We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style. Glamour. Romance.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #21 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon and it certainly lived up to our expectations - beautiful building, stylishly decorated, darkly glamorous. We found the staff to be friendly, approachable and informative. We stayed in the Junior Grand Canal Suite which was spacious, comfortable and with wonderful views. We had breakfast each morning on the balcony overlooking the canal - breakfast was plentiful with a good choice and great coffee. The hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance of Piazzo San Marco, the station, the northern quarter and so on. Other reviewers have commentated on the difficulty of finding the hotel's entrance from the street, however, we did not find this to be a problem. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others, especially those looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PixieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 633 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The private water taxi arrival set the tone for our luxurious, relaxing stay in Venice. The staff was incredibly accommodating, the amenities were top notch and it was wonderful to feel at home at this hotel. The staff found the perfect balance where they provided great service but also left us alone to relax and enjoy the private hotel bar and lounge areas. It was the perfect way to start our 20 year anniversary celebrations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front corner room and had amazing views of the grand canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I don't normally write reviews, but for this hotel I wanted to make an exception. I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights to celebrate my 26th birthday. We travelled from Edinburgh. I booked some great flights with Jet2, then searched endlessly for the perfect hotel - I found it.
This hotel is gorgeous - total luxury - from the bedding to the tv in the mirror. Definetely makes brushing your teeth more interesting :) My Venice guide books lists this as the 2nd Splurge hotel in Venice.
The location is fantastic, and like others we had the water taxi private transfer.. this is like a mini tour before you even get there! The staff were amazing, we got checked in 2 hours early. and sat and drank prosseco on the lovely balcony.. with crisps and olives. We had a gorgeous view in room 3, and although we seen other guests, it felt like the whole place was ours as it was always so peaceful.The breakfast was fabulous and all included..sets you up for the day ahead. There are comments about the back entrance to a hotel, yes it's a narrow 'corrider' but walking around Venice, you notice that this is the norm. All in all this was everyhing I hoped for and more. Thank you x

Room Tip: Room 3 was perfect, although Room 1 has 3 windows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XxMiss_LTxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days in May with my wife in room 14. Superb location - quiet but not far away at all from the hustle and bustle of Rialto. The room was very nice, spacious and dark at nighttime with a nice view of side canal just off the grand canal. However the room had a small amount of ants in the cupboard but we did not make a fuss. The other small issue was the lighting in the cupboard that took us ages to work out how to turn off. Breakfast is plentiful with ham fruit rolls coffee and pastries. One final downside was the lack of an iron and when we asked reception we were told that the hotel policy was not to give out irons to guests!!

Overall a nice hotel but given the price we paid to stay there for 3 nights I am still undecided whether it was value for Money

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrewbru2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for five wonderful days here.
Private water taxi from airport and return journey made for a seamless transfer and well worth the extra cost. The hotel will arrange this and the guide meeting and greeting you as part of the service is a wealth of information for your forthcoming stay.
The hotel is everything you would expect from the website and the location could not be better for getting around the city. The staff throughout are attentive and thoughtful without being intrusive. Special thanks to Alex on the bar for keeping our favourite drinks on supply. We were celebrating two special birthdays whilst there and the reception staff kindly suggested the most amazing water side terrace restaurant for that special evening meal with magnificent views across the bay to St Mark's.
Everything was as expected and then some...I can without hesitation recommend this hotel. The whole experience certainly added to our overall enjoyment of Venice.

Room Tip: Go for a first floor room towards the front of the hotel if possible, e.g. 11 and 12. These are prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arlers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you email the hotel they will arrange a water taxi to collect you from the airport - 110euros each way, 120euros if you want a car taxi from the airport to where the water taxis are (it's about a 5-10 min walk). They also offer a 'limousine' service whereby someone meets you at the airport & takes you to the boats & goes with you to the hotel. This was 280euros for the round trip so we decided to splurge & go for it (as it would be 240 euros for the taxi/boat combo anyway). A nice lady met us at arrivals & led us to the water taxi - we still had to walk & deal with our own luggage, which I had thought was included, and it was just a normal water taxi. She then talked to us a bit on the way to the hotel & gave us a glass of prosecco. Obviously she's not there on the way back. So on balance I'd recommend going for the normal water taxi at 220 euros if you can afford it because it's so lovely arriving in style down the Grand Canal, but it's not worth the extra 60 for the limousine!
The hotel was lovely, just as most of the reviewers have said. Yes it's dark, & a nightmare to take photos that do the rooms justice, but it wasn't a problem. We'd gone for a suite on the Grand Canal, which was on the Ground Floor (room 7) & it was amazing to throw the window open & sit on the chaise longue watching the boats go by. It was much quieter that I expected too. The bed was really hard which wasn't to our taste but that's about the only complaint. Breakfast was delicious & huge - beautiful fruit platter, ham & cheese, hot (if you're early) bread rolls, & fresh pastries.
The back door was right by our room & it is a long narrow dark alleyway to get out with a couple of turns, but that just added to the charm.
We were lucky with the bar balcony & managed to get some time on it every day we were there - after a day of walking miles around Venice, sitting with a cocktail (12 euros each but very nice) on that balcony watching the Grand Canal was perfect. It's just a shame they only have one!
We tried a couple of the hotel-recommended restaurants - Patatina just round the corner, which was really nice (although quite low on the Trip Advisor ratings) and the Impronta Cafe which was lovely & a bit different - orange gnocchi with duck to start, and the panna cotta & creme brulee for dessert were all divine.
All in all we had a fab time & were delighted with the hotel. It wasn't cheap but worth it for the location alone - on the Grand Canal but just far away from the really busy touristy areas.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor seemed to be straight off the bar/breakfast area which was a bit odd. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I adored my surprise trip to Venice and this amazing hotel really made the trip all the more special (especially as we got engaged here!). We arrived by private water taxi to it's entrance on the Grand Canal which was a truly special way to start a holiday (if somewhat pricey!), so special that we decided it was also the only way to leave Venice. The hotel is stunning, every detail has been beautifully thought through, the staff are incredibly helpful (they can even arranged a free private water taxi to Murano for us to see the glass factories) and the breakfast is truly fantastic. The location is also perfect for exploring every area of Venice though trying to remember the alley for the back entrance of the hotel can be tricky at night, but that's part of the fun of Venice! Being right on the grand canal we did find the room a bit noisy in the morning from all of the boats but it was remarkably quiet and peaceful at night. All in all, one hell of a trip and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dory50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $244 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing