We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, friendly staff, and a romantic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, friendly staff, and a romantic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were greeted by the most helpful hotel manager and were made to feel very special. All the staff were so friendly and helpful to all our needs, and the attention to detail at this hotel made it one of the best experiences for our romantic visit to Venice. This is possibly as close as a hotel can come to a perfect experience. Simply outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Superior Room - definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardandEdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review!

We all hope to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,268
    226
    53
    5
    13
See reviews for
322
983
50
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our trip included a visit to this wonderful hotel. Located right on the grand canal, our room was HUGE by European standards, with the tall Glass doors opening onto our private balcony! Breakfast included and right next to Ca Rizzocconti (sp) water taxi....2-3 stops from San Marco and much quieter....for a great experience, add the pricey but enjoyable water taxi. Added bonus....free tour and one way taxi to murano glass factory.

Room Tip: The top suite was wonderful....didn't check out the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jef G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What an exquisite hotel for our first trip to Venice to celebrate our 40th anniversary. A lovely Moorish palazzo , with a generously sized room, a delightfully appointed bath, and a wonderful breakfast buffet. Service, whether at breakfast or for coffee at anytime was prompt and efficient.

But the best aspect of Palazzo Stern is its location. Just steps to vaporetto linea #1 make getting to other parts of town so convenient, yet the neighborhood is quiet and crowd-free. An unexpected plus was the proximity to Campo San Barnaba and Campo Santa Margarita - a trove of wonderful local restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jatds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed our hotel and I look forward to welcome you soon again.
Have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Mother, Sister and I traveled to Italy for two weeks in September, and the Palazzo Stern was our first stop. We took a private water taxi directly to the hotel from the airport, which was worth every penny after having been on an airplane for 16 hours! Our room was beautiful and the staff very friendly. The morning breakfast on the terrace was fabulous! We also loved the neighborhood - close enough to everything in Venice, but far enough so it wasn't so busy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minocqua4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes the neighbor of the hotel is very nice. A lot of local restaurants, bars and shop. And not touristic at all!!!

We all look forward to welcome you again soon, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my wife wanted a romantic retreat for our 10th anniversary, which better place than Venice !? Than the question was where to stay! Our choice fell on Palazzo Stern and we are both happy that we did . A perfect combination of beauty, love of details, gentleness (a special thank you to our morning waiter in the breakfast room!), good advices such as restaurants (2 excellent choices we got from the front desk manager!! Thanks you!). Basically a perfect week end in the most beautiful city in the world. Palazzo Stern will see us back for sure ! An please, take some time to visit the hotel, it is worth it !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael12760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Buongiorno!!!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this Hotel after a friend had recommended it. Our first visit to Venice after 20 years. We stayed for five nights and were impressed with the location. The Vaporetto stop was only 20 yards from the Hotel entrance, with a side stop alongside the Hotel for a watertaxi. When the sun was shining, breakfast was taken on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal under Sun Shades! a lovely experience. Our bedroom on the second floor was comfortable and well appointed with a view over the city roofs. The design was elegant and toned in with the background of a converted Palazzo.
The area on this side of the Canal is less crowded, with little restaurants, but the need to walk.
The Hotel staff coped well when the floods came.on our last day. It would be nice to have more space to sit inside when it is raining.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay!!!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice. Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Palazzo Stern and could not have been happier with our choice. The staff could not have been more attentive, only to be surpassed by the luxurious details of the hotel's furnishings - gorgeous fabrics, period furniture, art, murano glass chandeliers, wall coverings. The hotel has an ideal location overlooking a quieter area of the Grand Canal, with a convenient private dock, as well as the public vaporetto stop right outside the front door. A lovely buffet breakfast is included in the price, making it easy to get an early start. The proximity to many wonderful little restaurants in the surrounding quiet Dorsoduro neighborhood was great after walking through the busy areas of St. Mark's Square and the Rialto during the day. The hotel was excellent in recommending exactly the type of restaurants we were looking for each night and secured reservations for us. We loved the feel of staying in a small boutique hotel with private concierge service. We highly recommend the Palazzo Stern, a quality property with a quality staff.

Room Tip: The superior room with the Grand Canal view was a bargain - not as many windows as the suite, but st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing