We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly Disappointing”

Osteria Al Mascaron
Ranked #400 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castello
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Shockingly Disappointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Was looking forward to this visit since i arrived in Venice. I did a bit of research and saw many recommendations pointing to this place as a great local Venetian foodie experience. DISAPPOINTINGLY, if mediocre food, poor service and being un-honestly overcharged a Venetian food experience, then Mascaron has it in spades.

If you attempt a dinner here, watch for poor service (in particularly a the tall middle aged bald waiter), uncomfortable sitting arrangements and an incredibly outrageous check and the bill will be completely deceiving based off their menu (they will try to over charge your bill, double check you receipt!).

best of luck to any who attempts not to get swindled.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    302
    144
    84
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely never again”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went to dinner tonight on the sort of recommendation of Anthony Bourdain (;)) To start, it's pretty hard to find and we tried to make it in time for lunch, but unfortunately arrived 15 minutes BEFORE closing and were denied with an offhanded swoop from a 'younger' bald headed waiter. We were still keen to give it a try or dinner as we both wanted to experience a typical Venetian meal. The place was packed when we arrived (good sign) and we were found a table still (great sign). Unfortunately that's where the hospitality ended. Our waiter was an absolute D-bag (same guy from lunch we'd ran into). The food was fine, probably the best we'd had in Venice, however that's not really saying much. When we got our bill we realized that we'd been charged the typical 'tourist' tax that you hear about so much here. For example, our first course was sauteed shrimp and tomatoes. I would say maximum about 15 VERY small scampi in shell - that was 50 USD. Our plate of pasta to finish was of tomatoes and about an ounce of crab meat - that cost us 60 USD. I can say it was the second worst plate of pasta we had in our trip here so far.

At the end of the day, my suggestion would be to skip this place entirely unless you're keen to be overcharged for dry pasta and under appreciated for your patronage. @anthonybourdain, you really shouldn't tie your name to places like this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambera c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had just spent a couple of hours in at the Alta Acqua Libreria just around the corner so we were hungry. The restaurant is small and i imagine quite cosy when busy but the chat between people was very helpful. We had the spaghetti alls frutti di mar, house white wine followed by the Tiramisu. The pasta was cooked to perfection and the ingredients were very fresh (there was plenty shrimp, clams and mussels although not all the clams opened so we left them) , the waiter told us there were no canned products in the cooking and I believe him. I do not normally drink white wine let alone at lunch time but the one litre carafe was easily consumed. The Tiramisu was delightful though could have been balanced with a few more ladyfingers however the rest was extremely fresh. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gascati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“True Venetian Gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for great authentic Venetian fare in a casual setting without tourists looking for French fries then this is the place for you. The seafood grilled platter was fantastic. The pasta dishes simply delicious , fresh and plentiful . We felt that the service was great . Our waiter was very attentive. The practice of seating others at your table is not unusual in Europe . I have also seen this in the USA as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank T2DaMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Very Good, will come back tomorrow for dinner.
Good suggestion for the choices of food by Bepi.
We all enjoy all of the food here. The atmosphere is also great with funny fish-related hand-drawn pictures.


Helpful?
Thank Sutan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Mascaron also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Mascaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing