We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The service makes you blush.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot de Venise

Bistrot de Venise
Reserve with
Bistrot de Venise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,363 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $72 - $130
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Bistrot de Venise first opened in 1993 and has since become a hangout and meeting place where the figurative arts, poetry and culture combine, simply, with Food and Wine....1999 saw the start of our research into Rare Wines and Historical Venetian Cuisine, strengthening our concept of applying culture to local and regional Gastronomy and Wine. ...our hard work still continues today... Gastronomy & Wine…extensive research on the history of venetian Cuisine and Wines, from its noble origins to the present time. The Historic & Renaissance Venetian Cuisine revised and suggested by our Chef Mario Missese and his young team. Our House, unique in town, offer a gastronomic trip back to the past glories of Venice following its history & tradition. ”Award winning” wine list, for the quality and variety of the selected rare wines from the Veneto Region and the North-East of Italy. Professional wine tasting (free) all year round. "..exciting Wine List" .. (see Michelin Guide 2012) specialized in the research of many Rare Wines, a truly unique selection purchased directly from small producers with the help of Istituto Sperimentale di Viticoltura di Conegliano. More than 60 options by the glass and a wide selection of the most prestigious italian vineyards. Prized Wine List by Italian Sommelier Association for best 15 in the Veneto Region at Vinitaly 2010.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The service makes you blush.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place by chance through a package deal with one of the local theaters.
It turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. The food quality was amazing. the staff was exceptionally cohesive.
They worked together like a choreographed act. Unforgettable. I even went as far as taking a picture of my food...who knows, might post it on Facebook.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BertinaBUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,376
    505
    156
    87
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Attentive service and fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were immensely pleased by our dinner at Bistrot de Venise. We chose items from the sampling menu, ably assisted by our captain/waiter, Walter (who speaks 6 languages). We were pleasantly surprised that the food was less expensive than we had feared. The staff was very attentive, from the wine steward to the bus boys. The delicate flavors emerged fully from these traditional Venetian dishes. We recommend it highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Our best eating experience in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had dinner there on May 2, first night in Venice, first night in Italy, and it set the standard for ristorantes to come. As soon as we were seated (and they knew us immediately when we arrived because we had a reservation?), Vivaldi's Four Season's (Autumn) began playing. It was if it was timed! My husband is not an adventurous eater (though Italian) but he was delighted with the food and the wine choices. Walter, our server, was witty and professional and extremely knowledgable and helpful in selecting entrees and wines. Tom had a ravioli dish that they specialized for him, and I had the "Carbonara" with Scampi (26 Euros). Plenty of breads (of course) and salad. We chose the tiramisu as it (arguably) originated in Venice and it was better than any I had eaten before but I'm not real keen on tiramisu anyway. We were also served dessert wines and canapes. Wonderful experience and we have talked about this experience often. RECOMMENDED! (Menu is available online)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Constance F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Splendid, formal meal in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a more formal restaurant than many in Venice with lovely food and knowledgeable staff.
The food was delicious (the black ink cuttlefish first course was massive) and the atmosphere and service were impeccable.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“With the tide rise we had an amazing meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We like to eat at exceptional places and Bistrot de Venice certainly met that criteria. The food was great, and the service was impeccable. It was a perfect way to end the first day at a wonderful city.
If you go there say hi to Sergio

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geofyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de Venise also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bistrot de Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing