We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #175 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I , together with two friends spent a 3 day break in Venice and this hotel was our chosen accommodation. We were not disappointed. A beautifully appointed and furnished hotel with delightful staff and a great location to tour Venice. About a 10 minute walk from San Marco Square and 20 minutes from the San Roma Coach Station (best option to get from the airport). They provide a bar, great continental breakfast and Free Wi-Fi. We found several good restaurants within 200 metres of the hotel and would recommend the Venetian Pub Crawl as a great tour (available online and via the hotel) One final suggestion.... if visiting Venice between October and April.... take a pair of wellies (wellington boots!)

Room Tip: Quieter at the rear but views of the canal from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matkincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    182
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
62
276
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is on a quieter part of Venice, but still within close walking distance of most sights and plenty of restaurants.

The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed and have a lovely character (particularly the suite we were given!).

When we arrived in Venice they were experiencing a high tide and our room had been flooded, after one night in their sister hotel nearby, we were then put up in a suite, given a bunch of flowers and champagne for our inconvenience. The room was lovely and the staff have been exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TestPilot427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

I had been to Venice twice before & always like to stay in a small Venetian hotel. I was traveling with a friend who had never been & picked San Sebastiano based on price & location. We were not disappointed on those two counts. The staff was very pleasant & helpful, the rooms clean & Free Wireless! A BIG plus since we had our laptop with us & were able to write home. The one small thing I missed at this property that I had experienced at my previous two Venice hotels, was the authentic Venetian decor in the sleeping rooms. I was hoping for a Venice chandelier in the room or bright wall paper, but it was pretty much your standard hotel room. It was clean and comfortable and for the great location, worth it, but I wished my friend had the opportunity to experience an old Venetian Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived by bus and caught the ACTV water bus (Vaporetto) a few stops getting off at S. Basilio. It’s not far to walk but with a small map in the dark it’s the easiest way.

We booked with hotel.com, they were specific in their description, the room was to have a view of the city, a bath and they quoted a size.

I didn’t measure it but our room was maybe half the quoted size, the view was of a wall, there was no bath, the lights didn’t work properly, an assortment of cables were cobbled together to power the TV and the flush didn’t work properly.

We were disappointed so I spoke to a very reasonable guy on reception but the hotel was fully booked so realistically he couldn’t do anything, so we went out for a fantastic meal and had a great night out in Venice. (Excellent recommendations from Rough Guides)

Breakfast the next day was plentiful, ham, salami, cheese, bread, cake, rolls, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and good coffee with very friendly and helpful waiting staff.

After breakfast I saw the manager. He explained the different room types, I showed him the hotel.com booking confirmation and shared with him what I had booked. When he saw the paperwork he was very straightforward. He changed us to a room that had become available, a very large room, with two bathrooms, a large balcony with a lovely view. Much better than we had booked so we agreed it made up for the first night.

The first night didn’t spoil our break, we were there to see Venice not a hotel room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly but I’m not sure what they could have done if the hotel was still fully booked on the second night.

The hotel has a garden and we enjoyed a quiet drink there. Its location is good, with the small scale of Venice we were happy to walk to anywhere we wanted to get to.

We saw a lot of people heaving cases around the next day but the hotel was happy to take care of our bags after we checked out, as our flight wasn’t until the evening. This enhanced our stay, as many of the places we visited don’t allow you in with large bags or cases.

This is a good hotel with helpful staff and some good rooms but also at least one dreadful room. I can post pictures of both the rooms and pictures of the hotel if anyone is interested.

Room Tip: Room 22 has a large balcony with a lovely view, room 32(?) has a view of a wall and into someone'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had been to Venice before and two features of this hotel that you don't often get in Venice are really large rooms and a lovely garden where you can sit and hang out or have breakfast. It was also literally around the corner from the San Basilio terminal where some of the smaller cruise ships leave from. Staff we very nice and helpful. It is also nice and quiet being away from the more crowded areas of Venice, but still a nice 10 to15 minute walk to the academia bridge. There is also public boat a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We are 2 adults,traveling 2-4 times a year.This year we started with Venice which we visited 15 years ago for 2 days and we stayed in a very crowded neighborhood and was raining non stop!
This time we "hit the jack pot" from all points of view.
Before our departure from Canada I asked the staff at the front desk advice about the transportation from Marco Polo Airport to the hotel.
They were prompt,professional extremely friendly and pleasant!
The hotel could not be better located!
Beautifully renovated,clean,bright with a gorgeous garden and large and beautiful rooms,bathrooms and generous cupboards.
The breakfast room is supervised and manage by Maria who is not walking, she is so fast in serving everyone that we looked in the first day to see if she is using rollerblades instead of shoes for walking.
No matter where you have your breakfast- in the dining room or in the garden the service is the same!
At the front desk any question was answered with a big smile on the face!
This hotel I'll visit again and we are going to recommend it to all our friends and family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 91Cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was at first skeptical about the location of this hotel, being at the bottom South bank of Venice island. From train or bus station of Venice, it is best to take the water buses aka Vaporetto (10 minutes walk if you could drag your luggage through few bridges) to San Sebastiano stop, going in the direction of Lido island. Hotel is located less than 3 minutes walk from the waterbus stop.

The surrounding is quaint and almost sees almost no tourists. There are still a few restaurants and bars if you are not inclined to go across the Grand Canal to the North bank of the island where train terminal and the tourist jam-packed St Mark Square.

The very small lane (Calle Avogaria) by the side of hotel brings you straight to Ca' Rezzonico waterbus stop in 5 minutes or detour right to the beautiful Galleria del Academia which has a waterbus stop as well. You can cross the bridge here to north bank which is close to St Mark Square.

The hotel itself is boutique and beautifully maintained. Go to the garden at the rear of the hotel for some morning sun (breakfast can be brought to here). The room I stayed is small but cozy. The room has large window which cannot be turned into balcony due to design of such property.

Breakfast is served 7-10am and it is good enough to make you full and satisfied. Service I encountered so far was good and professional.

This hotel is good value of money if you pay around Euro120 per night during August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#162 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Cannaregio
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#146 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#218 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#121 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing