We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza
Ranked #416 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 5, 2013

As usual I will give a totally honest report and this has more bad points than good unfortunately.
The good:
Excellent location, five mins walk to the water bus, taxi, and train station and about 8 mins to the bus station that services the airport. The reception staff were very helpful, very friendly and spoke excellent English. The rooms were cleaned to a very good standard daily and the hotel itself was clean.
The bad:
Breakfast is 8 - 9.30, offering one cereal, pastries, bread, cheese, plain yogurt and hard boiled eggs, there is a sign saying they will make scrambled eggs on request but when asked she said no!!.... IF you go down after 9 very little is left and they will not put any more out, there were a few of us that asked and were told "no more" so we only had bread and yogurt and it was only five past nine.
Our room, well what can I say, it was dire, see attached photos. Very tired and in very bad need of decoration, very old and grubby, though it was clean. If it were based on this room I would give it 1 star, the hair drier didn't work, the bathroom light didn't work, there was polystyrene filling the hole in the window, we had two threadbare hand towels only, the light was coming away from the ceiling and as for the damp on the walls!!!!!! Luckily our shower leaked ALL over the floor so we asked to change rooms. Oddly they don't delegate rooms at the actual hotel it goes through a booking system by phone so we had to wait for an answer, after they inspected our shower.
Luckily we did get to change rooms to another floor and it was like another hotel, unbelievable we had gone up to 3 stars, carpet in the corridor, pictures on the walls instead of grubby marks we even had bath towels.
All I can think of is that there must be different room rates depending on who you book with and what you pay, it really is so different on the two floors.

The whole hotel is dated and tired looking and badly needs money spending on decoration, I would give it a one star for our first room, a two for our second room and breakfast and three for it's location.
Would I recommend it, yes for location but I would hate anyone to have our first room!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinks186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review with Tripadvisor's readers and with us.
Thanks still for your compliments on the staff, the thorough cleaning of the facility, and to have underlined, you as many others, the hotel's very good location, notable for comfort and quiet.
Now, the flaws: we promise to improve on those aspects you report us, and we are really sorry you have been here in the only day when were finished the eggs, even after an exceptional request of them.
But, as you noticed too, we sell different types of rooms with different prices: if you buy one of the cheapest rooms, you can't demand the quality of the most expensive (as you have seen as since you have moved from one to the other).
We want to end inviting you, after reading what you have written, rather to stay at the Hotel Basilea (the building in front of the dependancy), which seems more suited to your expectations.
Wishing you to visit Venice again (we see you loved it), we send you Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel location is amazing, 3 min away of the train station, the stuff is very friendly specially a french person at the counter.
However, the hotel amenities are old , the room was not very delightful or relaxing... no internet...
The breakfast quantity was not enough for the whole guest despite that the girl working i z kitchen was very helpful.
I guess the hotel as a 2 stars hotel is fair despite that the price is exagerated
Not too sure if i come back again but as i said it is fair for a 2 star hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choufani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
We felt great bitterness while reading of your stay and because of your so severe vote about our facility.
Since you have stayed here some time ago, we inform you that the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza was subjected to an adjustement, for the satisfaction of its customers (and to put remedy also those flaws which you referred to).
Actually, we offer the possibility of using the wi-fi, which is working in the Hotel Basilea hall (and where are available for the guests two fixed internet emplacements).
Finally, a suggestion: if you want taking the breakfast at the last moment, it could imply, as happened to you, a deficit of fresh products (like bread or brioches), and theit offer couldn't be complete.
However, we'll be glad to host you again at our hotel, sure to improve the bad vote you assigned us.
Greetings.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel, if you could even call it that, didn't even have wifi. For what we were paying, we had no internet access, literally one outlet in the entire room, and no breakfast. Don't know about other Venetian hotels/hostels, but this one was not very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
We read with disappointment your review, and we would like to answer it.
We remind you that you have booked an "economy twin room shared bathroom not breakfast included", payment of 52,20 euro per night. We specify that you have stayed on Saturday and in April, so on high season. On the website moreover was indicated with accuracy that the breakfast wasn't included in that offer, and in the description was indicated as a simple and economic stay solution
About the wi-fi, it isn't truly in the room: but in the hotel hall there are two fixed emplacements with internet access (for a fee).
After have seen your expectations, next time we suggest you to opt for a different solution, and particularly to pay more attention on what you buy, not looking only at the price.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has an amazing location. There is nothing that is too far from this hotel. The rooms aren't bad and the beds are clean. The shower didn't contain water very well and the bathroom floor was soaked for the majority of the stay. Water pressure was great though. Price was about right, no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Basilea Dipendenza. We truly appreciate your comment concerning the amazing location where the Hotel is situated. We may offer you our apologies for the uneasy: we assure you that the problem with the bathroom is resolved now. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in the hotel 3nights in December and unfortunately had a very unpleasant experience. In the description they forgot to mention that some of the rooms don’t have a heating in the bathrooms and concrete flooring in the room. It is incredibly cold and bathroom has a very bad smell due to dampness. We kindly asked to change the room and management refused to do so although they had spare rooms. Additional payment of 40EUR has been requested. In addition to that heating was switched off at 1am and they would put it on in the morning only. IN DECEMBER!!!!! Endless requests to keep it on all night were ignored. There was also a shortage of blankets as all of the guests were freezing and asked for an extra one. As a result we all came back with a terrible cold. I travel a lot and this is first time I’ve seen such a careless management. I would advise everyone NOT TO BOOK THIS HOTEL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Customer,
We read your review with disappointment. If what you say it's true, what happened was an unfortunate episode which we keep in mind: it is customary of the hotel to switch off the heating at a certain hour of the night, and this method has never presented any discomfort (because the heating will switch on again just a few hours later, so the rooms don't get too cold).
The humidity: it's everywhere in Venice (because it's a city surrounded by the water), and it afflicting all the palaces and houses (not only the bathroom of your room).
It's an exceptional case that concerning the number of blankets, always more than enough to the request.
We are sorry that for the experience you told, you have given a feedback so negative on the facility, but we don't feel absolutely reflected by this your kind of comment, and we are completely convinced that we can demonstrate the contrary.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The price is too high for this hotel all I can say is the position I good but the room very basic 3 tv channels and the bathroom pretty disgusting, the WAC seat fell off every time the shower was held up by a prayer and the shower head shot water everywhere. Tiles broken and badly on need of a good clean. However the rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels, shampoo and soap is provided. Muesli, pastries, bread, eggs available for breakfast. Staff great unless something goes weong them they just laugh in your face and do not bother. My sisters room was in the annexe or cell block h with shared bathroom this was absolutely disgusting and should not be available to book as you would not expect to be given a room like this with an air con unit balanced on the coffee table. This was over gbp100 per night so absolutely not acceptable. I would rather not go to Venice of I had to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea Dipendenza, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
We want first to remember that the Hotel Basilea Dependancy (where your sisters have stayed) has a classification of two stars category (instead the Hotel basilea has three).
The problems you have underlined were resolved after the adjustment of the central building and the dependancy: however, we recommend to book at the Hotel Basilea if you have certain expectations.
The shared bathroom solution involves two rooms in the dependancy: if someone have troubles to share it, this could be also private both in the dependancy as in the central building, just with a little cost more (and we guarantee the absolute cleanness); it's just a suggestion to better satisfy your requests.
At the end, we apologize for the attitude of our staff in this situation: we assure you that it was just a case, and this fact will not happen anymore.
Now the hotel was adjusted, so we hope on a your possible come back as our guest.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea Dipendenza.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Venice is such a hard place to find a good bed unless you loosen the purse strings. We had a long trip to Italy including Milano, Verona and Venice, the last being the most trying when searching for a nice hotel. Venice its self is an amazing place, a long weekend is plenty. You will find alot of the hotels here have the same sort of decore, which hasnt changed for years but I would recommend paying the extra for a nicer hotel than we did, so aim at about the £150 pn mark. The Basilea was located a short distance from the train station and equal distance from the action of Venice, so in that respect it was good. In terms of the inside, as already stated the decor of the hotel was old school, and so was our room. The bathroom was small, and in need of a refurb, with a few hairs hanging around the towels and shower tray. The bed linen gave us a few shivers with its floral pattern. Breakfast was another disappointment, offered only scrambled egg, scrambled egg or scrambled egg, with nothing else. Dont be miss lead by the pastries on the pictures. So all in all staying for b&b wasnt great.
The city of Venice on the other hand was. Lots of walking and exploring. take one of the river buses rather than the actual black long boats, same views without the songs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doah2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#256 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#291 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,900 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basilea Dipendenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea Dipendenza

Address: Rio Marin 804 B, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Basilea Dipendenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing