We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price”
Review of Alloggi alla Scala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alloggi alla Scala
Ranked #179 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for price”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We didn't have a good map of Venice, so it took us a while to find since I only had a map of the surround few blocks. The lady that checked us in was very sweet, but she didn't speak much English. The room was very dated, but clean and roomy enough for the two of us. We were a bit surprises there was no TV, but that didn't bother us much as we were out the entire time except to shower and sleep. For some reason though, for the 2 nights we stayed, both of us just could not sleep, and one morning someone was blaring by blasting music at 6am. For 2 nights, we could deal for the good price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandablue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    52
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
47
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed there in mid september for one night. It is tricky to find but if you follow the map provided by the hotel's website you won't have any problem. The location is excellent, it is very close tan San Marco, but still far enough that you don't get any noise at night. We had a great night sleep. The shower is really small and no toiletries were provided, however we only spent one night there, so this was not an issue for us at all. Trip Advisor shows this as a Bed and Breakfast however it is not, breakfast was not included or offered in the hotel. Overall, very good value, specially for a tight budget since Venice can be very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My Venetian holiday felt more authentic because of my stay at Alloggi Alla Scala. Located in one of the countless old buidlings in the San Marco sestiere (district), the inn is positioned in between the famous Rialto Bridge at the Grand Canal and the equally famous San Marco Square, both only a few minutes away on foot (assuming you don't get lost in the lovely maze that is Venice!).

I arrived late past midnight but fortunately enough I was able to find the hotel from the Rialto Bridge stop of the Alilaguna vaporetto which I took from the airport. Just get yourself to Campo Manin (campo = square) look to the left side and follow the yellow signs pointing to "Scala Contatini Del Bovolo" (check out my photos).

A little hard to find since it is at a dead end in Corte Contarini Del Bovolo, the quaint inn is right next to a tourist attraction the Palazzo Contarini Del Bovolo (famous slug-shaped tower) and so tourists would fill in the little court at certain times of the day.

The old lady who owns the inn and her staff and are very friendly. Though they speak only a little English, we got by especially when I checked in very late when I arrived.

I booked a single room which, I was told was one of the new rooms in the inn. It is a little narrow but enough for single occupancy. The bathroom though was spacious and clean.

If you are on a budget and in Venice for a quick stay, this inn is worth the price.

Room Tip: When arriving late at night from the Venice airport, be sure to get on the first vaporetto to the Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank domileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good value for the money, the direction to the hotel is not helping, need more clear direction to the hotel. Few minutes walking to St. Mark square. Very friendly owner. Clean rooms, tiny bathroom. If you are traveling on a tight budget, i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we first got to Venice this hotel was a little hard to find as its tucked away down a small alleyway in a little court, but is in a prime location - close to both San Marco square and Rialto bridge, making it easily accessible to all major sites. When we booked we were given a triple room which was lovely and spacious and was very clean and tidy. The room at night is very quiet (one of the benefits of being tucked away). Would definitely recommend to others - just print out the directions before you get there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Good location for a sighteeing trip! Hotel is very basic but for us really okay and enough! Very clean, wifi for free! Rooms big for venice standard! Only few minutes walk to rialto and St Marcus! No breakfast available at hotel but lot of restaurants very close, so easy to find good food in a few minutes!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The hotel is very clean and quaint ran by an elderly grandmother but couldnt speak english but was very nice and helpful when asked for extra pillows etc.The location is brilliant just about a 5 minute walk from piazza san marco etc.
The location is tucked away but following these directions i guarantee you cannot not find it.First make your way or ask to get to campo manin every venetian knows this location.When there walk upto the statue and you will only see one side alley in the middle of the square.Go down this alley and you will pass the hotel centauro.then turn there is only one way to do this and then take the first right.You will then see the palazzo contarini del Bovolo(snailshell) and in the corner you will find the hotel.
The hotel is in a quiet location just right after the frenetic pace of piazza san marco especially when the cruiseship disembarks.
I really enjoyed my first visit to venice and the hotel helped make it and when i go back in september willl be booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archer1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
San Marco
B&B Palazzo Minelli
B&B Palazzo Minelli
#160 of 457 in Venice
211 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
#181 of 457 in Venice
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' Leon D'Oro
Ca' Leon D'Oro
#57 of 457 in Venice
264 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#69 of 457 in Venice
230 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#19 of 457 in Venice
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi alla Scala

Property: Alloggi alla Scala
Address: Sestiere San Marco 4306 | Corte Contarini del Bovolo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi alla Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alloggi alla Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Alla Scala Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing