We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”

Osteria Al Mascaron
Ranked #408 of 1,449 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castello
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Like it's sister the Mascareta, the Mascaron has food to die for - although the atmosphere is less inviting, and one is less inclined to stay all night to get ratted.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bunnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    321
    153
    90
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“victim of own success”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Finally visited this storied bar. Got a table after a one hour "cinque" minuti wait, in which we were not alone. The owner graciously served up aglass of wine to everyone queing outside, but people with reservation gave up and left. After a half hour trying to order watching the (expensive) antipasti disappear,we did too

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank paisano42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Genuine Venice”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to eat here based on a recommendation from Rick Steve’s book. This place was exactly as he described it and was exactly what I would expect from a local favorite. It is clear when you walk up that this place is popular, we had a reservation but waited in the crowded restaurant for the owner to call us over to an open table, we waited a while but we felt that it was well worth it and watching the busy owner and his staff run around the restaurant serving all the patrons is very entertaining. The food was delightful but more than anything I just loved the experience! We will be stopping here again the next time we are in Venice!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Loved it....went twice in a week.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We found this genuine local restaurant in our tour book and loved it. We have been there twice this week. The first night We arrived early (7:00) and were seated promptly, however there was a throng of locals who followed us in and by 7:15 there was a line waiting to be seated. The second night we arrived at about 8:30, figuring we would miss the rush and we did. The place is very small and tables are tight, but we love the place. The food is terrific and the owners and staff made us feel very welcomed. Both nights we had some of their house red wine, followed by the antipasti dish (fish for me and vegetable for my wife). They are amazing...especially the fish. A wonderful assortment of local flavors that I highly recommend. We both shared a seafood pasta dish, clams the first night and a varied seafood pasta dish the second....again, both meals were great. Sharing a pasta dish is plenty of food for two people, served hot and with great service. We shared the tiramisu the second night which was delicious and a good sized portion. We capped off with some limoncello both nights...a perfect evening both nights. Find this place, you will love it.

Helpful?
Thank Chathamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood dishes”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Tried this restaurant based on Rick Steves' book. We came on a Friday night, right at 8:30pm.
Service: There was already another couple waiting outside for a table. Went in and told the waiter we would like a table. Since the place is small, there is no waiting area inside so we hung outside. Some other groups came and went in and got a table. I soon went inside and flagged down the server who then told me he forgot about us and the other couple. After that, we got seated right away.
Food: Our server spoke some English so he was able to explain the dishes to us. My husband had the seabass and I had the lobster pasta. Both were good but I must say the pasta only had two pcs of lobster. It was mostly lobster shells.
Ambiance: since the place is small, it's very noisy and you can hear everyone's conversation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Mascaron also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Mascaron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing