We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect anniversary !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect anniversary !”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Me and my wife wanted a romantic retreat for our 10th anniversary, which better place than Venice !? Than the question was where to stay! Our choice fell on Palazzo Stern and we are both happy that we did . A perfect combination of beauty, love of details, gentleness (a special thank you to our morning waiter in the breakfast room!), good advices such as restaurants (2 excellent choices we got from the front desk manager!! Thanks you!). Basically a perfect week end in the most beautiful city in the world. Palazzo Stern will see us back for sure ! An please, take some time to visit the hotel, it is worth it !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael12760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Buongiorno!!!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again here.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    238
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
345
1,045
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We chose this Hotel after a friend had recommended it. Our first visit to Venice after 20 years. We stayed for five nights and were impressed with the location. The Vaporetto stop was only 20 yards from the Hotel entrance, with a side stop alongside the Hotel for a watertaxi. When the sun was shining, breakfast was taken on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal under Sun Shades! a lovely experience. Our bedroom on the second floor was comfortable and well appointed with a view over the city roofs. The design was elegant and toned in with the background of a converted Palazzo.
The area on this side of the Canal is less crowded, with little restaurants, but the need to walk.
The Hotel staff coped well when the floods came.on our last day. It would be nice to have more space to sit inside when it is raining.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay!!!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice. Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Palazzo Stern and could not have been happier with our choice. The staff could not have been more attentive, only to be surpassed by the luxurious details of the hotel's furnishings - gorgeous fabrics, period furniture, art, murano glass chandeliers, wall coverings. The hotel has an ideal location overlooking a quieter area of the Grand Canal, with a convenient private dock, as well as the public vaporetto stop right outside the front door. A lovely buffet breakfast is included in the price, making it easy to get an early start. The proximity to many wonderful little restaurants in the surrounding quiet Dorsoduro neighborhood was great after walking through the busy areas of St. Mark's Square and the Rialto during the day. The hotel was excellent in recommending exactly the type of restaurants we were looking for each night and secured reservations for us. We loved the feel of staying in a small boutique hotel with private concierge service. We highly recommend the Palazzo Stern, a quality property with a quality staff.

Room Tip: The superior room with the Grand Canal view was a bargain - not as many windows as the suite, but st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.
I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our four night stay did not start well when we made the mistake of taking the wrong vaporetto from the airport, and ended up with a long and difficult trek to the hotel. Make sure you know in advance the name of the stop because it pulls up right behind the hotel.
We had a junior suite that overlooked the grand canal. What a view! The room was beautiful and and I loved the pink and gold bathroom.
This was our second stay in Venice. Last year we were on a small canal but on the other side closer to st. Marks. This location had an up and down side. We were tired when we arrived and wanted to eat somewhere close. This area is more residential and the restaurants seemed more like beer and pizza with lots of young smokers. So, be prepared to walk. Also, the second night We asked the front desk to recommend a place and his choice was average and very,very, buggy. (we were placed in the front window and i think the gnats and mosquitoes were attracted to the lights). The up side is this side of the canal is not as crowded.
Btw we always had to track down the wait staff in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm sorry you get lost from the airport to the hotel. The right stop is Ca' Rezzonico, is write also in our website. From the airport you can jump in an alilaguna boat (there's a new line that come to Ca' Rezzonico directly) or you can take a water taxi to the hotel.

Sure, Dorsoduro is a more residential and Venetian area, this is a key selling point of our property. This can be a plus or a minus, depending on your needs and desires. If you want to stay closer to the centre we have another Hotel, Locanda Vivaldi, located in Riva degli Schiavoni.

BUT in this area is plenty of restaurants and trattorias. Sure you will find also pizzas, bars, etc. But that's not the only option you have!!! I'm sorry anyway that you didn't like the place that has been suggested by the concierge. Do you remember the name (of the place I mean)? We will avoid to suggest it again.

Thank you for your review, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural SC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two week vacation in Italy- bookended
by our stay at the Hotel Palazzo Stern. We spent five nights at the front end
and two at the end. Our first room was huge- with high ceilings, beautiful Murano
glass chandelier and sconces, a pink and gold mosaic bath (which sounds over the
top- but worked in this setting!), an extremely comfortable bed and best of all- a little
balcony overlooking the Grand Canal, with french doors to open the room to the views
of the canal. Breakfast - which is included- is a great buffet and can be taken on a patio
right on the canal or in the adjacent breakfast room. The hotel has its own water taxi entrance-
but is also steps away from a line 1 vaparetto stop. The Ca' Rezzonica museum is literally next door. Our second room was even nicer than the first!! It was on the corner overlooking the
Grand Canal. No balcony- but three huge windows, and a big, lovely bath. Same high ceilings
and Murano chandeliers. Overall- a splurge- but worth it!

Room Tip: We loved room 306- a Junior Suite that is on the corner with lots of windows and great Grand Canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acekingqueenjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you soon again here.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After finishing a cruise in Venice with a group of friends we stayed a couple of extra days. Half our group stayed in hotel near St, Marks and the rest of us stayed at the Palazzo Stern. We were the lucky ones. The rooms were spacious (by European standards) and comfortable. The staff was helpful and accomodating and the location can't be beat. Right on the Grand Canal with an expansive terrace for breakfast or drinks, you will not have to deal with the hordes of humanity at the hotels near St. Marks. We were a short walk from the Accademia and the Peggy Guggenheim and a quick vaparetto ride from all the main action. The hotel recommended some great restaurants a short walk away. To top it all off they have their own water taxi dock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbdog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your very nice review!
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just visited Venice for our "Babymoon" and were extremely pleased with this hotel. We stayed in room 503 and it had an amazing view. The room and hotel was beautiful and very Venitian. The WiFi was spotty in our room, but in the bar area it worked great. The only bad thing I would say about the hotel is the friendliness of the staff. The bartenders, waiters, and bellboys were not the problem, they were outstanding and perfectly friendly. It was the management staff that seemed very annoyed with people. We didn't experience anything bad towards us we just witnessed some rudeness towards others and they had a vibe that just wasn't pleasant...hard to explain. But, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was wonderful. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. We were located in what seemed move of a locals area, which was less crowded than the other side of the Grand Canal. I would definitely recommend staying here for anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 503, and it was exceptional. Great view. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mshayda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice (with a smile! :oD ).

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,760 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,977 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing