We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #188 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel is nice and rooms are spacious. There was air conditioning and the rooms were clean. We are a family of four (with two small kids 3 and 6). We were very comfortable in one room with three beds and an additional roll away. The website says that they allow a maximum of three people but I think they mean adults. There was no problem at all brining in a roll away. We made sure we let them know ahead of time.

The hotel is located in a nice area - walking distance to a more locals part of town which we really enjoyed. Restaurants were excellent and you can watch the local kids playing in the courtyards. It was a bit farther away from the center of town but in Venice everything is close if you're prepared to walk all over!

The staff was nice and the breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabiola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 480 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are good size and the location is ideal. The garden is a great bonus. A short walk to everything. The water taxi drops you off right outside and it is oh so easy to navigate everything
We had a great time there

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is my fourth time in Venice. I have been in better hotels and in others that were worse. San Sebastiano is average.
I would not say location is its up. Though it is right that it is near the San Basilio Cruise Terminal, it is rather far from San Marco and other attractions. Convenient to go to the Gran Canal,and áccademia bridge where you can take the vaporetto. You have to walk. Anyway, who does not love to walk in Venice. But, if it is your first time I would choose better location. The streets and neighborhood could be rather dark at night.
Said that, the staff was quite polite.
Room was on the ground floor, to the front. No much noise and the room was really big and comfortable. The same could be said of the bathroom where the shower was strong. Only criticism I could make to the room that many lights did not work and though I told the front desk, they were not fixed. It is true that it was a weekend but my husband was able to repair one of them. So, why did not they do that?- Everything was quite clean.
Breakfast was OK: the woman in charge was very kind and she gave us orange marmalade she has prepared by herself. Not only it was tasty , we loved her for the kindness.
The hotel is near a Billa Supermarket and a Greengrocer and though we did not eat there there are many restaurants nearby.
I would say it is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndreaF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Two weeks ago, my husband and I spent two nights at this hotel. On the plus side, the location was an easy walk from the San Basilio Cruise Terminal and within walking distance to many sights. The included breakfast was very good and we had no problem using WIFI. The negatives included our room which was somewhat dark and minimally furnished with a very hard mattress. The young lady working the reception desk during the day seemed to have an attitude problem; she was not at all friendly and was difficult to deal with. Not sure what her problem was, but other guests also remarked on her lack of customer service. On the other hand, the late afternoon shift was covered by a young man who was extremely helpful and always a pleasure to approach with questions or requests. In summary, I think I will find another hotel the next time I am in Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have travelled extensively and have enjoyed all types of vacations/hotels/resturants from extravagant to economical. My reviews are with an eye for understanding about where I am in the world and that there are a world of differences.

We chose this hotel based on the location. It was a short walk from the dock where we ended our vogage on Windstar. We wanted to stay in Venice for 5 days before going home.

Dosodoro area is perefect if you want to experience Venice “like a local,” want to be near some of Venice’s most major sights; be near the Grand Canal; and if you’re interested in Venice’s nightlife. Stay at the San Sebastiano Garden Hotel and you won't be dissapointed. It is a romantic haven!

We had a very large room on top floor facing the garden. Every day after walking, touring, visiting museums, and getting jostled by the CROWDS, we came back to our haven with a bottle of wine, cheese, and prosciutto and sat out in the garden toasting ourselves for our good fortune (Tip: we bought all these goods at a local grocery store very cheaply. It is located just a few minutes away along the Grand Canal).

As you probably already know, Venice is very walkable and in no time you'll find your way around to everything you wish to see. The water taxis are very close by, so no hassle at all to get one of those too. There are neighborhood restaurants to choose from as well.

The hotel staff was wonderful. They organized so many things for our days. The breakfast offered every morning was perfect and the server was so accomodating. Our bed and room were comfortable, clean and quite large. We liked enjoying a glass of prosseco while sitting at the lobby bar before heading out for the evening. Delightful service!

Room Tip: Loved our room on the top floor facing the garden. It's quite large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I would be very careful with this place in regards to the city tax charges!
We were charged on our credit card for nearly 60 Euros for the Local city tax on our initial booking(on top of the rooms fees inc VAT)
On check out, we were asked to pay again in cash(I had not realized this has been paid until I looked at our internet receipts closely)
Then we found that a further amount from the hotel that has been charged from our credit card without our authorisation when we returned from our trip(again presumably for the city tax - no receipt has been sent to us either for this)

The Classic room we had was also very small - with uneven floor, the bathroom was more like a narrow room under the stairs.(avoid this room if you are booking)

Better to go down for breakfast later - leftover bread and fruit salad was served when it first opened and the staff are told not to take out the lovely Italian prosciutto to slice until later

Location wise - it is about a 30min walk to Piazza San Marco. The alleys can be quite dark at night - lots of graffiti on the walls along the way can make one feel unsafe. Even in the morning, there are some beggars in the nearby alleys. But it is not far from the public water bus stops and there is also a grocery shop nearby.

The staff are all friendly esp the kitchen staff during breakfast time.

I think this issue is with management higher up trying to make the most money out of unsuspecting hotel guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked through Gala Hotels, we had a very enjoyable 4-night stay here. the twin-bedded room was compact, but fine once the cases were emptied and tidied away. The bathroom was very good, with marble everywhere, but one drawback was the lack of shelves there. Staff very helpful, Breakfast was fine, location was opposite a world-renowned church, stuffed with Tintorettos.
Allow 100 minutes for the very scenic Allilaguna blue line waterbus (Euros 15 per person each way) to Zattere, an easy ten-minute walk to the hotel. I loved Venice and would go back like a shot, but one needs to choose the time of year carefully, to avoid the crowds, the mosquitoes and the floods. If it is raining hard, you may wish to take a water taxi, Euros110 for four people each way, as it will take you to the door and more quickly, but not necessarily as scenically. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#65 of 385 in Venice
528 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#21 of 385 in Venice
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#173 of 385 in Venice
463 reviews
Castello
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#165 of 385 in Venice
869 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#138 of 385 in Venice
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#110 Family Hotel in Venice
#140 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $90 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing