We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Gracious Hostess”
Review of Al Gallion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Gallion
Ranked #207 of 473 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Daniela proved that B & B travelling is the way to go! We arrived exhaused and tired from a long multiple train ride from Cinque Terre to be greeted with a delicious cup of coffee, personalized map and wonderful conversation. I believe the most memorable converstion was regarding the building we were staying in. Everything from the age, renovations and historical design was so informative. We have told her stories to many since we've returned home. Thank you Daniela for our mini Venice history lesson!

Thank you,

Donna and Kyra
Manitoba, Canada

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank palmtreetat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

I could not recommend Al Galion more. Daniela is such a friendly and helpful host. She is willing to go the extra mile to guide you through Venice! The room we stayed was spacious, comfortable and clean. We had a large bathroom (not in the room) all for ourselves and believe me bathrooms can really be very small in Italy and Europe. Grazie Daniela per tutti












.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klapkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This B&B surpassed all my expectations. Great location, walking distance from the train and bus station. Lovely rooms. Incredible host. Tasty food. Daniela was ever so helpful and gave us extremely useful tips regarding places to visit and understanding the Vaporetto system. She took care of us like a doting mother and made our visit perfect. Washrooms are dedicated but separate from rooms. However, that was not a concern for us. I've stayed in many B&Bs around Europe but this proved to be one of the best experiences I've ever had. If I'm ever back in Venice, this is the only place I will stay in. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Our stay was perfect. Daniela is a perfect hostess, she is very knowledgeable of Venice and presents the guests with a very detailed map of the city including "vaporetto"routes , places of interest and restaurant suggestions.
The B&B is conveniently located near Piazzale Roma ( 10 'walk)and the train station ( 5' walk), the room and bathroom are impecable clean, the breakfast with home made jam and a delicious fruit salad made our stay very pleasant. And besides it is always a pleasure to hear Daniela explaining the great attractions of Venice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EGLERIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We came from Paris via overnight train. It's only 5 mins walk from the train station and Daniela was already waiting for us in the morning with some nice snack and coffee. The room is big and very tidy. The common living room is nearly private to us! Internet service is excellent. She is so kind and helpful to explain every details and good tips to travel in Venice. We don't even have to bring along any travel books but only the very comprehensive maps she prepared for us. It's very precise and she noted down all the important details e.g bus stop, timetable, sightseeing spots and also recommeded restaurants! We followed the ways she suggested and had a great time!  We enjoyed the breakfast time a lot, nice chat with her and we love her fresh fruit salad, homemade cake and jam. Our trip in Venice can't be better without Daniela! It's a perfect place to stay in Venice and we will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sharonplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at the Al Gallion Bed and Breakfast in Venice for 5 nights in mid-September and would recommend it whole-heartedly to others. Daniela was very friendly and helpful. She provided us with a map of Venice on which she marked spots of interest and drew walking routes for us - we used her map exclusively. She also recommended restaurants and we had some wonderful dinners. Breakfast was very nice - yogurt, fruit, breads, jam, juice, coffee and always a delicious sweet. The bedroom was very pretty and it, the bathrooms and the lounge were kept very clean. The B&B was in an excellent location - within easy walking distance of the train station, the Grand Canal and Piazza San Marco. Make sure you have Daniela's directions for finding your way to the B&B because it is somewhat difficult to find and it isn't obviously a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anssi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed at Al Gallion Sept 12-15th. This was my first visit to a B&B, and Daniella surpassed all my expectations of what that visit would be. The B&B is close to the train station and Piazza Roma where the bus from the airport dropped me off. It was very easy to find and on a quiet street. The apartment has an adequate sitting and eating area. The washrooms are seperate from the bedrooms but you do get your own personal washroom and it is a good size. I stayed in the single room and it was a very good size with a double bed and lots of closet space. The B&B was very clean and tastefully furnished, I felt like I was staying in an actual venetian home.

The owner Daniella was very nice and helpful. When I arrived she offerred me a map and took the time to explain the water bus system and how to get around Venice and the surrounding islands. The breakfast she provided in the morning offerred quite a few choices including home made jams and cakes. She even went as far as purchasing fruit juices just for me since I don't drink tea or coffee.

I only have 2 minor complaints about my stay. First, the shower in the washroom was quite small. Not the smallest that I encountered on my trip to Italy, but I did have some difficulty in the shower. Second, the double bed was actually made up of 2 smaller mattresses. Being someone that likes to sleep in the middle of the bed and combining that with the fact I toss and turn quite a bit, meant that the mattresses actually started to seperate in the middle of the night. I found myself getting up in the night to straighten out the mattresses and put them back together.

Despite those 2 annoyances, I would not hesitate to return to B&B Al Gallion. The service and value for my money just can not be beat.

**TIP: If you arrive by bus and have heavy luggage, do not walk to the B&B. I did this and not only was it physically exhausting trying to lift my luggage over several bridges and down small alley ways, but I was constantly being harrassed by men wanting to carry my bags and get money for it. One man practically ripped my bag out of my hand, I had to fight him for it. Instead, take the water bus to the secong stop Di Biasio. The walk from this stop is only 5 minutes, there are no bridges, and it is far enough down the line that there are no harrassing "helpers".

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mpllf1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#192 of 384 in Venice
243 reviews
Santa Croce
Viva Venezia
Viva Venezia
#49 of 226 in Venice
31 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#144 of 473 in Venice
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
No photo provided
B&b Vista sul Canal Grande
#64 of 226 in Venice
2 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#216 of 473 in Venice
103 reviews
Santa Croce
Rio Marin
Rio Marin
#160 of 226 in Venice
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallion

Address: Santa Croce 1126, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 473 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $211 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Al Gallion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing