We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful hotel in a lovely authentic part of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #164 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a lovely authentic part of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent a lovely three nights in this hotel. Upon arrival we were advised that our room was being upgraded to a canal view junior suite. The room we were given was beautiful and had a perfect view through two large windows of the canal in front of the hotel. The room was very large and comfortable, we could not have asked for better.

The location of the hotel was charming, set in the Dorsoduro area of Venice. This area is quiet, full of locals and not overrun by tourists. Yet at the same time it is in easy walking distance to all the sites, being a ten minute walk to the Academia bridge bringing you across the Grand Canal towards St Marks square etc. Staying in this hotel gives you the best of both worlds: the tranquility and interest of a quieter area of Venice; yet with easy access to the major points of interest. There are a number of nice restaurants within close distance to the hotel, particularly along the Zattere waterfront and along Calle San Barnaba and its square. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the train, we managed the journey by foot with suitcases within fifteen minutes without trouble.

The breakfast provided by the hotel is extensive and enjoyable.

Overall the hotel is a perfect spot and is well worth the visit. I would definitely stay here again upon returning to Venice and would recommend others to do the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xx1ellie1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    176
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
57
255
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel when planning our vacation and decided to give it a try based on other reviews. We appreciate the consistency of the larger chains but for our first visit to Italy together we wanted something special and off crowded center. The San Sebastiano was exactly what we had hoped for, a small hotel (no more than 40 rooms we think), very personalized service, and a charming room that complemented a stunning canal view. The location was great too: in the Dorsoduro Sestiere (neighbourhood), it was a short 15 minute walk from the train station and Piazzale Roma, steps away from restaurants and a small supermarket, yet nestled in the middle of mostly residential buildings. The crowds and the main sites are all very accessible but at night, when you just want a romantic getaway, the hotel can deliver it thanks to its location. The complimentary breakfast was well sorted and the staff even agreed to iron our shirts themselves on a Sunday when their regular laundry service was closed. Of course, the room was fine too: we had room 36 which had a large, comfortable bed, exposed wood beams, integrated entertainment systems, and a large, gorgeous bathroom. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights , just back today. It was a family celebration. There was a bottle of Prosecco in our room when we arrived, but we put it on hold until Wed when we were celebrating. They brought it out to us for breakfast ! Lovely. We couldn't fault the hotel. We were very well looked after....helped out in way possble. It was a bit of a walk..we didn't use the water taxis much we enjoyed it very much

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lusmagh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abijc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have just come back from spending 3 nights in Venice and were really pleased with our choice of hotel. Our twin-bedded room (25) was clean and comfortable, with a lovely modern bathroom and a view over the gardens. The staff from reception, to the breakfast room to the cleaning staff were all really friendly, helpful and cheerful. Great choice a breakfast of fresh and varied food and lovely coffee! The hotel is about a 15/20 minute walk from St Mark's but only a couple of minutes from the San Basilio vaporetto stop. It has some really good restaurants and bars close by though which are very reasonable and have some great views over the water. Walking to and from St Mark's meant you got to see some of the real Venice rather than just the touristy areas. Would definitely return to Venice and this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We emailed the hotel before our stay to ask for a twin bedded room with a nice view - they responded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abijc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent four nights there as a brithday persent for my wife, Fantastic hotel, quiet, a little quaint, first class service and a lovely room overlooking the garden, close enough to St Marks Square and the touristy bits ( 5 min Walk ) but far enough away to be very quiet and relaxing.
Will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottlavallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I went here on vacation last summer. The Gardens in the Courtyard are really well kept and nice to see. The staff was really helpful and helped us get a water cab to the airport when we needed it. It was clean. The view wasn't the best but we didn't stay in the room very much. The city is perfect for exploring!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and while it was difficult to find, our stay was very nice. The room and bathroom was very spacious with wood beams. The breakfast (included in the stay) was a great spread! And the staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DD2011198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#166 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#89 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Vendramin di Santa Fosca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 714 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#31 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Cannaregio
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing