from the lost and found who fortunately had our passports.

Room Tip: We were in toom 106. The only complaint I have is that the air-conditioning unit wasn't the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basilea222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I had concerns when I booked this B & B, because of how it looks from the outside and its low price (compared the other Venice's hotels). We only needed one night so we didn't want to spend too much. The hotel surprised me big time! Huge room, new bathroom and a quite environment. The location is excellent. Just a minute from the great canal, and just 20 minutes walk from piazzale Rome. The walk to the city center gives a chance to walk through the unique streets of Venice. I have nothing bad to say about the place - location, room, price - everything is just perfect! Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel is located about 650 meters form the SANTA LUCIA train station. If you are carring heavy luggage, the best option is to take the Aquabus inf front of the station and get off at the CREA stop.
From outside, the building seems old, but as you go inside, you'll notice that it has been entirely rebuilded (at least the common area and our bedroom: 105).
It´s very cosy and clean. The bathroom is roomy and the shower is good!
Some may think it´s very far from downtown (Saint Marco Square), but for the price you pay, we think it´s worth the walk to have that kind of comfort.
The breakfest is charged apart from the stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stunning BnB great value, lovely breakfast, peaceful location- WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT!!!! The staff were very kind and friendly. The room was very clean and cleaned everyday. We felt safe and looked after. Recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#99 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#138 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Alloggi Barbaria
Alloggi Barbaria
#152 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#104 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Fontanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Fontanea

Property: Ca' Fontanea
Address: Cannaregio 786 | Campiello de le Beccarie, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#85 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#94 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ca' Fontanea 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'Fontanea is located in a quite area of Cannaregio near Strada Nova, Rio Terà San Leonardo where there are local markets, shops and boutiques.Quite near a lot of point of interest as Rialto Bridge, Ca'Vendramin Calergi Palace ( where there is Casino), the ancient Jewish Ghetto, and Madonna dell'Orto Church.A short step there is the water bus stop that permise to reach the other island in few minutes. Ca'Fontanea has been recently renovated and rooms are comfortable, bright and spacious offer modern services and all have private services. Wireless connection are free and breakfast buffet too.A multilingual staff are available during the day to give information and assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' Fontanea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Fontanea Venice
Ca Fontanea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing