We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #469 of 1,409 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Marco
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Two of the famous Bellini drinks were 36.50 euros but very good. Since my husband is a Hemingway fan this was not an experience to be missed

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 87lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    386
    364
    254
    340
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

the food ok but over price, one course around 70 euro, but really famous place, so go for a drink not the food.
Booking from long time, a bit hard to get a table in last minute

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but a must!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Be prepared to pay!!! this bar/ restaurant is 5 Mins from St Marks Sqr and is expensive but a must do whilst in Venice. Owned by the infamous Cipprianni family, the bar is very plain, simple and has an old fashioned Mafiosa feel to it, the staff are excellently presented in white dinner jackets and bow ties and the Vodka Martinis have got to be the best around made with quality vodka and vermouth but know before you go, this aint gonna be cheap. Though you get the olives for free!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
502 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dinner with Friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've met friends of ours in Venice for the past several years. They like to eat at Harry's. The place is extremely overpriced for the food and drinks you get, but that's Venice in general. The food and service has always been good. The atmosphere is bland and snooty. It's more about the hype of this place of past famous patrons. We did have good meals every time we go. I think what makes this place fun for us is the chance to unite with friends we see only once a year. Bottom line is that it is way overpriced, but you are in Venice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not worth the expense”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My friends and I were meeting in Venice for the day so we decided to have lunch at Harry's Bar. I would be understating it if said we were underwhelmed by the food and totally overwhelmed by the prices! We asked the waiter for recommendations and ordered accordingly but I have to say that I have eaten better food in an American diner for 1/20th of the price. My advise would be to go in and have an overpriced drink if you want the experience but think twice about about ordering food as there are much better places to eat. One last thing--don't bother with the 18 euro Bellini, they may have invented it but that is about it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing