We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Stern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Perfect Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

stayed 4 nights in October and we enjoyed every minute. The location of the hotel is fantastic and if you are looking for authentic venetian cuisine don't miss the Tratoria Altanella. It is on Guidecca but still only a short walk from Palazzo Stern to waterbus stop "Zattere", then one stop on the waterbus to "Palanca" and another short walk to the restaurant. It's a must!!

Room Tip: standard double room is very large, no need for a junior suite. canal view is nice but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi64_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very nice review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here.

Have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    231
    53
    7
    13
See reviews for
333
1,012
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a room on the side with a small lagoon view. It was quiet and just lovely. It is a great location. The staff is excellent. The breakfast was great and the views awesome. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Side room with a lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecouchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you!
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a luxurious former palace, in a fantastic location on the Grand Canal. It has a wonderful breakfast/bar terrace right on the canal and the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with great views. My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights in August to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel very kindly upgraded our room and we were also given a bottle of sparkiling wine to celebrate with. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted us with booking a Gondola ride, which picked us up from the hotel, and also gave us information on sightseeing and places to eat. The hotel is right next to the "Ca’ Rezzonico" Vaporetto (Waterbus) which makes it very easy to get to, so long as you get on the correct Vaporetto Line! If you are coming from the train station, make sure that you get on Vaporetto Line 1, as this will take you to the "Ca Rezzionico" stop.
If you are going to or from Marco Polo airport, get the public shuttle service called Alilaguna, as this also goes to the "Ca Rezzionico" stop next to the hotel and it is a lot cheaper than getting a water taxi and they aren't as big or as crowded as the Vaporetto's.
This is a fantastic hotel and my wife and I will definitely stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the Grand Canal, it's breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daptor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrops
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed three nights. Breakfast on the terrace was marvelous(cover any plates if you go for more food or the birds will have anything on the plates). Had a top floor bedroom, no view unfortunatly, but still a nice bright room. The staff still look after you with free drinks (tea/coffee) after booking out and waiting pick up to airport/train. Excellant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the great review!
I hope to welcome you soon again, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here with my 12yo son in spring for four nights and we loved this place. The staff were great, the breakfast by the Grand Canal was awesome, - good location, lovely building, - a stately home built in the early twentieth century on the site of an old palace, using some of the same materials. The furniture includes what look like antique chests and bed headboards, - big Venetian glass chandeliers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the Canal and there was only one window, so we would ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very nice review.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Palazzo Stern at the end of our two-week vacation to Italy and it was definitely a highlight. It's location just 100 yards or so from the water bus stop is a huge plus, not to mention the beautiful large terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. We had breakfast there each morning and enjoyed a bottle of wine there each evening, just watching the activity along the Canal. The Palazzo Stern is also located near many attractions and restaurants and the staff is very helpful in making recommendations for, and reserving, restaurants or theater tickets. The rooms are small, but elegant. The hotel has an arrangement with the Murano glass museum/store to provide a complimentary semi-private cozy boat shuttle to the factory, which we did. However, they don't tell you that you have to get your own ride back, which is the water bus. It was no big deal, but it was not made clear. We loved Venice and return to the Palazzo Stern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very kind review.
I'm sorry that it has not been cleared the fact the the ride back from Murano is on you (/either by waterbus or water taxi, as you prefer).
The concierge should be very clear when explaining this. I'm sure it has been a misunderstanding, in any case please accept my apologize.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again here, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I had one night in this very special hotel last week and it was definitely a highlight of our brief stay in that stunning city. This exquisitely refurbished palazzo on the Grand canal is well priced and a perfect place to explore Venice from . The breakfast is great and can be enjoyed on a terrace overlooking the canal .The hallways and rooms are sumptuously decorated so you really feel the ambiance and the history of the place. It is also right by a vaporetto stop and nearby are great local fish restaurants. The complimentary private speed boat tour to the island of Murano was also very special (and yes, it was very James Blond!)We will be staying longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clancollins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing