We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as wonderful the second time”
Review of Ai Tagliapietra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ai Tagliapietra
Ranked #54 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just as wonderful the second time”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This was our second stay at Ai Tagliapietra and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. The B&B is in a perfect location. Very close to San Marco Square but on a quieter side street so you get the best all round. The rooms are large with simple but very comfortable furnishings and all amenities you require. Lorenzo is a wonderful host and for us, returning was like going to stay with a friend. Lorenzo will provide you with plenty of advice about museum passes, travel passes, airport and train transfers etc before you leave home and once you get there he will help you plan your days to get the very best from your time in Venice.
There are some good restaurants near the B&B but Lorenzo also has recommendations for some excellent restaurants closer to Rialto Bridge. Breakfast is delicious - yummy croissants, rolls, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, eggs etc. I love Venice and I am sure that the ease of staying at Ai Tagliapietra has added to my fondness of this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsplk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    62
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
319
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Wonderful B & B, large rooms, centrally positioned and to top it off the most obliging and friendly host. Lorenzo makes this B & B special. He meets you at the water taxi, he gives you instructions on how to get around Venice, he gives you info about Venice and the islands and when we had to leave early he also prepared us a take away breakfast. And it is not expensive.
If you don't stay here you are wasting money.

Thank you Lorenzo.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jag-u-rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We booked Ai T. for the first five days of our trip, and it couldn't have been a more perfect welcome to Italia. I HIGHLY recommend calling Lorenzo to meet you at the vaporetto stop; we didn't, and though we found it on our own with no trouble, I have no idea how that happened. Pure dumb luck. The B&B is a few calle away from San Zaccaria but it is completely unmarked, save for the number (4943). The entrance is right across the alley from Trattoria al Giardinetto (which we also recommend).

Lorenzo is friendly and helpful as can be. He is able to answer any questions you may have, in either Italian or English (and I think I heard him speaking a bit of French too!). The rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated, could not ask for more. Breakfast was a great plus also; the coffee, especially, was delicious.

Of the many cities and islands we have visited on this trip, we will definitely be back to Venezia. I have a feeling that staying at Ai T. made a world of difference -- Venezia truly felt like "home." Buon viaggio!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

When I booked this B&B, I thought that it would be difficult for Lorenzo to live up to the high praise he has gotten. He actually exceeded it. He met us at the vaporetto stop and gave us great directions and support for our entire visit. The accommodations were quite nice, with free wi-fi. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
280 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This B&B is superb and so reasonably priced. It has a very homely ambience, spacious rooms and comfortable bed. The proprietor, Lorenzo, is a charming host – one out of the box! He met us off the vaporetto at San Zaccaria and led us through a maze of little alleys to his establishment. This was extremely helpful as we would have had difficulty finding it on our own. Every morning, Lorenzo personally served a simple but very tasty continental breakfast – yoghurt, juice, bread rolls, warm croissants filled with jam or marmalade and a bottomless pot of hot coffee! He knows his city inside-out, made excellent recommendations for restaurants, things to do, places not to miss and is well up on the Venice Connected system which we found a little confusing at the start. He also has a selection of guidebooks available if you don’t already have one.
Location was fantastic. We wanted to stay in the city proper but away from the main tourist area of St Marks. This B&B is handy to everything (about 6 minutes walk to the piazza), but was in a quiet street so we were able to get a good night’s sleep. We spent a week here and loved every minute. We cannot recommend Ai Tagliapietra and Lorenzo highly enough to any prospective travellers to Venice. We would certainly stay there again should we ever return to Venice – this trip being our third and certainly the best!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and have excellent bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Add me and my husband to the list of people who had a great stay thanks to Lorenzo and his B&B. At the time of booking, I exchanged a few emails with Lorenzo and he explained to me how to get to the bus stop from the airport, and told me he would meet us there to walk us back to the hotel. We called him from the airport and found him patiently waiting for us at San Zaccaria when we got there an hour later. A very nice, helpful gesture. The B&B is on the first floor of the building with no lift, but he also helped us take our bags up to our room.

Our room was very nice and neat and we both loved the bed. It was big enough for us to stretch out and comfortable. Breakfast every morning was simple but kept us full for a few hours every day. Lorenzo was there every morning with us, chatting and answering any questions and giving recommendations. He also has several guide books available to borrow, as well as a laptop if you don’t have one. There is free wifi, but unfortunately due to a problem with our Mac, the connection didn’t work for us, although it worked on our iPhones no problem.

The location is perfect. Very close to St. Marks and the Rialto Bridge, etc, if you’re so inclined, but the area that the B&B is in is very quiet and calm. We walked everywhere on our stay in Venice. The day we left, we left very early. We told Lorenzo this the day before and he packed us a light breakfast to take with us. We thought that was really nice and thoughtful of him. The price was very fair and our stay was great. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This B&B is absolutely lovely and very reasonably priced. The moment you step in, it feels like you've come home. The interior is cosy and charming, the bed had a lovely wooden panel and wall decals which were really pretty. The owner, Lorenzo, is fantastic and will meet you at the vaparetto station and lead you there. It was really helpful to the 1st time visitor. All his recommendations for places to eat, what to do & directions, etc. were spot on. He will be there every morning to serve you breakfast and you can ask him anything. We loved the breakfast especially the warm croissants filled with marmalade and coffee, yum! There are also some excellent guidebooks on Venice there which you can borrow if you don't already have one. The Wifi/ internet speed is fast too.

Location was fantastic, walkable to almost everywhere and in a quiet street for a good night's sleep. The pizza place just 2 doors away (recommended by Lorenzo) was delicious (we ate there twice) and had one of the best house pizzas (and you can watch the chef in action too.)

We spent 2 nights here and only wished we could have stayed a little longer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules7996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#145 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Castello
B&B San Marco
B&B San Marco
#12 of 213 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Locanda Silva
Locanda Silva
#130 of 454 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Cannaregio
Domus Orsoni
Domus Orsoni
#100 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
San Polo
La Villeggiatura
La Villeggiatura
#47 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Tagliapietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Tagliapietra

Property: Ai Tagliapietra
Address: Castello 4943, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment Ai Tagliapietra is just 5 minutes off St.Mark's Square and is easily reachable from anywhere in town thanks to the nearby San Zaccaria's stop (public transportation). The strategic position allows you to reach on foot museums, shops, restaurants or Rialto Bridge in a short time. Double rooms of the apartment are warm and joyful and offer a complete bathroom (shower, basin and bidet). You will also find an hair dryer, soap and shampoo. Free wi-fi available! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ai Tagliapietra Bed And Breakfast
Ai Tagliapietra Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing