We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!!”
Review of Al Gallion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Gallion
Ranked #206 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real gem!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I was fortunate to obtain a booking here after reading other reviews and I was not disappointed. Daniella the gracious host was prompt and informative in all her email communication and her instructions for arrival made the process very easy.
The accommodation is immaculately clean and well presented. It is spacious and private. We were traveling with a six year old and Daniella went out of her way to make it a special stay for her also. The precious map Daniella provided with all the tips for vaporetto travel, excursions, timings and non- tourist restaurants made our stay so memorable. Venice is divine, and yes busy in summer. Our stay was so wonderful thanks to the knowledge of history and culture provided by Daniella. The breakfast is fresh , tasty and plentiful.
I read a previous review regarding insect bites and air conditioning. We found the fan provided more than adequate for cooling and plug in insect repellants were also provided, so no issue there for us. The wifi was also fine. We were sad to leave!
We will definitely return for another stay and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiegirl-londonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Al Gallion is an absolute gem!
Right in the middle of the Venice labyrinth I must admit we has some trouble finding it at dusk... but we were spotted by Danielle's mother and quickly beckoned inside.
The B&B is like staying in a museum. the walls are covered with original art work and there are cabinets full of curiosities. The bedrooms are big and comfy, with windows looking out over the street (there's obviously not traffic in Venice so noise is not an issue). The shared bathroom is small but clean and shared with only 1 other room so waiting around was never an issue.
Danielle is a fantastic host and on arrival handed us a map. This map is now a treasured possession. It is photocopied for every guest and covered in Danielle's notes explaining tips on what to see, where to eat and carefully detailed to show every tiny alley of Venice. Priceless.
A delicious breakfast of coffee, tea, pastries and home made jams is served in the morning to get your day started.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We booked Al Gallion after the numerous good tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location was perfect - very near station, vaparetto stops and bus terminal but not too touristy. Daniela was a wonderful host, she gave us great tips on restaurants, queue jumping and sights worth seeing and the breakfast in the morning was superb, a perfect start for each day. The rooms were huge - our room was more like a suite with a seperate dressing and relaxing area and the whole place was spotlessly clean. It was also great value for money, when we return to Venice we plan to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterKimandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

After I read the good reviews from tripadvisor about this B&B, I emailed Daniella and i was glad that she responded to my email the very next day (trust me, some high ranking B&B took 2-3 days to respond to my email). She confirmed our booking without even asking for deposit in advance and told us we can pay her after we meet.
We have no problem finding Al Gallion since Daniella's website provide a very simple map and ways to go to her place. Daniella greeted us with her warm smile and explained to us how the veperatto works and all the main attractions in Venice. She even pin pointed where are the good and cheap restaurant that we can have lunch and dinner.
Our room was cosy and spacious. The bed was comfortable and we had no problem access to the WIFI. Breakfast provided was great, miss the homemade jam that made by Daniella. The only concern is whether there will be any cooling system during the summer. We were lucky because it wasnt that hot at night and we had our windows open so it's acceptable.
Daniella is a very good host. She prepared some breakfast and put inside paperbag for us to bring to the train station on the day we were leaving Venice because our train was quite early. Overall, we enjoyed our stay with Daniella and hope to revisit this wonderful B&B.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The room and the bathroom were huge! A nice change from some of the smaller places we had been staying in Italy. It was also very close to the train station which was helpful. It was clean and comfortable and although to get to the bathroom from your room you must walk through a communal living area, it is rare to see anyone as typically there is only activity in this room during breakfast or check in. Daniella was very sweet and helpful. The weather while we were in Venice was not too hot so we were able to keep the room cool at night with the windows open BUT this meant that we woke up the next morning covered in bug bites! If the weather was warmer, prior to staying here we would double-check the air-conditioning situation as I'm not sure it is air-conditioned... The only issue we had was that Daniella had to go out of town during our stay and the morning we went to check out there was no one around (which also meant no breakfast). We had to call Daniella and confirm our check out and our payment. Later she emailed us to apologize, stating she hadn't completely understood what was happening with the language barrier. Additionally, we were told and given information on the wifi connection but we were not able to once get the wifi to work at all so if wifi is important to you, you might want to make sure you can obtain the connection upon check-in to trouble shoot any issues if they come up. Overall, we would def consider returning...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmc153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Definitely the most hospitable host of all our B&B’s in Italy. I assure you that Daniela will make your stay in Venice a memorable one. My wife and I felt very much at home here and Daniela is more than happy to help you plan your stay in Venice. It was refreshing to not only have the owner as the operator but to also have them live on site. We found many B&B’s don’t have someone on site so you must call them for whatever you need, including checking in.

We arrived at Al Gallion with little trouble thanks to the instructions and map that Daniela provides on her website. The ‘pathways’ in Venice are very easy to get lost in so I was quite grateful that this B&B was just a short walk from the train station. It is also located very close to a water bus stop (we highly recommend the unlimited water bus ticket for travel around Venice).

The room was clean and quiet, and although the washrooms are private, they are not attached to the room. There was wifi but the connection was a little weak so I had to use my device in the guest common area.

The breakfast was delicious and I’m not sure if the apricot jam that Daniela makes is served year-round, but my wife and I loved it. I highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: Ask for the larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodeTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambermom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We expected from the start that our stay at this Bed & Breakfast would be a good one; the confirmation email included plenty of helpful suggestions about parking our car in Mestre and careful directions to the B&B. What we couldn't foresee was how spacious the accommodations would prove to be, how incredibly helpful and gracious our hostess would be (helping us plan each day's itinerary to suit our particular interests, offering restaurant suggestions, coping with a banking problem that we encountered, anticipating our needs, providing luscious breakfasts, and taking the time just to visit with us). The location near the train station made it rather easy to transport our luggage to and from our accommodations, and it was easy to take a water bus and/or walk to all the key sights in Venice. Our suite (a sitting room and bedroom, with a bath that we did not need to share since we were the only guests for those two nights) was immaculate and decorated tastefully; we were made to feel as welcome as old friends in their home. We can't recommend this B&B highly enough. The chance to step inside one of those wonderful old buildings and be treated as if we were special friends of our hostess, Daniela, made our stay in Venice truly memorable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#195 of 386 in Venice
237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
1,335 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 386 in Venice
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Doge Hotel
Doge Hotel
#303 of 386 in Venice
83 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 386 in Venice
3,643 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#112 of 458 in Venice
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallion

Property: Al Gallion
Address: Santa Croce 1126, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Al Gallion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing