We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressed”

L'Osteria di Santa Marina
Ranked #61 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I did a lot of research to pick a nice place for my husbands birthday dinner in Venice. Unfortunately this place just wasn't as quaint in person (the lighting I. the room we were in looked like it was from IKEA and too bright). the waiter was brusque and aggressive and gave the impression that we should be trying to impress him rather than the reverse. Our meal was not particularly good--average we all thought. I would never go back here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    674
    244
    72
    25
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little gem in Venice”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We booked this restaurant for a friend's birthday .We couldn't have made a better choice ; this restaurant has it all! Location : tucked away in one of the most pictoresque corner of Venice away from noisy crowds.
Atmosphere : typical Italian "trattoria " but with very classy and elegant furnishings and pleasently quirky details .
Food: just amazing! Based on the typical ingredients of the region but with a twist of modern fine dining, without being too pretentious or unnecessarily complicated. Tasty and delicate flavour combinations (venison with caramelised onion recommended), plate presentation : a delight for the eyes. wine list: extensive selection and very wide price range
Service: spot on and very friendly
,professional waiters who
attentively take you through the whole dining experience.

They also offer little pre-appetiser and pre-dessert ,whilst waiting with the compliments of the house .

Value for money : excellent . Prices are obviously higher than an average meal(70 euros for 3 course and wine ) but worth every single penny

Tip for dessert :go for dark chocolate "Mille foglie" ...something to die for!

Without any exageration , this was one of the best dining experience I've had in years, do your taste buds a favour: book it if you are I'm Venice

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giocri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinque Terre, Italy
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a truly wonderful dinner here. The staff suggested some great wines for us, and the food was spectacular. They let us linger and have a long, romantic dinner that was perfect for our last night in Venice. It was also completely filled with locals.
With respect to the quality of the dishes served, the prices were perfectly aligned. I do think this is one of the best dining experiences in Venice- and one of the best I've had in a long time. Despite what many say about Venice being a city where you can't eat well, this restaurant proves them wrong hands down.
Insomma, e un ristorante da non perdere...complementi!

Helpful?
Thank cm28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but not the best in Venice”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked dinner well in advance on the recommendation of a friend who had recently eaten there. The restaurant is tastefully decorated in traditional Italian style and is very comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the service was quick. We ordered the Autumn tasting menu which was i think 7 small courses. The food was very good in parts, but some courses were not as good as others. However we felt rushed during the meal with each course arriving on the table in very quick succession.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unexpected delight”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

just arrived in Venice and we came across this restaurant just round the corner from our hotel. ~Went in for lunch and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and presentation of the dishes. Although a bit expensive for lunch, well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneLQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Santa Marina also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to L'Osteria di Santa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing