We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staff, perfect position!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #24 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, perfect position!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived at the Palazzo Stern on the Alilaguna Water Taxi from the airport which is an efficient, reliable way to travel. We were warmly welcomed into the hotel and provided with information and a map. The accommodation, whilst not being given a room with a view, was very clean and comfortable. We did find the room very warm, but we could open a window, although it was a little noisy in the street below which was the main route for the water taxi stop. The breakfasts were very good and the staff very helpful and polite. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Venice.

Room Tip: Check if your room is on a split level ... our room had a bedroom upstairs and the bathroom downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for this very kind review!

We all look forward to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    241
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
349
1,053
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you want the best Venice has to offer, then this is the place.

The rooms are deluxe, the staff caters to your every need, the breakfast is the best I have ever had in a European hotel, and the location is the best.

I could go on all day about this place. Yes it is a bit pricey, but so worth it. I will stay here every time I visit Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelfad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the great review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at the Palazzo Stern situated on the Grand Canal by water taxi from the airport (definitely the way to arrive in Venice). We were warmly welcomed with a drink and were provided with a map and shown the key points of interest. Our room was in excellent decorative order and very clean, very comfortable. As our coffee machine was out of order they provided us with tea and coffee as room service or in the lounge whenever we asked for it at no extra charge. The hotel is situated right by a Vaporetta/Aliliguna stop (the latter going directly to Marco Polo airport) and was in walking distance of key attractions such as the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square. We also enjoyed a complimentary water taxi to the island of Murano where we were escorted to see glass-blowing with strong encouragement to buy glass - we didn't and had plenty of choice to purchase glass later in the very many shops on the island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fantastic building, stunning location and helpful staff! As a family group, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our rooms weren't deemed suites and didn't overlook the canal, but nevertheless were a convenient size, clean, quiet and had good bathrooms. We were welcomed with a soft drink on arrival and staff were always polite and greeted us as soon as they saw us. Breakfast was fine. Apart from the bar/breakfast area, the hotel does not have communal seating areas although this was not a problem as there is a large terrace overlooking the grand canal and the myriad of bars/restaurants extremely close by. St Mark's Square is only a 15 mins walk.
Helen H

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for you very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Beautiful small boutique hotel. Lovely large rooms. Beautiful view of the grand canal. Waterbus right next door - so convenient. The staff could not be nicer and more attentive. Breakfast was lovely! Located in Dorsoduro - with nice shops and less tourists. Close to Gallery dell 'accademia and the Peggy Guggenheim museums. An excellent choice for Venice.

Room Tip: 306 ha una bellissima vista del canal grande - e molto molto spaziosa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you soon again here!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived in the middle of the aqua alta and got to the hotel wet and bedraggled. We were made to feel most welcome and (at 10am) our room was ready which was a HUGE bonus for cold, wet and hungry travellers! We were taken to a spotlessly clean, warm, very comfortable and spacious room (junior suite) overlooking a small canal off the Grand Canal. The location is perfect! The hotel sits on the Grand Canal right next to a water bus stop serving lines 1 and 2 which takes you to St Mark's Square and the big tourist attractions but is also a stop to/from the airport and the train station - so no lumping suitcases about. Surprisingly for such an accessible location the immediate locale is quiet with very few tourists, being essentially a quiet residential area, but is still served well with cafes, bars, restaurants and 'proper' shops. I've been coming to Venice for very many years and have stayed in many different hotels. The Palazzo Stern is the one I shall be coming back to and I can't wait for summer to sit on their fabulous terrace overlooking the Grand Canal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EuropeTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

As others have said this hotel is in a fantastic location and that's why we chose it. It's also a beautiful old palazzo building with a lot of character. But we were let down by the staff. We had booked a side canal view room and the hotel had sent me a photo to show the large windows through which we would see the view. ( This was after we had had to change from a front view room as we had to change dates). The photo showed floor to ceiling windows and looked great. But most of the window was actually frosted glass and to see any view you had to stand on tiptoes and look out a small pane of glass. For a five star hotel they could have explained this a little better.
Also there was very little effort by the staff to engage , welcome or check on guests. When we had a cup of tea we were offered nothing with it. Similarly with the evening drink there was no snacks or e en a few chips offered. We have been traveling for 2 months and have stayed in various types of accommodation. This one, for the price didn't stack up well against a range of other cheaper ones that managed to provide great service and those extra little touches that make you want to come back again.

Room Tip: Don't be misguided by the side canal view room. It's an attic room with a very small pane of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barblives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Buongiorno,

I'm sorry you have not been happy with your room. You booked a Junior suite with side Canal View, I'm wordering if maybe we made a mistake in sending you the picture of the room. I'm not able to find your reservation as I don't have your name, so I'm not sure.

In any case please accept my apologize, for that and for the poor service that you get at the bar. The barman anyway doesn't work anymore with us since a couple of weeks, we don't want to provide a poor service to our guests. As you said we are a 4 (not five!) star hotel and we must give quality.

I hope to have the chance to have you here again, I'm sure that you will not find the same troubles.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 385 in Venice
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing