We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic”

L'Osteria di Santa Marina
Ranked #145 of 1,708 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been here repeatedly in the last 11 years, the quality of the food is consistently high, Venice cuisine with a twist, this time a selection from the a la carte menu, maily because I wanted to have the scallop and foie gras carpaccio. The service was friendly and polite, with good wine recommendations .

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank swiss-busybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2019 via mobile

The best in the whole Venice
For two or more , great occasion to celebrate unique events.
Better to go booked

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Alaleh_helala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019

We visited based on reviews and were not disappointed. The tasting menu looked fantastic but we opted for the a la carte. My husband (who loves fish) raved about the salted cod and sardines starter and my aubergine (eggplant) parmesan was intensely flavourful. We both had the fillet of beef - which literally melted in our mouths. The staff were super helpful, professional and friendly, up to and including the lovely owner, Danilo. They also threw in an amuse bouche and a palate cleanser. And the bread was the reason I couldn’t manage to eat a pudding ☺️ If you love food, do yourself a favour and make a booking here.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

The restaurant was recommended by a friend who had lived in Venice for a year and then again by the owners of the apartment we were staying in; with a double recommendation, we felt like we had to go. We had the five-course tasting menu, which was supplemented with what the waiter described as little surprises from the chef. The food was inventive, beautiful, and delicious. The service was professional but also warm. (Sometimes places with tasting menus can be a little cold or intimidating; this was entirely comfortable.) We ate outside, which was lovely. It's a nice neighborhood--a charming campo--and the fun shoes and haircuts on people passing by were part of the appeal. Our favorite dinner in Venice.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fordycessermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

We had walked for what felt like miles, avoiding a lot of tourist trap restaurants in hope of finding something special, only to find this one only a few doors from our hotel. We hadn’t booked and there were sadly no tables outside, the staff came across a little rude initially... saying there was no room and if we didn’t want to wait there were other places...! But we happily waited and were given a table inside within a few minutes and were glad we stayed. The staff were rushing around very busy so their initial dismissive attitude was forgiven.
The food was a little expensive but delicious and worth the price.
We had the beef ragu pasta and fillet steak both were very good.
We were given lovely breads and an unexpected first course from the chef and then a pineapple sorbet before dessert which was divine.
The little pastries afterwards were also a nice touch too.
The service improved throughout the dining and they were very attentive. I would definitely eat here again but I would book ahead.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Booraj_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Santa Marina also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to L'Osteria di Santa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing