We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of Venice!”
Review of Al Gallion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Gallion
Ranked #204 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Where to start? Daniela was the perfect hostess and we simply couldn't have wished or imagined a more welcoming and warm place to stay. It was truly a home away from home. From the personal pickup after getting lost trying to find Al Gallion after arriving in the middle of the night (thank you Daniela for saving us) to the home made breakfasts every morning (home made jams and brownies and delicious fruit salad) to the daily smiles, kindness, generosity and warmth. Daniela's English is very good (even though she doesn't think so) an is full of interesting, in depth and relevant information. This covers transport, maps (a detailed and personalised one to suit your daily itinerary) and the architecture, sites and history of Venice. Daniela should be a tour guide if she had spare time! She also had some good suggestions for restaurants.
The location was great! Really close to S Lucia train station and the Piazzale Roma (5-10 minute walk) and once you get the hang of it, is quite easy to find. Venice is a maze so I imagine any hotel of BnB will be a bit tricky to locate at the start.
The rooms - it was just like being at home! Only much neater and cleaner (and in my case, prettier and more spacious). It was a joy to come back to after a long day walking around the city.
I really can't praise Al Gallion and Daniela enough, and only wish that all BnBs that we visit will be of the same calibre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loraine_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 110 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Daniela is an absolute gem! Her home is clean and spacious with an excellent location, right near the train and the vaporetto. Daniela told us where to go and how to get there. We had wonderful conversations with her over a lovely breakfast each morning. She is smart, cultured and sincere. We couldn't have asked for a better hostess. Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MaryannL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Daniela at Al Gallion immediately makes you feel like one of the family. Her home was beautiful and peaceful even though it was only about a 5 minute walk from the train station on the quiet side of the canal in Santa Croce. She personally accompanied us through the neighborhood to one of her favorite restaurants and even packed us her delicious breakfast " to go" on our last day there. When we arrived, she presented us with a map and advised us on an itinerary for each day. I miss our conversations so much that I want to go back to Venice just to spend time with her again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaVernagrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Daniela's bed and breakfast in Venice and were thoroughly enchanted. It was located far enough back from the Grand Canal to be in a peaceful area, and her place was beautifully furnished in Venetian style with terazzo floors and blown-glass chandeliers and lovely art. Built in the 16th century, the building is atmospheric, and you will feel right at home in historic Venice. Daniela gives you a map that is individualized with routes that she draws on it so that you can find your away around, although everyone gets a bit happily lost in this lovely city. We used a lot of the public water taxis when we weren't walking. Daniela, and her daughter, when Daniela was gone one morning, make excellent breakfasts and are very accommodating with your schedule and times. I highly recommend this charming bed and breakast and its lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

A lovely small B and B located in a quieter area of Venice a short walk from the station. The room and bathroom were good and breakfast was great. The owner Daniela is very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Daniela has been rightfully praised in many reviews. She is a gracious hostess who makes you feel welcome and spends enormous efforts helping you with your visit. As a lifelong Venice resident, her knowledge is enormous. She truly enjoys having guests and even insisted on doing some of our laundry-over our very serious protests. The rooms are very nice and the bathroom quite modern. She serves a very nice Continental breakfast. The B&B is ideally located for both the train station and Grand Canal. All of Venice is easily reached on foot. There are stores, cafes and restaurants in the area. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Venice. If we go back, it will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Daniela proved that B & B travelling is the way to go! We arrived exhaused and tired from a long multiple train ride from Cinque Terre to be greeted with a delicious cup of coffee, personalized map and wonderful conversation. I believe the most memorable converstion was regarding the building we were staying in. Everything from the age, renovations and historical design was so informative. We have told her stories to many since we've returned home. Thank you Daniela for our mini Venice history lesson!

Thank you,

Donna and Kyra
Manitoba, Canada

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank palmtreetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#256 of 476 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#291 of 476 in Venice
50 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#60 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallion

Address: Santa Croce 1126, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $196 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Al Gallion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing