We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #161 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel's location may be scary at first but it turned out to be perfect. It is in a quieter side of Venice.
The breakfast is pretty good, all you need really.
Plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
I would go back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ticarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    179
    48
    16
    9
See reviews for
61
268
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

As a rule I prefer not to write negative reviews but on this occasion I decided I would after being so disappointed by the standards of the hotel.

The little positives I found were the location and the grounds at the rear of the hotel. The dorsoduro area of venice is great, we loved being away from the tourist part of venice and the nightlife was great fun. The grounds at the back of the hotel are tranquil nice but like the rest of the hotel, in desperate need of renovation.

We had booked "deluxe rooms" thinking they would be slightly better than the basic rooms. We were extremely disappointed in the rooms, the furniture was extremely old, there was a cupboard full of blankets, pillows etc piled high! The blank light switch in the bathroom was stuck together with cellotape, the stand the toilet roll was on was completely rusty. When we arrived in our room there was not even one bar of soap you could wash your hands with after using the lavatory.There is no shower other than a hand held shower head which is only really designed to be used if having a bath. The air conditioning is is almost ineffective so, so you can imagine after some tiresome days in venice coming back to a warmish room and more or less having to take a bath to shower. We asked to borrow an iron and ironing board to press some shirts for our evenings out to be told that there wasn't such a commodity anywhere in the hotel. If we wanted something ironed we would have to pay for it to be sent away the following morning.

Like the previous member there was no option to enjoy a drink in the hotel or in the garden as there was no one there to serve it.

One other plus was the lady serving at breakfast who was extremely nice and very attentive!

I know the rating system for hotels in mainland Europe is slightly different form say the Far East or the USA and the UK but for this to be advertised as a 4 star hotel is giving the customer a false impression.

All in all the hotel was overpriced for the facilities and room available but there are much better hotels in Venice at similar prices.

If you want an extremely outdated hotel in desperate of refurbishment, then it might be for you!

We won't be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stuart1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, has the advantage of a great location, wonderful garden setting, excellent local restaurants and bars. But the hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment.

The wi-fi could only be reached in the bathroom in our room, and the fittings were in dire need of replacement. I could not believe my ears when we were told that we could not get a drink at three o'clock in the afternoon and again at 10.00 in the evening, we eventually did but only after some discussion.

Staffing appeared stretched with resulting failures, however Leonardo and Maria did an excellent job.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day family holiday in Venice staying in this hotel . The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to help. The garden was an oasis of peace but we were still just minutes away from shops, restaurants and many of the major attractions. My mother, who is 80 and I stayed in room 12 with a wonderful view of the garden.She fell in love with the hotel and this gave her the confidence to explore the city with the rest of us.
Great little hotel.Will go again

Room Tip: 35 had front view of canals.12 of the hotel garden on the ground floor. If you go in the summer tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 716910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a lovely stay at The San Sebastiano Garden Hotel at the end of May. I stayed for 5 days with my mother. We had bed and breakfast.

Staff are very helpful, pleasant and friendly.

We had a good choice of breakfast, cereal, fruit, cheese meats, yoghurts, toast, bread rolls, boiled eggs, croissants, cakes, juices teas and coffee.

walls are a bit thin so if you have trouble sleeping you might need ear plugs but this is not a big problem.

The hotel is in a nice location, easy to walk to the water bus, and if you take a walk up the canal to the right of the hotel you will find local restaurants churches and shop's. There are also nice restaurants at the front where you catch the water bus.

We took a trip to the island of Murano one day, we were going to catch the water bus but when we enquired at reception they organised a free water taxi for us that picked us up at the hotel and was met the other end by a guide, we were shown around a glass blowing area and the show rooms, no pressure to buy at all, We spent the rest of the morning looking around the island and having lunch. We had to get back to Venice our selves, which was easy as we caught the water bus. If you are interested in this trip I would ask about it straight away as I'm not sure if it is run only on certain days.

If you need taxi's or water taxi's ask at reception and they will organise it for you.
A wheeled taxi to the airport is 60 euros and a water taxi is 140 euros.
An all day ticket on the water bus is 18 euros and you can hop off and on anywhere. Single journeys are 7 euros.

The hotel does not have tea or coffee making facilities in the room, so if you need that you should take a mini kettle and tea/coffee making kit. There is a fridge in the room.
Take your own hair dryer, as the one in the bathroom is poor.

There is a pleasant garden at the hotel but unfortunately we did not have the time to sit out there and enjoy it, it would be lovey to sit out there on a summer evening with a glass of wine.

I would use this hotel if I ever go back to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seren_gaeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Hotel is an incredible value and provides the perfect Venice experience. Location could not be better. Room was roomy and had amazing view of the canal. Staff was great. Easily accessible by walking or boat to all the points of interest yet quiet and not overwhelmed with tourist. Several great "locals" restaurants for that authentic Italian dinner. When you get in, simply take the boat to stop "6" and walk straight. Hotel is just a short distance on your right (canal on left). ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mississippi
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We thought this hotel was lovely. It was an easy walk with our luggage from the vaporetto stop. It was very clean, and breakfast was plentiful and tasty--pastries, cereal, yoghurt, sliced meat, fruit, etc. we had a quiet first floor room with windows that looked out on a small courtyard. The back garden was lovely and peaceful, but we didn't really have time during our 3 night stay to enjoy it.

Our bed was the twin beds pushed together arrangement, with my side being fine and my husband's side having a list to it (I'm taking his word for this). We were assigned to room 11, which is handicapped accessible, although I say this without any real knowledge of the official meaning of the term. Anyway, the bathroom is very spacious, but the shower is very strange and there is one of those raised up things on the toilet seat. I saw that one reviewer definitely didn't care for the handicapped features, but they didn't bother us--at least, that is, after we got the hang of the shower.

The caveat: we had to get up at an insanely early hour to catch a water taxi to the airport and we asked for a wake up call. Our mobile devices never reset themselves to European time, so we weren't using our phone for an alarm as we usually would have, I saw the clerk set my wake up call, but it never rang. Had my husband not waked up on his own close to the right time, we would have had a disaster--we had already paid 130 euro for the water taxi and our plane fare to Munich was non-refundable. So, if you're going to need a wake up call, you may want to "practice" a day or two in advance to make sure everything is working.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heartimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#88 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#169 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#162 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing