We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with kids”
Review of Alloggi alla Scala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alloggi alla Scala
Ranked #165 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

If your budget for visiting Venice with your kids is limited, than this is the place to go. The location is great - 10-15min from St. Marco Square, 2min from a small supermarket, 5 min from from the Rialto bridge and vaporetto stop.
We had the quadruple room - 135euros/night and they were worth it. For our 2 kids - almost 4 and almost 6 years old - the high point of the room was the bathroom windows towards the canal (the window in the room is slightly higher) - watching/counting/waving to the gondolas was incredibly fun for them. The room - one double bed and two single ones - was quite old fashioned by some standards, but very clean - the same goes for the bathroom, that we considered cleaner than in many average priced modern hotels. Be aware of the fact that there is no TV, nor breakfast...but who needs those in Venice...
We'll certainly return here if we come back with the kids

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tudor4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 141 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

- Very clean, very helpful staff (the don't speak very well english but they try!)
- Room bed and pillows were ok.

One bad thing: This is a building and the family lives there, and they have kids, the rooms are below the house, so you have earthquakes when the kids run.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielnydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location for good price. Definitely we will be back! Be ready there is no breakfast here, no fridge and tv even, but most time in venice you should spend open aired! Now venice is one of my favourite and must visit cities!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cezarevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The staff were extremely rude, not welcoming at all. They tried to charge us twice and almost kicked us out in the street late at night for their own mistake... glad I kept the receipt of the first payment... But they'd never apologized!
Hotel very basic and expensive.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwenn_Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alessandro g, Proprietario at Alloggi alla Scala, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014
Google Translation

Buon giorno, sono molto spiacente per l'incomprensione accorsa, di preciso non si capisce cosa sia successo con questa Signora, in ogni caso siamo sicuri che non abbiamo mai mandato via nessuno e tanto meno fatto pagare due volte il conto delle camere, la nostra è una piccola struttura a gestione famigliare, non è un GRAND HOTEL, ma chi viene da noi ne è consapevole, offriamo cortesia, pulizia e siamo nel VERO CENTRO DI VENEZIA ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It took us a long while to find this place - not to say it isn't in a good location, just that there really isn't clear directions to get there. It is right next to the Contarini del Bovolo Staircase. We also waited quite a while for someone to answer the door bell.

After all that, room is well set up, plenty of places for luggage and extra seating which is always nicer than having to sit on the bed. The bed is actually quite soft compared to what you seem to get in Europe. Bathroom was small but adequate.

Very little english spoken but somehow you always manage to make do. Probably only other key point is that we had to pay cash for the room so you would want to make sure you were organised on that front.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JadeandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I appreciated my 2-night stay here on 30-31 December. The location is easy to find, if you bring with you a printout of their online map. Campo Manin is what you should ask some passers-by who look like locals, once you get off the Linea 1 vaporetti at Rialto Bridge. Once you get to this square (and it's only a few minutes walk), it's a matter of finding that small alley mentioned on their online map. Easy. So don't get put off by other reviewers who didn't seem to have done adequate preparation for their Venice trip. The location is indeed between Rialto and San Marco. It took about 10 minutes walk to the Piazza San Marco, much longer if you shop along the way there, like I did the first time.

The lady who greeted me speaks strictly Italian, but she was kind and could have been chatty if you were able to speak Italian.. The ever-obliging young man, Mario, who does the cleaning etc can speak English, good enough to help you get your bearings.

I didn't book directly with them, so I think I paid 5 Euros extra per night for the online booking agency fee. I tried to book directly but language seemed to be an issue. If you plan to stay there longish, book directly with them. Most things are expensive in Venice, so saving 5 euros/day would help.

My room is smallish, has a comfortable single bed and an ensuite. Clean and warm enough. I saw an airconditioner on the wall so maybe it's ok to stay there during warm summer nights. No TV but I don't watch TV when on holiday.

WiFi is free but only at the reception area. There is a sofa there and I never had to fight for a spot to sit down.

There is a vending machine at the reception where you can buy coffee, water etc.

The building is at the end of a dead-end courtyard, adjacent to a tourist attraction: Palazzo Contarini del Bovolo. You will see some tourists hanging around outside this fenced up old (crumbling-looking) palace. I didn't find them a nuisance at all. Being at a dead-end courtyard surrounded by local housing, people understand to keep their noises down. So I found this pensione nice and quiet and certainly is worth the rate they charge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissMely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,180 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#283 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#289 of 479 in Venice
49 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,935 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#122 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi alla Scala

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4306 | Corte Contarini del Bovolo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $48 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi alla Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alloggi alla Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Alla Scala Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing