We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #21 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a room on the side with a small lagoon view. It was quiet and just lovely. It is a great location. The staff is excellent. The breakfast was great and the views awesome. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Side room with a lagoon view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winecouchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you!
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Stern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a luxurious former palace, in a fantastic location on the Grand Canal. It has a wonderful breakfast/bar terrace right on the canal and the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with great views. My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights in August to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel very kindly upgraded our room and we were also given a bottle of sparkiling wine to celebrate with. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted us with booking a Gondola ride, which picked us up from the hotel, and also gave us information on sightseeing and places to eat. The hotel is right next to the "Ca’ Rezzonico" Vaporetto (Waterbus) which makes it very easy to get to, so long as you get on the correct Vaporetto Line! If you are coming from the train station, make sure that you get on Vaporetto Line 1, as this will take you to the "Ca Rezzionico" stop.
If you are going to or from Marco Polo airport, get the public shuttle service called Alilaguna, as this also goes to the "Ca Rezzionico" stop next to the hotel and it is a lot cheaper than getting a water taxi and they aren't as big or as crowded as the Vaporetto's.
This is a fantastic hotel and my wife and I will definitely stay here again when we return to Venice.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the Grand Canal, it's breathtaking.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daptor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review. I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you soon again.

Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed three nights. Breakfast on the terrace was marvelous(cover any plates if you go for more food or the birds will have anything on the plates). Had a top floor bedroom, no view unfortunatly, but still a nice bright room. The staff still look after you with free drinks (tea/coffee) after booking out and waiting pick up to airport/train. Excellant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for the great review!
I hope to welcome you soon again, have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here with my 12yo son in spring for four nights and we loved this place. The staff were great, the breakfast by the Grand Canal was awesome, - good location, lovely building, - a stately home built in the early twentieth century on the site of an old palace, using some of the same materials. The furniture includes what look like antique chests and bed headboards, - big Venetian glass chandeliers.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the Canal and there was only one window, so we would ask for...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Buongiorno!

Thank you for the very nice review.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Palazzo Stern at the end of our two-week vacation to Italy and it was definitely a highlight. It's location just 100 yards or so from the water bus stop is a huge plus, not to mention the beautiful large terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. We had breakfast there each morning and enjoyed a bottle of wine there each evening, just watching the activity along the Canal. The Palazzo Stern is also located near many attractions and restaurants and the staff is very helpful in making recommendations for, and reserving, restaurants or theater tickets. The rooms are small, but elegant. The hotel has an arrangement with the Murano glass museum/store to provide a complimentary semi-private cozy boat shuttle to the factory, which we did. However, they don't tell you that you have to get your own ride back, which is the water bus. It was no big deal, but it was not made clear. We loved Venice and return to the Palazzo Stern.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very kind review.
I'm sorry that it has not been cleared the fact the the ride back from Murano is on you (/either by waterbus or water taxi, as you prefer).
The concierge should be very clear when explaining this. I'm sure it has been a misunderstanding, in any case please accept my apologize.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again here, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I had one night in this very special hotel last week and it was definitely a highlight of our brief stay in that stunning city. This exquisitely refurbished palazzo on the Grand canal is well priced and a perfect place to explore Venice from . The breakfast is great and can be enjoyed on a terrace overlooking the canal .The hallways and rooms are sumptuously decorated so you really feel the ambiance and the history of the place. It is also right by a vaporetto stop and nearby are great local fish restaurants. The complimentary private speed boat tour to the island of Murano was also very special (and yes, it was very James Blond!)We will be staying longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clancollins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros: My wife and I spent two nights in the junior suite in September. I concur with all the comments concerning the attractiveness of the suite and the hotel. The breakfast is terrific, and the view of the Grand Canal is exactly what I had hoped for (except for the tall construction crane on the opposite bank). The location of the hotel next to the vaporetto stop makes getting to and from the hotel very convenient, especially when taking the Alilaguna boat from the airport. Since I was leaving Venice from the train station, I asked if the hotel's private boat could shuttle us there. The hotel accommodated this request (it was complimentary), and we enjoyed great views of Venice on our departure.

Cons: I intentionally booked the junior suite because I wanted a view of the Grand Canal. I underestimated the trade-off between the great views of the Grand Canal and the noise of boat traffic, especially boats using the vaporetto stop. I found the noise to be a lot greater, and more intrusive, than I expected. Use of a white noise generator (which I did not have) perhaps could have helped. Granted, sensitivity to noise varies among people, but being a person who needs a quiet environment for sleep, next time I will opt for a hotel off the Grand Canal just to enjoy sounder sleep. (I think Ca' Maria Adele, on a side canal, would be a great choice.)

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Damasus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and the free boa ride to the train station! It's a service that we have since a couple of months. The boat is free of charge, but we are still not allowed to go anywhere in Venice unfortunately. But if anyone need it just ask! If it's available and we are allowed to go where you need it will be free of charge!!!

Concerning the noise you are right, the Grand Canal is busy and it can be too noisy if you are used to have complete silence at home. But you don't need to book another hotel, we have many other rooms overlooking the garden on the backside of the hotel! Just ask for a quite room when you do your reservation.

Thanks a gain for your review, we all look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 384 in Venice
1,831 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
733 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,569 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 384 in Venice
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $195 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing