We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostaria da Franz

Hostaria da Franz
Ranked #210 of 1,376 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $66 - $106
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Castello
chicago
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Very fresh. Great service. Good food. Recommended by friends. Only reason for 4 rating is the price. They served us an appetizer for 4 people (2 of which were teenage girls) that cost $160. This was the owners recommendation so we said yes trusting his suggestion. The final bill with an excellent bottle of wine was about $400. I don't mind that, but the fact that the appetizer was 160 of the 400 gets one rating star knocked off.

Helpful?
Thank jefflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mry69, Proprietario at Hostaria da Franz, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you again for you r kind visit to our restaurant.
I just need to notice you that probably you misunderstood the price paid you are talking about with another restaurant. Our appetizer prices are around 19,00 euros, you had a selections of typical venetians recipes consisting 6 plates. Cost 28,00 pp total 112,00 euros not 160,00. Than about your daughters when having a course there's not a special price because teenagers.With your bottle of Brunello di Montalcino Antinori (89,00 euros) pasta, main corse and one dessert your bill was 330,50 and not 400,00 (check your credit card receive).. Anyway just for the navigators using TA if you have to write prices you should be very careful, the risk is to damage a restaurant or an hotel.
with my best regards
Maurizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    77
    31
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We loved our experience. It was our first night in Venice. We loved how there was no menu. It was what was caught that day and the freshest ingredients. We trusted everything that was recommended. It was beautiful, special and delicious! Best dinner in Venice! We took our two teenage children and they loved it and were very accommodating to their culinary pallette.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cgit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First and best tasting experience in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

The service was five stars. No menu, just a tasting of the best quality seafood. The staff listened to our peferences but allowed us to enjoy new experiences. Atmosphere was romantic but indoors. Bill was expensive but worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Finest Venetian Seafood at Da Franz!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My husband and I were referred to this wonderful restaurant by the kind concierge, Gabriel, at the Best Western not far from here. We stumbled into this hotel, as we got lost scoping out Oliva Nera, and Gabriel gave us directions there, but he also told us about Da Franz. How grateful we were to him! This place is a real find, and while it is in a secluded ally, it's worth tracking down, not far from the Santa Maria Della Pieta Church. Maurizio is a prince of a man, and so dedicated to his beautiful, newly renovated, restaurant, and to making sure you enjoy the very best Venetian Seafood. He describes the local food he offers in detail, remembers your order without writing anything down, and the food is mostly culled from local sources, and is simply amazing! I enjoyed a local Venetian fish, that was so delicate and delicious. My husband had oysters and a sea bass, which he throughly enjoyed. The wine list was varied and we picked a lovely, local Venetian red blend. Desert was a delicious, homemade ice cream, which we also savored. True, this restaurant is NOT CHEAP, but the really good places in Venice aren't, so leave the calculator behind, and ENJOY YOUR EXPERIENCE AT DA FRANZ!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SisterMoon_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

On recommendation from hotel concierge we had dinner here last night. I don't mind paying up for a good meal, but they didn't deliver to my standards for the price I paid. I think there are much better restaurants in Venice.

If you are in Venice for a while I would say try this place for lunch. Skip dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LeGaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria da Franz also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Hostaria da Franz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing