We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lorenzo is a fantastic host at this gem with great location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ai Tagliapietra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ai Tagliapietra
Ranked #51 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lorenzo is a fantastic host at this gem with great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011. Our first time in Venice and could not have picked a better place. The airline lost my husbands luggage and we were at a loss on how to get a new set of clothes for him on the budget the airline gave us. As you can imagine there are mainly designer shops in the main part of Venice. Lorenzo knew the best places to go for "normal" everyday clothes. The room we had was very clean and the bed comfortable. The chocolate scones in the morning were fantastic and my husband loved the blood orange juice! I really can't say enough about how wonderful this B&B is. Book early because the word is out!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    62
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
318
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent two nights here in early winter and was the only guest, as it was off season. The B&B is more like a flat than a hotel, since it has several rooms off a common living area/kitchen. My room was very quiet; the alley/courtyard outside the window has very little traffic. The B&B is not boutique hotel fancy, but my room was very clean and large and had a private bathroom in the hall, separated from the common area. I didn't take advantage of it, but hot tea was available at all times in the kitchen, and the rate includes a simple Italian breakfast (juice, coffee, rolls/pastries).

Lorenzo was as accommodating as all the other reviews indicate. He offered to pick me up at the vaporetto stop, but I couldn't figure out how to send international texts, so I ended up wandering around looking for the B&B (and actually finding it, but it has no sign, so I assumed I'd gotten the address wrong). Venetians must be used to people getting lost, because the friendly host at a nearby restaurant used his Italian cell phone to call Lorenzo, who then came and fetched me.

Lorenzo keeps the B&B stocked with guidebooks and maps that you can borrow; he is also available to answer any questions, but he won't pester you with recommendations if you don't want them. He did recommend a couple restaurants, and the one I tried was great - hidden in plain sight down an alley just steps away from Rialto Bridge, it was very good and reasonable and had more locals than tourists. In fact, it was incredibly easy to get away from the crowds by just turning down any quiet street/alley, where there are lovely local bars, restaurants and shops to be discovered - you might get lost, but it's an island, so you can't get too far!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I can only repeat the positive comments by the other reviewers. I stayed for three nights and since it was off season, for the first two nights I was the only person at the lovely B&B, and so it was absolutely quiet. The only noise comes from people walking by in the little street. For noise sensitive people, ear plugs block that out too. Lorenzo is a wonderful host and thinks of everything, even printing my boarding pass for my return flight and borrowing me rubber boots during the acqua alta. His restaurant recommendations are good, especially Da Mamo. I can also recommend Al Mascaron, but ask which wines they have because I was not happy with the house wine. I would definitely stay at Al Tagliapietra again. The location and service are wonderful. Thank you Lorenzo, you are a gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieVercammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

What convinced me to stay at Ai Tagliapietra were all the gleaming reviews about the host, Lorenzo. Staying at his B&B only confirmed that everything that was said about him and his place were indeed true! Even before I got to Venice, he contacted me to make sure he'd meet me at San Zacarria the moment I get off the water bus. So even if I was traveling by myself, my anxieties were quelled because Lorenzo promptly met me at the water bus stop, helped me with my luggage as we made our way to through the labyrinthine streets of Venice. He also provided me very helpful tips on places to visit, yummy restos to try (right outside his door!) and helped me book (and get a good deal!) my train to Rome. Breakfast was simple but delicious. Loved the warm and flaky apricot-filled croissant and the two cups of espresso Lorenzo would always serve me in the morning - just the right combination to get me started on an enchanting experience of Venice!

Room Tip: get the room with ensuite toilet and bath. very spacious and private! it even has a small hallway fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maskinano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We actually stayed at Lorenzo's little B&B for ten nights. We found it very clean and comfortable and location is absolutely excellent - 3 minutes from San Marco, 5 from the Rialto bridge with a waterbus stop just 2 minutes away at San Zaccharia. There is also a nice communal area where breakfast is served (photos below) and where we sometimes had lunch or dinner when worn out by sightseeing.

We arrived in the evening and were very grateful that Lorenzo met us at the waterbus stop and led us to the B&B.

The holiday was vastly improved by Lorenzo's suggestions and he probably saved us a lot of money by telling us what not to do. Lorenzo was always happy to talk and we learned a lot.

When we return to Venice we will not be looking to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This became our home away from home. The location is outstanding. Lorenzo was helpful , met us off our ferry stop and provided advice when needed. Use of a kitchen anytime of day is always great. A short walk to everything and lots of local shops and restaurants around. Laundromat close by if you need it - we did after two weeks of traveling .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coomalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a wonderful B&B with a wonderful host!! After our long flight and lost luggage, we were more than happy to make it here. Being tired and forlorn, we were SO happy to meet Lorenzo at the vaporetto stop and walk with him back to our room. In the morning, he had already spoken to the Air France people about our luggage and we were settling in to breakfast which he had prepared. We LOVED the blood orange juice!. Easily walked to many wonderful sites, grabbed lunch which we ate as we relaxed, saw more of the city, and ate dinner at the pizza place next door.
While in Venice, we saw the usual well known spots but also went to Murano and Burano Islands. A bit rainy but we took it in stride. Beautiful glassware in Murano and charming, brightly painted homes in Burano.
October was a great time to go - the weather was delightful. The 4 nights we spent at Ai Tagliapietra were a great start to our adventure in Italy. Lorenzo, as has been stated in EVERY review was a wonderful host and certainly was a focal point in a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedfree1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
B&B San Marco
B&B San Marco
#10 of 210 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Castello
Residenza de l'Osmarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#103 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Cannaregio
Domus Orsoni
Domus Orsoni
#106 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#49 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Tagliapietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Tagliapietra

Property: Ai Tagliapietra
Address: Castello 4943, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ai Tagliapietra b&b is just 5 minutes off St.Mark's Square and is easily reachable from anywhere in town thanks to the nearby San Zaccaria's stop (public transportation). The strategic position allows you to reach on foot museums, shops, restaurants or Rialto Bridge in a short time. Double rooms of the b&b are warm and joyful and offer a complete bathroom (shower, basin and bidet). You will also find an hair dryer, soap and shampoo. Free wi-fi available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ai Tagliapietra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Tagliapietra Hotel Venice
Ai Tagliapietra Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing