We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Stay in the Heart of Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Stay in the Heart of Venice”
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We've been to Venice several times over the years, and this was by far our best hotel experience there. The hotel itself, in a restored palazzo, was a unique, intimate and interesting place to stay. It was fun to see the historic details that had been preserved. The lovely terrace on the Grand Canal was a perfect place to enjoy a leisurely coffee while watching the boat traffic. The rooms and bathroom were quite modern, clean and comfortable. Our room was quiet and pleasant, with windows opening onto a side canal and garden. The hotel's location was very convenient, just a short walk from the Accademia bridge. Finally, I can't say enough about the hotel staff. Everyone we encountered was extremely polite and helpful, spoke fluent English and went out of their way to assist us, helping us with restaurant suggestions, reservations and necessities of traveling with a toddler (milk, child seats, etc.) I enthusiastically endorse this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scg411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
And we cannot wait to welcome you again here!!!
Thanks a lot for your very kind review, I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    242
    56
    7
    13
See reviews for
351
1,064
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Fantastic hotel, made all the better by the attentive and friendly staff. We stayed in Feb 2011 in the week prior to Carnivale, so got a fantastic deal on the room. We booked a suite, overlooking The Grand Canal. We booked direct via the hotel website and requested that if it were available we'd love the room with a balcony. Well not only did we get this room but we were also pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of complimentary Prosecco chilling in an ice bucket with a little note welcoming us to the hotel. We arrived at the airport after dark and so splurged on a private water taxi to the hotel, which has it's own landing stage. As the hotel is at the bottom end of The Grand Canal this meant we got to go right down most of the length of the Grand Canal, an exciting introduction to our trip! The staff met us on the landing stage, they just seemed to know a taxi had arrived and we were checked in, the hotel doesn't have a long reception desk, but a big antique desk at the foot of the stairs, we were welcomed, given a seat, and promptly served a complimentary drink while we checked in! The staff who checked us in, gave us maps, info and showed us our room. But none of this was in anyway pretentious, stuffy or over bearing, it was just nice! Just a note, the Google map on the Trip Advisor page places the hotel in slightly the wrong area, it is in fact right on The Grand Canal not further in, as the map would suggest. Location: The hotel is near to the less touristy but still popular areas of Venice in the Dorsudoro. This means it's next to some fantastic local restaurants and the bars and pubs the locals use, including the university crowd. Having said that the hotel is pretty much next to the main art museum The Acadamia. Its about 15 mins to walk an easy route over the Grand Canal and to the heart of St Mark's Square. There is also a vaparetto stop right next to the hotel, meaning you can jump on a Number 1 service up or down the Grand Canal, which will get you to St Marks Square in 10 mins, or the Rialto in about the same time. Room: We were lucky enough to have a suite, which will be the best rooms in the hotel. The room was enormous, with 2 double french doors onto a balcony overlooking the action on The Grand Canal. Despite the room being large it was always toasty warm, and had full temperature controls. The room had 2 small double beds, extra pillows etc. There was ample large wardrobes, drawers and a safe. The bathroom was lovely (although the sink is a bit impractical in terms of putting stuff around it) and we think the room and bathroom had underfloor heating. Our room unfortunately had a broken whirlpool bath so we told the reception manager who apologised, they were unable to fix it so offered us a complimentary use of the rooftop private jacuzzi! Which is normally 70 euros an hour, Obviously we were staying in the hotel and Venice at a quiet time, which may have meant they were not bothered about clock watching, but we could have stayed in the jacuzzi for ages, well over the hour. The views from here are lovely, and on a bright, cold winter day being in the tub was a real treat! Breakfast is served by the bar, and in summer they must use the Grand Canal terrace, there were ample choices, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, boiled eggs, croissants, yoghurt, patisserie items, fruit, cold meats, cheese, etc etc. All in all this hotel was top notch, the building is beautiful, the location great, it felt welcoming, warm and friendly. If you can get a good price deal you won't beat this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wembley1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Friend,

thank you for your very kind and detailed review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!

We all look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We decided to book this hotel after reading the amazing reviews on this site and it lived up to all of our expectations and more!
We had a standard room on the first floor which was beautiful, unfortunately we didn't have a view of the Grand Canel but that didn't matter too much as we were on it most of the day! The bathroom was gorgeous with a splendid Villeroy and Boch jacuzzi bathtub (perfect after a long day of getting lost in the charming streets of Venice) and our entire room was cleaned twice daily when we were out - i only managed to bump into the cleaner once in our room as i'd left my autobus pass there, very swift and immaculate service. The bed was spacious and extremely comfortable and the room was kept at a good temperature (with the temp gauge on the wall just to let you know). The closets were perfect, a sensor light, easy to use safe, slippers, coffee machine (refilled daily) and a good selection in the mini bar. A lovely little touch is the daily weather update on the pillow accompanied by a chocolate sweet everynight. One higlight was the breakfast, all you would need was there, we helped ourselves to perfectly cooked bacon and egg most mornings and also a cheeky slice of chocolate cake which I imagine is there for the more adventurous breakfast eaters!
We couldn't believe how close the hotel was to the 'Ca Rezzonico autobus stop and would urge anyone travelling to buy a pass for it during their stay (however ours didn't get checked once but I imagine in summer this would be very different).
The service was amazing, could compare it to a 5 star hotel with the staff doing everything they could to make our trip more comfortable (even providing an adaptor plug as we'd brough the wrong one... Oops). We booked the hot tub for one night among the roof tops, it was gorgeous and a bottle of Prosecco and glasses were waiting with candles around the tub itself, the staff didn't mind that we took a tiny bit longer than booked and didn't interrupt until we made a call downstairs to say we were out (there was a telephone just in case anything was needed).
Overall, it was a perfect hotel, perfect ambiance and an perfect place to get lost in!
Thank you so much and will be recommending this hotel to friends and would love to come back some time in the future! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rskemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
dear Friend,

thanks a lot for your very kind review!!! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Palazzo Stern for three nights in February.
What can I say about the Hotel? First of all, it was booked in advance for an anniversery and we requested the Suite with the balcony. We got the Suite with the balcony and when we got to our room there was a bottle of Presecco chilling in the room with a note attached to thank us for choosing their charming hotel. Great start to the trip!
The service experienced at this Hotel was simply fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. If anything, I probably pushed the boundaries during the visit by asking the Reception to book various restaurants we had read about. They were also very knowledgable about certain restaurants for meat dishes and ones for fish. Everyone always greeted us with a smile at Palazzo Stern.
The room was tastefully decorated with two double beds and a Samsung TV on the wall. There was plenty of room for clothes and just enough coat hangers! The bathroom was of a good size with plenty of toiletries to try out and you could listen to Italian radio in the bath if you so desired!
Location was great - just near one of the vaporetto stops and if you take a private water taxi (like we did), due to its location we got a trip all the way down the Grand Canal. As we arrived at night time, we felt very James Bond powering along in our speedboat! You are roughly a 20 minute walk from St Marks square but it doesn't seem that long in reality.
Breakfast was perfectly suitable. Yes the bacon isn't crispy but that really doesn't matter. Attentive service by the Breakfast staff with plenty of pastries, cereals, fruit, cheese etc.
Amenities - one slight negative on the Hotel was the fact that a couple of items did not work. Our Coffee machine did not work and I drink quite a lot of coffee. We were told about this though and told we could ring Reception whenever we wanted to. However, this just seemed more trouble than it was worth and you do not want to be disturbing the staff all the time.
Also, the whirlpool/jacuzzi was broken in the bathroom. We were offered the use of the roof top jacuzzi as compensation for half an hour and what an amazing time that was! Views over Venice in a private Jacuzzi, what more could you ask for? (It's normally €70 per hour for this service). I do get frustrated when you book somewhere and then amenities do not work but I suppose these things happen. The room could also probably do with a bit of a paint, the ceiling looked like it needed to be painted but when I weigh up the pros against the cons in the Hotel, I would definately recommend this Hotel to you.
Service is one of the most important aspects of a Hotel to me and from start to finish, you couldn't have wished to have been in better hands.
A big thank you to the staff for looking after us during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btsmith_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
dear Friend,

thanks a lot for your very kind feedback!

I'm sorry for the few non working things in your room. As you said sometimes these things happens and we don't have always enough time to fix the damages previously done.
But we try alway to compensate our guest for the minus that can happen during their stay, in fact we gave you the possibility to call the bar free of charge and to use the Jacussi upstairs. And I'm happy you enjoyed it!!!

Next time you will be here I'm sure that you will find a working cofee machine, in any case remember that you never disturb us even if you call the reception every minute!

Concerning the ceiling I double checked it but I'm not able to find any broken/damaged/dirt spot. Remember that all the things you see in our hotel are original and have been restored. Maybe you onfused a thing that we cannot touch (forbidden by BelleArti) with something broken!!!

Thank you for all your ideas and don't wait too much to come back in Venice!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

The standard double room on the uppest floor made me claustrophobic with only a tiny window near the ceiling. The dustiness made my eyes red. The bathroom was beautiful, though. My request for another room was met with great consideration. The second room had a window in the ceiling which gave the room some daylight. The staff was ignorant of happenings such as the carneval and couldn't give much tips about where to dine and have a glass of wine in the neighbourghood. The breakfast was more like 3 than 4 star standards. The web site has totally false photos of the standard room even though the text states they don't deceive customers. Suites are probably nice since the location on Canal Grande is superb. But for a solo traveler who can't afford a suite the hotel is best to be avoided.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiviko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Dear Friend,

if our website would have false pictures in three years we should have received much more complaints than just yours. In effect in the pictures of the standard doubles there are also two pics of the rooms on the third floors.

It's normal that during your stay we didn't have any detailed information about the carnival. The Carnival start this week and the official program unfortunately has been presented just a week ago. Too late I agree, but not our fault.

I don't think that there is any lack from us in the information we give. And you can notice it reading all the other feedback.
We are always happy to help and give suggestion to our guests, we put the weather forecast in the rooms every day during the turndown, we also manage a blog! so I would say at all that we don't give the right suggestion / information to our guest.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I would recommend this stupendous hotel to friends but it's worth spending a bit more money to book a junior suite with a view on the "Canale grande".
Clealiness, service were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christian_larzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, June 1, 2016
Buonasera!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards.

Roberto

*****
There are 5 good reasons to book directly with us!
1) No hidden costs
2) Best available rate guaranteed
3) Your booking is final and the standard in quality is guaranteed
4) Eligibility to Free Upgrades, special discounts and free amenities
5) Flexible cancellation policy
Visit our website or give us a call for more information!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I can't praise this hotel enough. We booked 2 junior suites for ourselves and our friends, both of which were huge, furnished with anitques, and had beautiful Grand Canal views. The bathrooms were spacious and luxurious, the beds comfortable, rooms not at all stuffy. They really had thought of everything and the staff were charming. Its a small hotel and has wonderful character - check out the mosaics and frescoes on the top floor landing. We didn't arrive until after midnight on our first day, but this was no problem for the staff who were waiting for us and got us settled in quickly. One of the receptionists recommended a nearby trattoria for dinner (another restaurant had cancelled a reservation we had made) and it was excellent (see my review on Ostaria ai Quattro Feri). Its a great base from which to explore Venice, being right on the Ca Rezzonico vaporetto stop and with one of the few traghetti on the doorstep. Its a 10 minute walk to the Accademia, and handy for everything else. I don't think you can do better in Venice, and certainly not for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Dear Friend,

thanks a lot for your very kind review!
We look forward to welcome you again here in Venice,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,810 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
716 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,909 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing