We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual and peaceful”
Review of Casa Caburlotto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Caburlotto
Ranked #110 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A lovely peaceful place to stay that is safe and unusual. It is like stepping back in time and the fact that the house is run by nuns makes for a relaxed atmosphere. You have plenty of space to sit down inside or in the shady garden. The coffee machine makes a decent cup and the cold drinks machine has v reasonably priced bottles of cold water. The location is in a not v touristy part of venice and there are good value places to eat nearby. The majer bakery round the corner is excellent value with coffee and croissant for 2.50 euros. there is a takeaway pizza shop close by with pizza slices for 2.50 euros and an excellent restaurant - Venexiana.
The bathroom was v clean and the wet room arrangement with the shower was not a problem although the water was not reliably hot! There are no toiletries so take your own and a hair dryer if required. these small things were more than compensated for by the ambience of an unusual place to stay. I loved it and definitely plan to return with my husband/family in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Unless I was a millionaire, of course, Then I'd probably stay at the Hotel Danieli at 9,900 Euros a night. But I doubt I'd be as relaxed. We were 7 friends and stayed 3 nights at Casa Caburlotto, in two twins and a triple, booked through Monastery Stays.com. It was reasonably easy to find from the railway station -keep left as you come off the Glass Bridge, not right as they say on their instructions. It's down a small side street with a canal. We liked the area very much, especially Trattoria Osteria Venexiana, which the nuns recommended, (lunch menu 13 Euros) and the pastry and coffee shop next door -Panificio Majer. You can bring their coffee and pastries back to eat in the garden if you wish, but the coffee is very good in the machine at the Monastery too. There is also a microwave and a frig. The whole place is very peaceful and clean, and the nuns are smiley, and one of them speaks English. Our triple room was simple, with a balcony, and it's true about the shower -the water goes all over the place, but not a major problem. The curfew (in September) was 1100pm, but with prior arrangement they allow you to come in later if you are going to a show/opera etc. I'm currently planning on returning as I want to spend time exploring more of this area, and Casa Carburlotto is very reasonably priced. Unless I win the lottery...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DoverRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We recently stayed at Casa Caburlotto for six days. The rooms are quaint and clean. While the location is certainly not central, it is safe, generally quiet, and offers the opportunity to experience a part of Venice not so traveled by tourists. Further, it is easily accessible from Piazzale Roma on foot with rolling suitcases (you will have to maneuver several sets of stairs, but it's only about a ten minute walk). Breakfast is no longer offered at the hotel. They have a couple of basic vending machines for coffee, water, snacks and the like. There is a small crepe place and a bakery within a five minute walk for breakfast food. There is a 10:30 pm curfew, which was not always convenient given the local habit of eating later and lingering over the meal. Our room had its own bathroom, but the shower had very low water pressure and did not have a shower enclosure - so after a shower much of the room remained wet. The rooms were cleaned each day and new towels were provided on the third day. There are small bars of soap but otherwise no extras provided. Bring your own shampoo and hair dryer etc. The nuns were very kind. Overall, a fine place to stay if economy is your priority over location and amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smalltownflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Location is very good. The rooms aré very basic and the bathroom very small and without shower tray.

A bit pricey for a hostel.

Vicente.


  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicente Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

This place is run by nuns. The room was a nice size and very clean as was the attached toilet. The breakfast was simple but sufficed and was included in the very reasonable room price. The location is excellent as it was a short walk from the train station. I did not have to take a vaporetto to get to it as one has to do for most establishments. As well, it was a short and picturesque walk to the vaporetto stop from where I could take a vaporetto to anywhere I wanted to go. I bought a 72-hour pass and used it a lot so got good value for my money. There were stores and cafes nearby and restaurants serving good food at reasonable prices not far from the convent along the waterside.

Casa Caburlotto is situated on a canal-side street and it is very quiet. It has a lovely garden, breakfast room, and chapel. There is a 10:30 curfew that could be a problem if you plan to stay out late.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
5  Thank Evelyn2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Venice is a very expensive, beautiful and old city. It's very romantic and almost all walking. (Be sure to bring a map till you get your bearings!)
We arrived via bus and were taken by the beauty crossing the bridge to Venice. Even the air is different here. I will take the train next time, easier to navigate, but the bus was ok. The porters to deliver the luggage are about 100eu. We walked up and down so many 10-20 step bridges and with luggage. Directions to this converted convent are absolutely correct, but difficult to navigate if you're unfamiliar with the area. (if you go the back way, there are only two very small bridges with steps-definately the way to go.)
Mom always wanted to go on a Gondola ride, which we did. You can catch them in a variety of locations, but I would recommend a guide with personality and one that can speak you language too. Mom asked ours to sing too, to get a tip. He did and gave a great tour!
We both bought a lot of Murano glass from the shops. Several tourists told us they went over to the factory and paid much more for the same exact items.
Food was very expensive and a cup of ice was over 5eu. I would also recommend clothing that can be layered as the weather can be very unpredictable. It was unseasonably hot and had only packed long sleeves and sweaters.
We also bought a lot of leather products-very well priced handbags and wallets.
There's so much history, a church on almost every corner, statues along sides of buildings, etc. Leonardo DaVinci's inventions were on display in a converted church and we wandered into a beautiful church that had a professional choir performing. Serendipities everywhere.........................

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

stayed for a week at Casa Caburlotto . The sisters are nice and the room was clean. But would not stay there in the future, because of the atmosphere , too somber and dark for my likeness. Knew the price was good, but there are places for the same price that are warm and more lively and also didn't like the curfew. Wouldn't recomend to any of my friends.

Stayed: January 2008
6  Thank venice7_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#205 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#185 of 385 in Venice
531 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#99 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#145 of 385 in Venice
946 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#214 of 385 in Venice
175 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caburlotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caburlotto

Address: Fondamenta Rizzi | Santa Croce 316, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caburlotto 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Caburlotto, owned by the Religious Family of the St. Joseph’s Daughters of Caburlotto, was recently renovated and offers 52 spacious and bright rooms. Casa Caburlotto is suitable for individuals, groups or families, religious and otherwise. Casa Caburlotto, completely renovated in 2014, offers an ideal tourist accommodation and hospitality for individuals, groups and families with bedrooms mostly air-conditioned and with bathroom. It simply and soberly furnished with sight open to the canal or the garden. The breakfast, of continental type (sweet) is offered, inclusive of the price of stay, in two big dining rooms in the first floor of the building. It provides two elevators. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: There is a curfew from 00:00 (midnight) to 06:00. It is not possible to check-in before 00:00 and check-out before 06:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Caburlotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caburlotto Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing