We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Host (Massimo) and Location in Venice”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ca Gallina

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Living room Entrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Living room
Living room
Entrace
kitchen side
Double bedroom
Small bedroom
Bathroom
View from flat
View of flat from outside
View of balcony
View of balcony
From upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Liza Ann...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The Best Host (Massimo) and Location in Venice”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

My family of 4 from San Jose,CA would like to thank Massimo for his good heart, generosity, and kindness for showing warm welcome, great accomodation and being so helpful in giving tips on everything we need to know. He even kept our luggage while we wait for the apartment to be ready, and surprised that he carried all our suitcases up to the apartment when we came back when it was time to check in. He gave us a map and tips on where to eat, showed list of good restaurants, what boat numbers to take, adviced where to go, the highlights and points of interests were, and gave us all supplies we needed. He even arranged our boat transfers from his place to the train station and from the cruise port to his place, very helpful indeed and always prompt on replying to all our questions. He is the best host of all the properties we've ever rented! He made us feel welcome and become a local in the area for 4 days. The apartment is real close to a beautiful church, to a supermarket where we bought water and food everyday, close to restaurants, and a gelateria, and the has a view of the canal. I will go back to his place if ever we go back to Venice! thank you very much Massimo! God bless you! we are very grateful to meet you and loved our stay at your apartment!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Comfortable clean accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Massimo’s apartment was clean, comfortable and in a great location. It was centrally located close enough to all of the main points of interest yet quiet, relaxed and away from the chaos of the main tourist district. Upon our arrival Massimo provided us with a map and recommendations of restaurants, a nearby bakery and some interesting walking tours that were not normally found in a guide book. We had one issue with the hot water that turned out to be our error, but Massimo was quick to fix the problem as soon as we contacted him. The 3 adult women traveling together found Massimo’s apartment to have enough space for us and we particularly enjoyed the canal view from one bedroom and the living room.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borisb08
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The place is perfect.
I think I had the greatest impression from sets of cups and glasses. After not a small numbers of apartments I rented before I was really surprised to see such the variety. There were cups for espresso, cappuccino, tea, glasses for water, wine, whiskey etc.. And those were not occasional residues but full sets for four persons.
Well, for those who does not relate to glasses only I can still say that the apartment was excellent from position to equipping, from relationship of the host to the view from the windows.
Note that reality is as on the pictures. As well as the placement is pointed on the google map correctly. The "Ca Galina" is positioned in a quiet corner, just over the channel. But you need to walk less than 100 meters in order to get to a public street with shops, restaurants etc.
A really good supermarket is 3 minutes far from the building. Not the Walmart, but you can find there everything you can need while your travel to Venice.
Also I'd like to sign that when you arrive to the apartment from the F.Novo vaporetto station, you walk by non-touristic streets, there are no crowds that hamper you and your cases.
Although the apartment is in very quiet corner, it is in very strategic place. Just about ten minutes of a walk from Rialto and something like that from San Marco. Just 5-6 minutes from the F.Novo station from which you can a vaporetto to Murano and Burano islands.
The apartment is perfectly equipped. Two isolated bedrooms allow the parents to sleep not together with children. And nobody should sleep in the living room. The kitchen is perfectly equipped. There are enough plates of different sizes, spoons, forks and knifes. Pots and pans. Electric kettle, microwave, stove with oven.
There is conditioner (we didn't use it as there was not harm at the end of September) and local heating (that we used).
One of most important things today: WiFi WORKS GOOD.
And the last but not less important thing is host. Massimo was not less perfect than his "Ca Galina" :-). He met us near the building, showed and explained everything. He prepared a map where he signed routes and interesting places. About some of them I even did not hear before but they were really worthwhile to visit.
We didn't need to refer to Massimo while our staying but he was absolutely available when we prepared to the trip and at the arrival day. I suppose, there would not be a problem to turn to him any time. Especially that he lives and works not far from the apartments.
The bottom line, I have just words of admiration about the apartment and words of appreciation to Massimo.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational apartment with a terrific host”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It is clear straight away once you meet Massimo that he is a passionate citizen of Venice who sincerely wants you to love and enjoy this amazing city. He took considerable time showing us the key locations (as well as some hidden gems) and provided us with detailed maps (and umbrellas!) to ensure we could maximise our time here. Our family of 4 were more than comfortable in this 2nd floor apartment and Massimo's restaurant and gelato shop recommendations were spot on. After visiting several apartments booked through Trip Advisor, we definitely feel that an excellent host makes a huge difference to how you can enjoy and appreciate the location and Massimo is a great example of this. We loved Venice all the more because our hosts enthusiasm was just so infectious. Thankyou Massimo - we will never forget Venice and hope to return to Ca Gallina one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hrn1967
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great apartment, great host”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This apartment was excellent and its position couldn't have been better, being in a quiet location but close to all the amenities. It exceeded all our expectations.
Massimo was also an excellent host, meeting us from the vaporetto as it was quite late and dark on our arrival. The information he provided was invaluable and we had a wonderful time celebrating our golden wedding anniversary.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this apartment as a place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed September 18, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing