We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #21 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We saw this hotel two years ago the first time and decided to stay there on our next visit. And it was the best choice we could have made. The room (501) was spotless, spacious and very well decorated. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower simply great.

Worth to mention were the bedlinen, tableclothes and china ware. All of excellent quality that you hardly find in any hotel even with five stars.

Breakfast buffet was rich and every cup of coffee "handmade". Thanks to the wonderful staff they have.

The Vaporetto stop is right in front of the hotel door and if you go the other direction you will find many small restaurants and bars visited by locals as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkkfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for this very nice review!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, and I'm happy you appreciated all those minor things that makes us special.

I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice, have a great day!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Stern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to Venice, Palazzo Stern was a pleasant surprise with elegance and comfort, perfectly located next door to the water taxi.

The staff were very accomodating, and provided excellent directions and local recommendations to two newbies in Venice short on time.

Our room overlooked the Grand Canal and was very comfortable.

We plan to return to spend more time discovering the rest of Venice, hopefully sooner than later.

Thanks Palazzo Stern; Well done!

Warm regards,
The Dobbs

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnadobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Buongiorno!!!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review. I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us!!!

I look forward to welcome you again here, have a great day!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to return to Venice and stay again at Hotel Palazzo Stern. Prior to our visit we had many emails flying back and forth as we booked pick up service from the Airport and asked the hotel staff to book several restaurants for us during our stay. Everything went off without a hitch and the hotel responded promptly and graciously to every request we had. When we arrived at the hotel there was champagne waiting for us in our junior suite (room 304) along with a gracious note welcoming us back. Whatever problems the hotel had in the past with hot water, seemed to have been resolved, and that had been our only hesitation in booking the hotel again.

Staying in Dorsoduro is, for us, the perfect choice when visiting Venice. It's a bit off the beaten track, but with a water bus stop just outside the door you can be anywhere in minutes. Staying in this portion of Venice gives you a much greater sense of what it's like to live in this magical city.

We enjoy Venice at Christmas. It's quiet, not crowded, and you can easily get into any of the restaurants, museums and churches you might want to visit. You can count on the hotel staff to make any of your arrangements. The rooms are beautiful, especially the corner junior suite we stayed in. It's a lovely hotel which takes wonderful care of your personal needs. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 304 us a dream!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tansyliverwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us for the second time! And I look forward to welcome you for the third time!

Have a great day, ciao!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Travelling yearly in winter to Venice, Hotel Palazzo Stern was the best choice we took. The Palazzo is a wonderful place, extravagant but comfortable. Not too huge, friendly staff. Very close to the vaporetto station it is a good starting point for any City Trip you plan. We will soon come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a great day and Happy New Year!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is a bit off the beaten path. It is a relatively recently restored palazzo, with a very bohemian vibe. The architecture and interiors of the public areas, particularly a converted chapel on a mezzanine, with interesting mosaics and Murano chandeliers, are very neat and quirky, and make the hotel a bit of a site seeing site on its own accord. We were in two rooms on the top floors: a junior suite (506) and a nearby double room (505). With low ceiling beams (watch your head) and vaulted wooden ceilings, the rooms felt like being in an extravagant relative's attic. The effect is accentuated by gizmos, including a coffee machine that is hidden under a countertop and comes up at the press of a button from a remote, and, in the smaller room, skylights with shutters controlled by remote. The junior suite was very spacious, but not a suite at all. This is to say, it is only one, L-shaped room rather than two separate rooms.
This led to a bit of scrambling, as we originally thought to have the four of us (we came with our two kids) in the same suite. This is what the hotel had in mind when we asked for two adjoining rooms or a suite, but when we realized that they meant for us to be four to a room we decided it would be a bit cramp. For a small premium, we got the second room, which is an odd little room with skylights and two sets of steps. This was a huge disappointment because we were forced to split up for the night, with one parent per young child. My largest crit of this hotel is that they should have explained the room setup better in the half dozen email exchanges I had with them. This was a large faux pas, which the hotel's charms helped to smoothen.
Neither of the rooms had much for views. The suite has a frosted glass window the top panes of which open up to show a side view of the canal. The smaller room has no outward windows at all, but only the aforementioned skylights. Unlike the layout, though, this is a fact that the hotel was very careful to point out and I did not mind.
I should add that we were there in late December. This is a cold and damp time of year to visit Venice, although the lack of crowds in a sense makes up for it. The rooms were comfortable throughout, with good temperature control.
Bathrooms in both rooms were shower only, but very cute (pink cream tile with some gold leaf tiles). The soaps and creams and whatnots kept the pink Murano look going.
They seem to put a high premium in cleanliness, and the potties had stickers asserting sterilization.
I found the front desk service a bit cold, and a bit odd. They seemed very focused on their computers whenever we came in and out, and sometimes would not even look up to greet us. They were never rude or aggressive, just a bit withdrawn, including upon our arrival and disembarkation, when it took the gentleman working the desk a while to come meet us and help with our luggage.
The breakfast in a room overlooking the canal is very pleasant simple affair, with the usual european hotel buffet fare.
There is free wifi which we found at times temperamental, but suitable.
The location is excellent: a bit removed from St Marco's, but right next to a vaporetto stop. The area it is in is a lovely neighborhood in its own right, though, and we enjoyed walking everywhere we could from here.
All in all, although our experience was affected by the arrangement, I must recommend the hotel as a fun and quirky one.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a complete description of the room from staff, particularly of the layout and view...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm sorry for the initial misunderstanding with the room. It has been unwanted!!!
We book many times that room for 4 persons and we never had any trouble. But I understand that we are all different and we are all looking for different things.
The most important thing is that we have been able to find a solution that worked for you as well!!!

I'm sorry also if you find the staff busy on the computer. We always try to give the better service both before and during your stay (and also after your stay!!!). This is a difficult balance, and sometimes we miss a smile. I'm sorry for that! We will try to improve , as we always do!!!

Thanks again for this review, I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Happy New Year!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

A really stunning hotel, it has been renovated and maintained in a style in keeping with its origins. There are so many details to see and the interior is suitably palatial. The bathroom is totally Venice-tastic with pink and gold tiles, it would be over the top elsewhere, but not here.
We had a grand canal view, it was wonderful to wake up and see boats big and small coming and going. (btw with the window and curtains closed the noise of the canal was minimal).
The location is excellent, right next to Ca Rezzonicco vaporetto stop. worth noting that the Alilaguna orange line stops here too which is a very good way to and from the airport. There are many restaurants nearby around San Barnaba and Via Toleta, and bars in the Santa Margherita area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank r4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day and Happy New Year!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Palazzo Stern hotel turned out to be perfect in every respect. The location in the Dorsoduro area is ideal - off the tourist trail but within very easy reach of all Venice has to offer. Being adjacent to the Vapporetto stop and Alilaguna airport transport stop makes arrival and departure so easy and also getting around Venice via the Grand Canal. The architecture of the building is magnificent, the bedroom comfortable. We had very friendly, helpful and informative service from all of the staff. The breakfast offered a good selection. A wonderful extra touch was returning from breakfast on my birthday to find a bottle of prosecco artfully arranged in an ice bucket with accompanying biscuits and card from the management!! This is by far the best place we have stayed at in Venice and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and the little gift for your Birthday!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a nice day and Merry Christmas!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
1,830 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
731 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,569 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 384 in Venice
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $192 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing