We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, romantic and perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, romantic and perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in all respects. Perfect location, more quiet than most and the Vaporetto stop is just outside the front door. The staff was a delight. With celiac disease my diet needed care and they had purchased gluten free food for breakfast. Always happy to give directions and ideas for sightseeing. We had a Junior Suite which was very large and our little patio on the Grand Canal was the perfect picture spot. The free internet was not always functional but for a workaholic wife on an anniversary trip it was a blessing in disguise!! We would stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robsemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.
Unfortunately with the snow of three days ago we had some troubles with the telephone lines, one of the main cables of the telephone company has been damaged.
But now it's fixed!!!

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    234
    53
    7
    12
See reviews for
337
1,019
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cordoba, spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my wife for our honeymoon and had a fantastic time. Rooms are spotless and beautiful, with grand canal views but at the more peaceful end of it so no noise disturbance. The hotel couldn't do enough for us with every need caterered to and nice surprises like prosecco in the room.

The hotel location is absolutely perfect, minimal need for the expensive vaporetto (18 euros per day per person) as you can get nearly everywhere on foot. Great restaurants and bars nearby on campo Santa margherita, great atmosphere with lots of academic student and professor types and plenty of real (yes real!) venetians living in the dorsoduro area which is such a contrast to San Marco hotels.

Great stay, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChloeCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Buongiorno!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.
Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

(I just saw that my wife left a review as well).

We stayed in Palazzo Stern on our honeymoon and were treated very well. Even though we booked at the last minute when we saw the weather would be great, we got an upgrade and a nice bottle champagne. The staff were very friendly and professional. They had an excellent knowledge of Venice and helped with some errands I need to run while in Italy. The hotel is beautiful, their photos don't do it justice.

The location is excellent as you are really in the center of Venice and the vaporetto stop is just outside the main door of the hotel. Our favorite restaurants in town (4 Feri and La Bitta) are just up the road. We had an amazing weekend.

The only thing they need to fix are their cappucinos (but I've never had a good cappucino in a hotel in 20 years of living in Italy - no idea why no one can get that right).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They upgraded us to a Junior Suite which was very beautiful and had an amazing view of the Grand Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Dalessio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and the free upgrade you got.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Aurora, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Myself, my son and a friend stayed here in early December. I have stayed in hotels in many cities around the world - this was the most beautiful one I have ever stayed at. It was a palace - marble, tile, tapestry, woodwork - it was all fabulous. It was very clean and nicely decorated and it is very convenient to the vaparetto stop right outside on the Grand Canal. The staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was great. If I ever go back to Venice, I will absolutely stay here again - no need to look any place else.

Joanne

Room Tip: We stayed in the two story handicapped accessible room as my son is in a wheelchair. It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I really look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Location: water bus line stop on the Grand Canal located a few meters from the hotel, a private water stop of its own, in the quieter Dorsoduro district. If you don't intend or can't walk a lot, purchase a multii-day water bus ticket; daily tickets or one trip tickets are too expensive.
Staff: quick email responses to questions prior to arrival, helpful and efficient concierge, wait, and cleaning staff.
Moorish-inspired architecture, Venetian decor, spacious rooms fronting the Grand Canal. Outside terrace by the Grand Canal. Elevator, free WIFI available.
A small complaint-sheets could be smoother, less heavy.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for the rooms with a Grand Canal view in the upper floors. Other rooms loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineBadger65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you soon again here.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had the best 4 night stay here ever! Great staff and location with a room to die for.
Good brekky and heaps of eating places close by and with the water bus stop at the front door.

Mike and Anne from Perth WA Jan 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you soon again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had the best time in Palazzo Stern. The hotel is relatively small, beautiful, with an amazing position right on the Grand Canal - just next to the vaporetto station. It is chic, yet unpretentious, very cozy and clean. We were treated extra special since we were on our honeymoon. Another thing worth mentioning is that there are a bunch of amazing trattorias just 5 min away from the hotel. All in all, a great experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing