We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Ca' Fontanea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ca' Fontanea
Ranked #184 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly staff. We had a studio room with a balcony. Very clean rooms with air conditioning. Location is not central but is nice for escaping the hustle and bustle of the city. Disappointing that studio rooms do not include breakfast and requirement to pay for rooms with cash.

2  Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 306 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

Exactly what I wanted: quiet, clean room with all the basics (great shower, AC, wifi) with a very kind and helpful front desk staff. Off the beaten path in a safe, clean neighborhood (this is a relief from the relentless crowds of Venice) but still only a 20 min walk to the train station / Piazza Romale, 25-30 min to San Marco. Breakfast had cold cuts, breads, boiled eggs, juice, fruit, and cappucino. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driftinhilikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Thanks to our friendly hostess;Diana, we had spent a very pleasant stay in Ca'Fontanea. Clean, nice room, good breakfast, and so quiet! In a really nice neigbourhood, near all interesting place in Venice. We recommand this hotel.

Room Tip: quiet, nice, good breakfast,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Absolutely brilliant experience staying at Hotel Ca' Fontanea, located in a great area of Venice away from all of the tourist parts, easily reachable on foot through a short walk (10 minutes) from the train station. The room was of excellent quality and the staff were tremendously accommodating, polite and courteous. In addition the value for the price of a room was outstanding, so all in all we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

Kind Regards,

James & Emily

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesFCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the carriage fontana! Venice can be extremely busy and this hotel just outside of the centre was a perfect escape from it all when you are tired of battling through the crowds. There are some great restaurants nearby too. The receptionist was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and she gave us so much advice. Breakfast was lovely Compared to some of the places we stayed in Italy for the same price. I couldn't fault this place one bit it was just perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James10142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We reserved a double room but ended up getting upgraded to a second floor apartment when we arrived. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the apartment was nice, with a private balcony and many amenities we didn't really take advantage of since we were only in the city for 24 hours and were either out and about or sleeping. The hotel is about 30 minutes walk from the main square and cathedral, but only a 15 minute walk from the train station where we arrived. If you don't mind a walk, it's a great quiet, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thearsroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Ca' Fontanea. It is a bit of a walk (where isn't in Venice) about 15 minutes from the train station - they gave us great directions. You can also take the Vaporetto (water bus) to get you closer. Our room was clean, the air conditioning was great (we needed it) and it is quiet. Venice is a very busy place so we appreciated that this hotel was a bit out of the way for some quiet. Breakfast was very basic. Will stay again - in fact we are after our cruise in a week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bobzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#103 of 387 in Venice
586 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#124 of 387 in Venice
451 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#208 of 387 in Venice
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#190 of 387 in Venice
386 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#200 of 387 in Venice
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Fontanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Fontanea

Address: Cannaregio 786 | Campiello de le Beccarie, 30100 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#61 Family Hotel in Venice
#84 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $60 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ca' Fontanea 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca'Fontanea is located in a quite area of Cannaregio near Strada Nova, Rio Terà San Leonardo where there are local markets, shops and boutiques.Quite near a lot of point of interest as Rialto Bridge, Ca'Vendramin Calergi Palace ( where there is Casino), the ancient Jewish Ghetto, and Madonna dell'Orto Church.A short step there is the water bus stop that permise to reach the other island in few minutes. Ca'Fontanea has been recently renovated and rooms are comfortable, bright and spacious offer modern services and all have private services. Wireless connection are free and breakfast buffet too.A multilingual staff are available during the day to give information and assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ca' Fontanea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Fontanea Venice
Ca Fontanea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing